Why are more and more people buying premium phones?

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-25 17: 44  read 182 views

Smartphones vary in price.From budget phones to flagships, there's something for everyone.However, despite the vastly enhanced capabilities of budget phones over the past few years, reports show that today, more people are willing to buy high-end phones.

Why is this?Are premium phones really more cost-effective?

High-end mobile phone sales on the rise

Before we dive into the reasons why more and more people are buying high-end phones, let's take a look at some supporting statistics to get a better perspective.Note that when we say premium phones here, we mean phones over $400.

 

In the image above representing Counterpoint's research, we can see that over a quarter of all smartphone sales in 2021 will be premium smartphones.Given the increasing sales contribution of premium phones from 2016 to 2021, we can safely assume that this trend is likely to continue into 2022 and beyond.

Unsurprisingly, the majority of the premium smartphone market is captured by Apple. The tech giant captures a whopping 2021% of the market in 60, and we're guessing Apple's recent success in Asia has played a big role in that victory.In the chart after Apple, Samsung has 17%, Huawei 6%, then Xiaomi, Oppo, Vivo and others.

Next, let's move on to see why today's buyers may be more willing to buy a high-end phone than a budget or mid-range phone.

1. High-end phones are more economical in the long run

 

Granted, premium phones are expensive and aren't for everyone.But there are ways to justify them being more economical than cheaper phones.The three main reasons people upgrade their phones are because the battery has degraded, software support has ended, or they just want new features.

Knowing this, a high-end phone is a better choice for you under three conditions:

1. You are willing to carry your phone with you for more than three years.

2. You don't care much about having the latest software updates.

3. Once the battery performance deteriorates, you can replace it.

Assuming you buy a cheap pair of headphones every year, even if the headphones are new, you'll still get terrible sound quality every time because the components inside are simply inferior.But if you switch to high-end headphones, you can enjoy great sound quality for a few years with just one pair.

The same is true for smartphones.If you buy a budget phone every two to three years, you'll get average performance, camera, and build quality every time.However, if you buy a premium phone, you can enjoy its premium hardware and software for longer, provided you have no problem with the three conditions we mentioned above.

Battery replacements can cost anywhere from $25 to $100, so you're actually saving money in the long run by not buying a new phone.

2. Mobile gaming is expected to explode

 

Mobile games have a bad reputation among the gaming industry and players.After all, most mobile games feel like they're there to help you pass the time, not immerse you in the story or the game.Think Candy Crushers or Subway Surfers.This is one of the biggest reasons why mobile gaming still sucks compared to console/PC gaming.

Fortunately, this situation is changing for the better.Experts believe that mobile gaming will see explosive growth in the next few years.After all, there are far more smartphones in the world than game consoles and computers.Mobile gaming enables developers to reach a larger audience, which helps generate greater revenue through microtransactions.

Also, as phones become more powerful and 5G spreads year by year, the graphics and multiplayer experience will also improve.All of this will translate into developers making better mobile games, and in order to play those games, buyers will be more likely to buy premium phones with better performance.

3. There are more options

 

As we can see in the chart, Xiaomi, Vivo, and Oppo now offer competitive flagships that go head-to-head with their Samsung counterparts, with impressive specs, great build quality, and plenty of cool factor .

Apart from OnePlus, Chinese brands are not prevalent in the US, but they have a strong grasp on the Asian market.As such, they may downplay their budget phones and prioritize marketing their flagships to increase sales of the latter.

4. Buyers are more informed

 

Unlike buyers of the past decade, today’s buyers are more informed, informed and outspoken about their needs.With more options than ever, they are free to choose.

And, with the rise of new content creators and tech publications, buyers can easily watch videos or read articles to compare two or more phones they like and make better buying decisions.

All this is not surprising.As society becomes more technologically advanced and we rely more and more on smart gadgets in our daily activities, people will naturally be more willing to spend more on said gadgets than just smartphones.Yes, budget phones have gotten really good, but there are some features that are unique to premium phones.

High-end mobile phones are becoming more and more popular

Most smartphone sales include budget and mid-range phones, as most of what the average buyer needs can be easily found in that price range.However, for all of the above reasons, buyers around the world are increasingly willing to pay more for the affordable high-end or "flagship killer" experience that the tech industry has been obsessed with lately.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3588.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

为什么越来越多的人购买高级手机?

小白软件  2022-04-25 17:44  阅读 79 次浏览 次

智能手机的价格各不相同。从廉价手机到旗舰,每个人都有自己的选择。然而,尽管在过去几年里,廉价手机的功能大大增强,但报告显示,今天,有更多的人愿意购买高端手机。

这是为什么呢?高级手机真的更划算吗?

高端手机销量呈上升趋势

在我们深入探讨为什么越来越多的人购买高端手机的原因之前,让我们先看看一些支持性的统计数据,以获得更好的视角。请注意,在此,我们所说的高档手机是指400美元以上的手机。

 

在上面代表Counterpoint研究的图片中,我们可以看到,2021年所有智能手机销售中超过四分之一是高端智能手机。鉴于从2016年到2021年,高端手机的销售贡献不断增加,我们可以安全地假设,这一趋势可能会持续到2022年及以后。

不出所料,高端智能手机市场的大部分份额都由苹果公司获得。2021年,这家科技巨头占据了高达60%的市场份额,我们猜测苹果最近在亚洲的成功对这一胜利起到了很大作用。在苹果之后的图表中,三星占17%,华为占6%,然后是小米、Oppo、Vivo和其他公司。

接下来,让我们继续看看为什么今天的买家可能更愿意购买高端手机,而不是廉价或中档手机。

1.从长远来看,高端手机更经济

 

诚然,高档手机价格昂贵,并不适合所有人。但有一些方法可以证明它们比便宜的手机更经济。人们升级手机的三个主要原因是,电池已经退化,软件支持已经结束,或者他们只是想要新的功能。

了解了这一点,在以下三个条件下,高端手机对你来说是一个更好的选择:

1.  你愿意带着你的手机超过三年的时间。

2.  你不太关心是否有最新的软件更新。

3.  一旦电池性能下降,你可以去更换。

假设你每年都会买一副廉价的耳机,即使耳机是新的,你还是会每次都得到糟糕的音质,因为里面的元件根本就是劣质的。但如果你换成高端耳机,你只需买一副,就可以在几年内享受到很好的音质。

智能手机的情况也类似。如果你每两到三年买一部经济型手机,你每次都会得到一般的性能、相机和制造质量。但是,如果你买一部高级手机,你可以更长时间地享受其高级硬件和软件,前提是你对我们上面提到的三个条件没有意见。

更换电池的费用从25美元到100美元不等,所以从长远来看,你不买新手机实际上是在省钱。

2. 移动游戏预计将出现爆炸性增长

 

移动游戏在游戏行业和玩家中的声誉不佳。毕竟,大多数手机游戏感觉是为了帮助你打发时间,而不是让你沉浸在故事或游戏中。想想糖果粉碎机或地铁冲浪者。这是手机游戏与控制台/PC游戏相比仍然糟糕的最大原因之一。

幸运的是,这种情况正在向好的方面改变。专家们认为,移动游戏在未来几年将出现爆炸性增长。毕竟,世界上的智能手机比游戏机和电脑多得多。移动游戏使开发商能够吸引更多的观众,这有助于通过微交易产生更大的收入。

此外,由于手机功能越来越强大,5G也在逐年普及,图形和多人游戏体验也将得到改善。所有这些都将转化为开发者制作更好的移动游戏,而为了玩这些游戏,买家将更有可能购买性能更好的高级手机。

3. 有更多选择

 

正如我们在图表中看到的那样,小米、Vivo和Oppo现在提供有竞争力的旗舰产品,与三星的同类产品并驾齐驱,具有令人印象深刻的规格,出色的制造质量,以及大量的酷炫因素。

除了OnePlus,中国品牌在美国并不盛行,但它们对亚洲市场有很强的把握。因此,他们可能会淡化他们的廉价手机,并优先营销他们的旗舰产品,以增加后者的销量。

4. 买家更了解情况

 

今天的买家与过去十年的买家不同,他们对自己的需求更加了解、知情和直言不讳。 由于有比以往更多的选择,他们可以自由选择。

而且,随着新的内容创作者和科技出版物的兴起,买家可以很容易地观看视频或阅读文章,以比较他们喜欢的两款或更多的手机,做出更好的购买决定。

这一切并不令人惊讶。随着社会技术越来越先进,我们在日常活动中越来越依赖智能小工具,人们自然会更愿意在上述小工具上花费更多,而不仅仅是智能手机。是的,廉价手机已经变得非常好,但有一些功能是高级手机独有的。

高端手机越来越受欢迎

大多数智能手机销售包括廉价和中档手机,因为普通买家需要的大部分产品都可以在该价格范围内轻松找到。然而,由于以上种种原因,全世界的买家越来越愿意花更多的钱来获得负担得起的高端体验或“旗舰杀手”体验,而这正是科技行业最近所痴迷的。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3588.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情