Are Android tablets about to make a comeback?

Xiaobai Software  2022-06-12 18: 24  read 150 views

Android tablets have had a rocky past, and despite repeated attempts by Google and other manufacturers to make them great, it's still firmly overwhelmed by the iPad.However, there are some signs of renewed interest in Android tablets, led by Google.

Does this suggest that Android tablets are about to make a comeback?

 

Google's renewed focus on the Android tablet market

Google has renewed interest in tablets, which it hopes will appeal to consumers who want more screen real estate and practical multitasking power, unlike what regular smartphones can achieve.Since 2021, Google has shown great interest in building amazing tablets from a software perspective.

But it didn't stop there.Here are three key points that demonstrate Google's newfound interest in tablets.

1. Android 12L

In October 2021, Google launched Android 10L, the first step in Google's renewed interest.In Android 12L, Google has added tweaks to make the software more friendly to large-screen Android devices, from tablets to ChromeOS to foldables.

In other words, Android 12L is aimed at any Android device with a screen over 600dpi.However, Android 12L still has the best features of Android 12.

2. Android 13's tablet-centric features

 

On the basis of Android 12L, Android 13 will also focus on improving the tablet experience.Google is planning various ways to make Android better on tablets.Some of these new features include support for drag and drop, split-screen functionality, and a persistent taskbar.

There's no question that poor software experiences have prevented even the best Android tablets from entering the mainstream, preventing them from competing fairly with Apple's iPad, or even being seen as a capable competitor.

3. Google is working on a Pixel tablet

After rekindling its interest in tablets with Android 12L and Android 13, Google didn't stop at the software level.The company is also working on a Pixel tablet, which is expected to hit store shelves in 2023.

One of the biggest highlights of Google's 2022 I/O keynote, the Pixel tablet marks Google's return to the tablet market, which, despite a slump in shipments in the final quarter of the year, is expected to hit the market in 2021, according to research firm IDC. The market still recorded solid growth.

The Pixel tablet will be the company's first product after abandoning the tablet market.It plans to launch more models in the future.

Foldables make tablets fun

 

In fact, the tablet story is also entangled with foldable devices.Foldable devices like Samsung's Galaxy Z Fold series and Oppo's Find N simply fold into a small tablet.

A foldable phone gives you more freedom than a regular tablet, allowing you to use the device on a full screen, which is useful when watching the latest episode of your favorite sitcom on Netflix or taking notes while watching a tutorial on YouTube Very useful.

And when you want to use your device in a phone-like form, you can fold it up.Take the Galaxy Z Fold 3 for example.It has two displays, a 7.6-inch main panel and a smaller but respectable 6.2-inch panel.Folding phones give tablets a fresh and sophisticated look that standard form factors can't achieve, making them more attractive.

Moreover, the increased focus on folding phones in the future makes it even more important that the Android operating system and the applications running on it are properly optimized for large-screen devices.

Android tablets still have a long way to go

Despite Google's renewed interest in tablet software and hardware, and Samsung pushing foldables into the mainstream, Android tablets still have a long way to go. The iPad is way ahead, improving with every new software and hardware update.

While incremental changes to the iPad may seem trivial at the time of announcement, they add to the brilliance of the mid- to long-term experience. The iPad's recipe for success makes the device appealing to educators, students, and even mainstream consumers.But as long as software and hardware continue to improve, Android tablets have a chance to redeem themselves.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/4804.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

安卓平板电脑即将卷土重来吗?

小白软件  2022-06-12 18:24  阅读 94 次浏览 次

安卓平板电脑有着坎坷的过去,尽管谷歌和其他制造商多次尝试让它们变得伟大,不过,它仍然牢牢被iPad压制。然而,一些迹象表明,在谷歌的带头下,人们对安卓平板电脑重新产生了兴趣。

这是否表明,安卓平板电脑即将卷土重来?

 

谷歌对安卓平板电脑市场的重新关注

谷歌重新对平板电脑产生了兴趣,它希望平板电脑能够吸引那些希望拥有更多屏幕空间和实用多任务处理能力的消费者,这与普通智能手机所能实现的目标不同。自2021以来,谷歌对从软件角度打造令人惊叹的平板电脑表现出了极大的兴趣。

但它并没有就此止步。以下是三个关键点,展示了谷歌对平板电脑的新兴趣。

1. Android 12L

2021 10月,谷歌推出了Android 12L,这是谷歌重新燃起兴趣的第一步。在Android 12L中,谷歌增加了一些调整,使该软件对大屏幕Android设备更加友好,从平板电脑到ChromeOS再到可折叠设备。

换句话说,Android 12L针对的是屏幕超过600dpi的任何Android设备。然而,Android 12L仍然拥有Android 12的最佳功能。

2、Android 13以平板电脑为中心的功能

 

在安卓12L的基础上,安卓13也将改善平板电脑的体验作为重点。谷歌正计划通过各种方式使安卓系统在平板电脑上变得更好。其中一些新功能包括支持拖放、分屏功能和持久的任务栏。

毫无疑问,糟糕的软件体验甚至阻碍了最好的Android平板电脑进入主流,阻碍了它们与苹果iPad的公平竞争,甚至被视为有能力的竞争对手。

3. 谷歌正在研发Pixel平板电脑

在用安卓12L和安卓13重新点燃其对平板电脑的兴趣后,谷歌并没有在软件层面上止步不前。该公司还在开发Pixel平板电脑,预计将于2023年上架。

作为谷歌2022年I/O主题演讲的最大亮点之一,Pixel平板电脑标志着谷歌重返平板电脑市场,根据研究公司IDC的数据,尽管今年最后一个季度的出货量出现下滑,但2021年该市场仍录得稳健增长。

Pixel平板电脑将是该公司放弃平板电脑市场后的第一款产品。它计划在未来推出更多机型。

可折叠产品使平板电脑变得有趣

 

其实,平板电脑的故事也与可折叠设备纠缠在一起。像三星的Galaxy Z Fold系列和Oppo的Find N这样的折叠式设备,只是可以折叠成一个小型的平板电脑。

与普通平板电脑相比,可折叠手机给你更多的自由,允许你在全屏上使用设备,这在观看Netflix上你最喜欢的情景喜剧的最新一集或在YouTube上看教程时做笔记时很有用。

而当你想以类似手机的形式使用你的设备时,你可以将它折叠起来。以Galaxy Z Fold 3为例。它拥有两块显示屏,一块7.6英寸的主面板和一块较小但可观的6.2英寸面板。折叠式手机给平板电脑带来了新鲜和精致的外观,这是标准外形尺寸所无法实现的,使它们更具吸引力。

而且,未来对折叠手机的关注度增加,使得安卓操作系统和在其上运行的应用程序为大屏幕设备进行适当优化变得更加重要。

安卓平板电脑还有很长的路要走

尽管谷歌对平板电脑软件和硬件重新产生了兴趣,三星也在推动可折叠设备成为主流,但安卓平板电脑仍有很长的路要走。iPad遥遥领先,每一次新的软件和硬件更新都在不断改进。

虽然iPad的增量变化在公布时可能看起来微不足道,但它们为中长期的体验增添了精彩。iPad的成功秘诀使该设备对教育工作者、学生,甚至主流消费者都有吸引力。但只要软件和硬件继续完善,安卓平板电脑就有机会完成自我救赎。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/4804.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情