6 Pros and Cons of Paying for an iCloud+ Subscription

Xiaobai Software  2022-06-12 16: 46  read 129 views

Apple launched its cloud computing service in 2011iCloud.It replaces old sync methods like manually plugging your iPhone into your Mac or PC to back up your data.Now, users can simply openiCloud, and let their iPhone do the rest.

All Apple devices have iCloud accessibility.While you get 5GB of free storage, you'll have to upgrade your storage to iCloud+ to take full advantage of Apple's cloud computing service.So, is iCloud worth your time and money?

If you're still hesitating, don't worry.We've compared the pros and cons of iCloud+ so you can make an informed, objective decision about whether to upgrade your account.

 

Advantages of iCloud+

iCloud is the most widely used cloud service on Apple devices, thanks to its accessibility and functionality.Here are the biggest advantages of choosing iCloud as a cloud service:

1. It's easy to use

 

Apple has always focused on ease of use.It creates devices with a straightforward user interface that takes very little time to master.For example, let's look at the iPhone.There are several built-in features that make the iPhone more accessible to older adults, so you don't even need to download a third-party app to make it useful to anyone.

Fortunately, Apple's focus on accessibility extends to its cloud computing services. iCloud encapsulates all the cloud-based functionality that users will need to sync and back up files, photos, calendar events, messages and videos, and other data from your device.

Also, you don't have to worry about manually updating your cloud library.With iCloud Photos, for example, your iPhone automatically uploads all of your photos and videos to the cloud, so you don't have to do anything.Just let the upload run in the background.

2. It integrates well with Apple’s ecosystem

iCloud's services are also available on non-iOS devices, but they integrate particularly well with Apple's ecosystem.You can access your iCloud storage from your iPhone, MacBook, iMac or Apple Watch and sync over Wi-Fi at any time.You will no longer need the hassle of transferring data through your PC.

For example, let's say your business primarily uses iOS devices and relies on iWork.If you don't have iCloud, you'll have to manually back up your data through on-site hardware and storage solutions, which can balloon your overhead.On the other hand, if you have iCloud, you can turn on the sync option directly.You and your authorized employees can access the company's iCloud Drive when needed and share iWork files to several devices at the same time.

Individual users usually only need to make backups for their phones or laptops.However, business owners with multiple iWork platforms may want to be safe by backing up all of their employees' devices, even if doing so would take up a lot of iCloud storage.

3. iCloud+ package has extra features

Apple includes additional services in its iCloud+ package.After upgrading, you will get these unique features like:

1. iCloud Private Relay (Beta): iCloud Private Relay allows users to browse Safari privately.It connects you to two relay stations.The first relay station receives requests from your IP address, while the second relay station generates a temporary IP address to hide your identity.However, don't use it as a VPN. iCloud Private Relay only encrypts traffic from Safari, it can't obfuscate data like a VPN can.

2. Hide My Email: The new Hide My Email feature lets you generate a temporary email address so your real personal email remains hidden.You can use this email address in place of your real address.The other party won't know your real email account, but emails will still be forwarded to your primary email inbox.

3. Custom Email Domain: Personalize your iCloud+ account with a domain name you already own.You can use the domain name of your company, personal brand or startup website.This feature is a must if you primarily operate with iWork.

4. HomeKit Secure Video Support: You can connect a security camera to your Home app.Record a video and access it later on your iPhone, iPad, Apple TV or iMac and other iCloud-enabled devices.

Of course, all of these features are just additions to iCloud's original service, like app sync, backup, Drive, and Photos.

Disadvantages of iCloud+

Despite the accessibility and functionality of the iCloud+ service, some users still see it as an unrealistic and unnecessary expense.

1. Cloud+ charges high monthly fees

Perhaps the most widely discussed downside of iCloud+ involves its cost.Yes, you can get 5GB for free.But considering that the average user consumes about 11GB of mobile phone storage space, 5GB is far from enough.

On the Apple Support iCloud+ plans and pricing page, it states that users from the US can upgrade for the following monthly fees:

50 GB: $0.99/month

200 GB: $2.99/month

2TB: $9.99/mo

Granted, these fees won't break you.However, if you can sync and backup your data in other ways, they are unnecessary expenses.For example, let's talk about iCloud Photos.It lets you store your videos and photos on iCloud, which you can access and download on any device.This feature has its advantages.However, you can also back up your media to your computer for free.

2. You need a lot of storage space to use each iCloud+ service

As we mentioned above, iCloud includes several useful services such as Backup, Photos, Calendar, Keychain, Notes, and Safari.However, if you want to get the most out of iCloud+, you might end up using a lot of paid storage.

For example, let's check out the iCloud Photos and iCloud Backup options.While both services sync your videos and photos through iCloud, they don't consume the same amount of storage space, and iCloud storage classifies them as separate data.If you have a lot of content on your iPhone, these two services can take up tens or hundreds of gigabytes of data.

And that's not counting any files you might want to save in iCloud Drive or any other iCloud service.

3. iCloud sync can be slow

 

You'll notice that the iCloud sync system sometimes takes a while to load.This problem is often encountered when iCloud's servers are saturated, and it takes some time to catch up with incoming demand.Fortunately, the system was able to solve this problem quickly.However, given iCloud's growing user base, you'll likely have to deal with slow sync issues frequently until Apple creates a more permanent solution.

Is iCloud+ service worth buying?

Whether you should upgrade your iCloud+ account depends on your device usage and storage needs.For example, if you store a lot of data and transfer it between multiple Apple devices, you'll benefit from the services of iCloud+.At least, you won't waste time manually backing up your data.

However, let's say you only have an iPhone, and you rarely use it for anything other than surf the web.Of course, you can still upgrade your iCloud account for a fee that won't break the bank.But it's an unnecessary expense because you don't have additional sync, backup, and storage needs.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/4799.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

为iCloud+订阅付费的6个优点和缺点

小白软件  2022-06-12 16:46  阅读 69 次浏览 次

苹果在2011年推出了云计算服务iCloud。它取代了旧的同步方法,如手动将iPhone插入Mac或PC来备份数据。如今,用户只需打开iCloud,就可以让他们的iPhone完成其余的工作。

所有苹果设备都有iCloud的可访问性。虽然你有5GB的免费存储空间,但你必须将你的存储空间升级到iCloud+才能完全利用苹果的云计算服务。那么,iCloud是否值得你花时间和金钱?

如果你还在犹豫不决,请不要担心。我们已经比较了iCloud+的优点和缺点,因此你可以就是否升级你的账户做出明智、客观的决定。

 

iCloud+的优点

iCloud是苹果设备上使用最广泛的云服务,这得益于它的可访问性和功能。下面是选择iCloud作为云服务的最大优势:

1. 它易于使用

 

苹果公司一直专注于易用性。它创造的设备具有直接的用户界面,只需很少的时间就能掌握。例如,让我们看一下iPhone。有几个内置功能使iPhone更适合老年人使用,所以你甚至不需要下载第三方应用程序,就能使它对任何人都有用。

幸运的是,苹果对无障碍性的关注延伸到了它的云计算服务。iCloud封装了所有基于云的功能,用户将需要同步和备份文件、照片、日历事件、信息和视频,以及其他来自你设备的数据。

此外,你不必为手动更新你的云库而烦恼。例如,通过iCloud Photos,你的iPhone会自动将你的所有照片和视频上传到云端,所以你不必做任何事情。只要让上传在后台运行即可。

2. 它能很好地与苹果的生态系统结合起来

iCloud的服务也可以在非iOS设备上使用,但它们与苹果的生态系统整合得特别好。你可以从你的iPhone、MacBook、iMac或Apple Watch访问你的iCloud存储,并在任何时候通过Wi-Fi进行同步。你将不再需要通过PC传输数据的麻烦了。

例如,假设你的企业主要使用iOS设备并依赖iWork。如果你没有iCloud,你就必须通过现场硬件和存储解决方案手动备份数据,这可能会使你的开销激增。另一方面,如果你有iCloud,你可以直接打开同步选项。你和你的授权员工可以在需要的时候访问公司的iCloud Drive,并同时将iWork文件分享到几个设备上。

个人用户通常只需要为他们的手机或笔记本电脑进行备份。然而,拥有多个iWork平台的企业主可能希望安全起见,备份所有员工的设备,即使这样做会占用大量iCloud存储空间。

3. iCloud+套餐有额外功能

苹果公司在其iCloud+套餐中包括额外的服务。升级后,你将获得这些独特的功能,如:

1.  iCloud Private Relay(测试版):iCloud Private Relay 让用户可以私下浏览 Safari。它将你连接到两个中继站。第一个中继站接收来自你的IP地址的请求,而第二个中继站生成一个临时的IP地址来隐藏你的身份。然而,不要把它当作VPN使用。iCloud私人中继只对来自Safari的流量进行加密,它不能像VPN那样对数据进行混淆。

2. 隐藏我的电子邮件:新的隐藏我的电子邮件功能可以让你生成临时的电子邮件地址,以便你真正的个人电子邮件保持隐藏。你可以用这个电子邮件地址来代替你的真实地址。对方不会知道你真正的电子邮件帐户,但电子邮件仍然会被转发到你的主要电子邮件收件箱。

3. 自定义电子邮件域:用你已经拥有的域名来个性化你的iCloud+账户。你可以使用你的公司、个人品牌或创业公司网站的域名。如果你主要使用iWork进行操作,这项功能是必须的。

4. HomeKit安全视频支持:你可以将一个安全摄像头连接到你的Home应用。录制录像,然后在你的iPhone、iPad、Apple TV或iMac以及其他支持iCloud的设备上稍后访问它。

当然,所有这些功能只是iCloud原始服务的附加功能,如应用程序同步、备份、驱动器和照片。

iCloud+的缺点

尽管iCloud+服务具有可及性和功能性,但一些用户仍然认为这是一项不切实际的、不必要的开支。

1.  Cloud+收取高昂的月费

也许最广为讨论的iCloud+的缺点涉及其费用。是的,你可以免费获得5GB。但考虑到平均用户要消耗11GB左右的手机存储空间,5GB是远远不够的。

在 Apple 支持 iCloud+ 计划和定价页面上,它指出来自美国的用户可以支付以下月费进行升级:

50 GB:0.99 美元/月

200 GB:2.99 美元/月

2 TB:9.99 美元/月

诚然,这些费用不会让你破产。然而,如果你可以通过其他方式来同步和备份你的数据,它们就是不必要的开支。例如,让我们来谈谈iCloud照片。它让你在iCloud上存储你的视频和照片,你可以在任何设备上访问和下载。该功能有其优点。然而,你也可以将媒体免费备份到电脑上。

2. 你需要大量的存储空间来使用每个iCloud+服务

正如我们上面提到的,iCloud包括几个有用的服务,如备份、照片、日历、钥匙串、笔记和Safari。然而,如果你想最大限度地利用iCloud+,你最终可能会使用大量的付费存储空间。

例如,让我们检查一下iCloud Photos和iCloud Backup选项。虽然这两项服务都是通过iCloud同步你的视频和照片,但它们消耗的存储空间并不相同,而且iCloud存储将它们归为独立的数据。如果你的iPhone上有很多内容,这两项服务会占用几十或几百GB的数据。

这还不算你可能想保存在iCloud Drive或任何其他iCloud服务中的任何文件。

3. iCloud的同步速度可能很慢

 

你会注意到,iCloud同步系统有时需要花费一些时间来加载。当iCloud的服务器处于饱和状态时,经常会遇到这个问题,它需要一些时间来赶上传入的需求。幸运的是,该系统很快就能解决这个问题。然而,考虑到iCloud的用户群不断增长,你可能不得不经常处理缓慢的同步问题,直到苹果创造一个更永久的解决方案。

iCloud+服务是否值得购买?

你是否应该升级你的iCloud+账户取决于你的设备使用和存储需求。例如,如果你存储了大量的数据,并在多个苹果设备之间传输,你会从iCloud+的服务中受益。至少,你不会浪费时间手动备份数据。

然而,假设你只有一部iPhone,而且除了上网,很少用它做其他事情。当然,你仍然可以升级你的iCloud账户,费用不会让你破产。但这是一项不必要的开支,因为你没有额外的同步、备份和存储需求。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/4799.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情