MacBook Air vs iPad Air: How should you choose?

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-24 18: 55  read 445 views

M2020 to be launched in late 1 MacBook AirThe first Mac to feature Apple silicon, and at just $999, it offers incredible value for money that Windows laptops can't match.Fast forward two years, and Apple is now iniPad AirThe same Apple Silicon M1 chip is available in XNUMX for about half the price.

Does this move by Apple make the M1 MacBook AirBe eliminated?oriPad AirToo much power for the software it runs on?Here, we'll compare the M1 MacBook Air to the M1 iPad Air so you can make an informed decision.

Price

Since price is the deciding factor for most people, we'll start with that.As we briefly mentioned earlier, the iPad Air is about half the price of the MacBook Air.But that's not all, especially if you plan to use it as a laptop replacement.

For $599, you can get a 64GB iPad Air with Wi-Fi, but that's not enough to replace a laptop.All you get for this price is a tablet.For a laptop-style experience, you'll need at least one keyboard accessory.The best Apple has to offer is the Magic Keyboard for the iPad, which costs $299, half the price of the iPad Air itself.

Now, when you think about it, the total cost of your iPad Air suddenly becomes $898, making you wonder if it's worth the extra $100 for a MacBook Air.If you plan to draw on it, don't forget that there's also an optional $129 Apple Pencil fee.

At $999, the MacBook Air is a complete package.You don't need to spend extra on accessories to get the ideal laptop experience.Plus, you get 256GB of storage, four times as much as the base model iPad Air.

operating system

 

The operating system is a huge differentiating factor between the two devices, but the best choice for you mostly comes down to personal preference.Do you prefer a full-fledged desktop OS, or a lighter, mobile-based OS?

The M1 MacBook Air runs macOS, an operating system designed from the ground up for desktops and laptops.The M1 iPad Air, on the other hand, runs iPadOS, which is basically an enhanced version of iOS to take advantage of the larger screen.

So the iPad Air restricts you to software from the App Store, while you can install any desktop app on your Mac.Plus, you can even install supported iPhone and iPad apps on the M1 MacBook Air from the Mac App Store.

Apple's iPadOS may seem rather limited to existing Mac users, but if you haven't owned a Mac before, you'll probably be happy with an iPhone-like experience on a larger screen.On the software side, I believe the M1 MacBook Air is the more versatile of the two machines, especially since the M1 Mac can natively run some useful iPad apps likeLumaFusion.

Performance

 

We already know that both devices pack Apple's impressive M1 chip, but does that mean they both offer the same performance?Theoretically yes, but it's hard to compare because they run different operating systems.

Notably, the base model MacBook Air has an M7 chip with a 1-core GPU, while the iPad Air has a full-fledged 8-core GPU.Granted, there are theoretical nuances in GPU performance, but that hardly translates into practical use.

Both the MacBook Air and iPad Air perform more than you need for their price.However, if you plan to run CPU- and GPU-intensive tasks on your Mac with production software like Final Cut Pro or DaVinci Resolve, you're better off buying a high-end 1-inch MacBook Pro with the M14 Pro chip.

Whether you buy a MacBook Air or an iPad Air, you'll get 8GB of RAM, so there's no comparison here.However, if you really need to, you can custom configure the MacBook Air to have 16GB of RAM.

Also, keep in mind that iPadOS and MacOS manage system resources differently.Apple only allows iPad apps to use up to 6GB of available memory, leaving the rest for core system functions.However, macOS has no such restrictions on the memory usage of applications.

相机

 

Until recently, laptops (including MacBooks) didn't have high-quality cameras, especially compared to tablets and phones.In recent years, however, video calling has become more popular, making camera quality a priority for many.

The MacBook Air's 720p HD camera for FaceTime calls is mediocre at best.So if you plan to make a lot of video calls or participate in online meetings, this can be a deadly problem.On the other hand, the M1 iPad Air has a 1200-megapixel ultra-wide camera that supports smooth video calls up to 1080p/60fps.Among other things, it supports Apple's "Center Stage" feature, which keeps you in the picture as you move.

Don't forget, the iPad Air is a tablet, just like any other tablet, it has a more powerful 1200-megapixel main camera that takes great photos and records video at 4K/60fps.Granted, most people won't take pictures with a tablet, but it's handy for scanning documents.

Battery Life

 

The MacBook Air and iPad Air are highly portable machines, so you'll want them to last as long as possible while traveling.Thankfully, the efficiency of the Apple M1 allows the new MacBooks to have a noticeable improvement in battery performance over the previous generation.

While the iPad Air's 10-hour web browsing battery life is good for a tablet, the MacBook Air can provide up to 15 hours of web browsing, or 18 hours of video playback in the Apple TV app.This laptop leads the pack when it comes to battery performance, where only the heavier and more expensive 13-inch M1 MacBook Pro beats it.

display

 

Screen size can be another big factor in your buying decision.It depends on whether you want more screen real estate or a more portable device, as both machines have nearly identical panel quality.

The iPad Air has a 10.9-inch IPS display with a resolution of 2360x1640 pixels and 264 pixels per inch, while the MacBook Air has a 13.3-inch IPS screen with a resolution of 2560x1600 and 227 pixels per inch.Both displays support P3 wide color gamut and True Tone.However, the iPad Air maxes out at 500 nits, which is a bit brighter than the MacBook's 400 nits.

Learn how the M1 laptop differs from the M1 tablet

Before you decide to buy one of these devices, it's necessary to know exactly what you plan to do with them.While the iPad Air is a tablet running a mobile-based operating system, it's still better than a MacBook for certain use cases, such as taking notes, video calling, and consuming media.But for most people, the M1 MacBook Air is a safe bet, a more convenient work tool that gives you good value for your money.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3564.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

MacBook Air 与 iPad Air:您应该如何选择?

小白软件  2022-04-24 18:55  阅读 117 次浏览 次

2020年底推出的M1 MacBook Air是第一款采用苹果硅芯片的Mac,它的价格仅为999美元,具有Windows笔记本电脑无法比拟的难以置信的性价比。快进两年,苹果现在在iPad Air中提供同样的苹果硅M1芯片,价格大约是原来的一半。

苹果的这一举措是否使M1 MacBook Air被淘汰?或者iPad Air对于它所运行的软件来说功率太大?在这里,我们将把M1 MacBook Air与M1 iPad Air进行对比,以便你能做出明智的决定。

价格

由于价格是大多数人的决定性因素,我们将从这一点开始。正如我们前面简要提到的,iPad Air的价格大约是MacBook Air的一半。但这还不是全部,特别是如果你打算把它作为笔记本电脑的替代品。

599美元,你可以得到带Wi-Fi的64GB iPad Air,但这还不足以取代笔记本电脑。这个价格你所得到的只是平板电脑。要获得笔记本电脑式的体验,你至少需要一个键盘配件。苹果公司提供的最好的产品是iPad的魔术键盘,价格为299美元,是iPad Air本身价格的一半。

现在,当你考虑到这一点,你的iPad Air的总成本突然变成了898美元,让你怀疑是否值得多花100美元购买MacBook Air。如果你打算在上面画画,别忘了还有129美元的可选Apple Pencil 费用。

以999美元的价格,MacBook Air是一个完整的包装。你不需要在配件上花额外的钱来获得理想的笔记本电脑体验。此外,你还能得到256GB的存储空间,是基本型号iPad Air的四倍。

操作系统

 

操作系统是这两种设备之间的一个巨大区别因素,但对你来说,最好的选择主要归结于个人的偏好。你是喜欢一个成熟的桌面操作系统,还是喜欢一个更轻的、基于移动的操作系统?

M1 MacBook Air运行macOS,这是一个从头开始为台式机和笔记本电脑设计的操作系统。另一方面,M1 iPad Air运行iPadOS,这基本上是增强版的 iOS,以利用大屏幕的优势。

因此,iPad Air限制你使用App Store上的软件,而你可以在Mac上安装任何桌面应用程序。此外,你甚至可以从Mac App Store在M1 MacBook Air上安装支持的iPhone和iPad应用程序。

对于现有的Mac用户来说,苹果的iPadOS可能看起来相当有限,但如果你以前没有拥有过Mac,你可能会对在更大的屏幕上获得类似iPhone的体验感到高兴。在软件方面,我相信M1 MacBook Air是这两款机器中功能更多的,尤其是M1 Mac可以原生运行一些有用的iPad应用程序,如LumaFusion

性能

 

我们已经知道,这两款设备都装有苹果令人印象深刻的M1芯片,但这是否意味着它们都能提供相同的性能?理论上是的,但很难比较,因为它们运行不同的操作系统。

值得注意的是,基本型号的MacBook Air配备了一个带有7核GPU的M1芯片,而iPad Air则配备了一个成熟的8核GPU。当然,GPU性能在理论上有细微差别,但这几乎没有转化为实际使用。

MacBook Air和iPad Air的性能都超过了你对其价格的需求。然而,如果你打算在Mac上使用Final Cut Pro或DaVinci Resolve等制作软件运行CPU和GPU密集型任务,你最好购买配备M1 Pro芯片的高端14英寸MacBook Pro。

无论你购买MacBook Air还是iPad Air,你都会得到8GB的内存,所以二者在这里没有可比性。然而,如果你真的需要,你可以定制配置MacBook Air,使其拥有16GB的内存。

另外,请记住,iPadOS和MacOS管理系统资源的方式不同。苹果只允许iPad应用程序使用最多6GB的可用内存,其余的留给核心系统功能。然而,macOS对应用程序的内存使用没有这种限制。

相机

 

直到最近,笔记本电脑(包括MacBooks)还没有高质量的摄像头,特别是与平板电脑和手机相比。然而,近几年以来,视频通话已变得越来越流行,使摄像头质量成为许多人的首要任务。

MacBook Air采用了720p的高清摄像头,用于FaceTime通话,充其量是平庸的。因此,如果你打算进行大量的视频通话或参加在线会议,这可能是一个致命的问题。另一方面,M1 iPad Air有一个1200万像素的超宽摄像头,支持高达1080p/60fps的流畅视频通话。除此之外,它还支持苹果的 "中心舞台 "功能,在你移动的时候让你保持在画面中。

别忘了,iPad Air是一款平板电脑,就像其他平板电脑一样,它配备了一个更强大的1200万像素主摄像头,可以拍摄精彩的照片,并以4K/60fps的速度录制视频。当然,大多数人不会用平板电脑拍照,但它对扫描文件很方便。

电池寿命

 

MacBook Air和iPad Air是高度便携的机器,因此,你会希望它们在旅行时能尽可能地持续使用。值得庆幸的是,苹果M1的效率使新MacBooks的电池性能比上一代有了明显的提高。

虽然iPad Air的10小时网络浏览电池寿命对平板电脑来说是很好的,但MacBook Air可以提供长达15小时的网络浏览,或在Apple TV应用中提供18小时的视频播放。这款笔记本电脑在电池性能方面独领风骚,只有更重、更贵的13英寸M1 MacBook Pro在这方面能胜过它。

显示

 

屏幕尺寸可能是影响你购买决定的另一大因素。这要看你是想要更多的屏幕空间还是更便携的设备,因为这两台机器的面板质量几乎相同。

iPad Air采用10.9英寸IPS显示屏,分辨率为2360x1640像素,每英寸264像素,而MacBook Air则采用13.3英寸IPS屏幕,分辨率为2560x1600,每英寸227像素。两块显示屏都支持P3广色域和True Tone。然而,iPad Air的最大亮度为500尼特,比MacBook的400尼特更亮一些。

了解M1笔记本电脑与M1平板电脑的不同之处

在你决定购买这些设备之一之前,有必要确切了解你打算用它们做什么。虽然iPad Air是一个运行基于移动操作系统的平板电脑,但在某些使用情况下,它仍然比MacBook更好,比如做笔记、视频通话和消费媒体。但对于大多数人来说,M1 MacBook Air是一个安全的赌注,是一款更方便的工作工具,让你的钱物有所值。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3564.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情