15 Linux terms and jargon you should know

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-02 13: 55  read 279 views

when you first start usingLinuxYou may come across new terms and jargon that you are not familiar with.For many users, this can be an opportunity to learn something new, while for others, the use of unnecessary terminologyLinuxAnd the open source world looks complicated.

If you find yourself in a similar situation but would rather embrace the uniqueness of Linux than escape, we've compiled some of the most common Linux terms and jargon for you to make your transition to Linux as smooth as possible.

1. Linux

"Linux" is the most common and prominent term.You might think that anyone who has installed Linux probably knows what it is.But this is not the case.Some users mistakenly think that Linux is an operating system.Instead, Linux is a free and open source kernel developed by Linus Torvalds in 1991.

2. Kernel

The kernel is the part of the computer that helps the operating system interact with the hardware.Every time you click a button on the screen with the mouse or press a key on the keyboard, the information goes through the kernel, which in turn communicates with the operating system, taking the data as input and displaying the output using the hardware (display).

3. GNU

GNU, a recursive acronym for "GNU's Not Unix", is a set of open source tools that anyone can use for free to develop their own applications and operating systems.The GNU Project, created by Richard Stallman, aims to develop and distribute software for free, with open-source tools for every developer.

The Linux kernel is licensed under GNU's GPL (General Public License), hence the name GNU/Linux.Any operating system developed using open source GNU tools and the Linux kernel is a Linux distribution.But you might ask, what is a distribution?

4. Releases (Rotation, Style and Remix)

 

As mentioned above, any operating system that uses the Linux kernel to communicate with computer hardware is called a Linux distribution. The word "distribution", or distro for short, comes from the sharing process, which essentially "distributes" a Linux-based operating system for free.

Developers and Linux tinkerers also release spins and hybrids of mainstream Linux distributions. "spin" or "remix" refers to a customized or derived version of the original operating system.Generally speaking, the difference between a base OS and its spin is the choice of desktop interface or software package, or both.

Take Ubuntu as an example.It comes in several flavors, including Xubuntu, Lubuntu, and Kubuntu, each with a different desktop environment.Similarly, Fedora refers to its unofficial spinoffs as "spins." In general, spins, remixes, and flavors, each with the same meaning.

5. Desktop Environment

 

To make computing easier for users, the operating system has a desktop that provides a graphical way to manage the system. Windows and macOS are known for their iconic desktops, but Linux does it very differently.

On Linux, you will find that there are many desktops, also known as desktop environments, that can be installed for free.A desktop environment usually comes with a window manager and some applications and gadgets that, when combined with a window manager, enrich the user experience.Some popular desktop environments are GNOME, KDE Plasma, XFCE, Pantheon, and LXDE.

6. Window Manager

 

A window manager is a program that controls the position and movement of windows on the screen.While window managers usually work behind the scenes in a desktop environment, you can also use them individually on your Linux machine.For non-technical users, though, they can be complicated to set up, which is the main reason why not everyone likes to use them in the first place.

Window managers are lightweight and offer better performance than desktop environments because they don't come with a ton of unnecessary apps and gadgets.If you choose a window manager, you even have to install a separate menu and compositor.

i3wm, bspwm, awesome and Fluxbox are some popular window managers. The KDE Plasma and GNOME desktops use the KWin and Mutter window managers behind the scenes.

7. Terminal

If you're new to Linux, you may remember glimpses of a black window with lots of text on it.This is the Linux terminal, also known as the command line.

A terminal is a program used to control the shell of your operating system.A shell is a text- or graphics-based interface that you use to interact with your desktop. Linux Terminal is similar to Windows' Command Prompt, helping administrators to effectively control and manage their systems.

While other operating systems have long since moved away from using terminal emulators, the command line is still common in Linux-based operating systems.

8. Root

On Linux, root refers to two things: the root directory and the root user.The root directory is the parent directory, and it contains every file and folder on your system.You can use the wildcard "/" (forward slash) to represent the root directory in your command.

On the other hand, the root user, also known as superuser, or simply root, is the user who has all administrative rights.The root user can view and edit any file, make modifications to the system or other users, and even delete entire directory hierarchies.Simply put, it is the Linux user with the highest level of control.

9. Package managers

On Linux, applications are distributed as packages, available in your distribution's official repositories.A package manager is a program used to manage packages on a Linux system.It allows you to add or remove packages from sources such as your distribution's repositories.However, you can also add additional third-party repositories with the package manager if you wish.

APT, RPM, and pacman are the three most popular package managers on Linux distributions.Debian and Ubuntu-based distributions use the APT package manager; Fedora, CentOS, and RHEL use the RPM package manager, and Arch Linux and its derivatives use pacman.

10. Source code and binary packages

A package in Linux refers to an archive that contains files needed to execute or install a program. Software on Linux is usually released in the form of packages, and there are two types of packages available to users: source packages and binary packages.

A source package contains the source code of a program that the user must manually compile and install to run the software.Binary packages, on the other hand, contain prebuilt and precompiled executables of the software.

11. Repository

A software repository is a remote server that stores a collection of software packages and associated metadata.Each Linux distribution either has its own set of repositories or uses its parent distribution's repositories to provide software to users.

12. Launcher (GRUB)

A startup program is a program that is responsible for starting your computer.Typically, the operating system and its data are stored on non-volatile storage disks, such as hard disks.The bootloader helps load the correct operating system at startup and adds the initial process in memory.

GRUB is one of the most commonly used bootloaders when dual booting Windows with Linux.Other examples include LILO, BURG and Syslinux.

13. Process

Every program you start on your system runs in the background as a collection of processes.A process is a basic instance of a running program that performs computations on your computer.

The web browser you just opened to browse the Internet starts a process, or set of processes, to help you interact with it and browse the Internet.Likewise, your system's file manager, terminal, media player, and every other program depend on processes to produce output.

14. Shell (Bash, Zsh, etc.)

As mentioned earlier, the shell is an interface that helps you interact with the system.It can be a command line interface like Terminal or a graphical interface like GNOME Shell. The shell also acts as an interpreter for any command you type in the terminal.

You can install several different shells on Linux.For example Bash, Zsh, Fish, sh, Ksh, etc.Every shell does the same thing: to help users and processes interact with other processes on the system.

15. Shell Script

When you write a set of Linux commands and pack them into a single file, the resulting file is called a "shell script." Shell scripting is the process of writing a script using Linux commands, which are then interpreted by the shell installed on the system.Batch scripts are the Windows equivalent of shell scripts on Linux.

The most popular form of shell scripting is Bash scripting, which refers to writing and executing scripts using the Bash shell. Shell scripts are a powerful way to automate tasks on Linux machines; they make computing much easier and more fun for users.

Knowing these terms and jargon, you are one step closer to becoming a Linux professional.To be able to use the full potential of Linux, you should be proficient at the command line and know how to troubleshoot the operating system to make it work for you, not clutter.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/2855.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

您应该了解的 15 个 Linux 术语和行话

小白软件  2022-04-02 13:55  阅读 172 次浏览 次

当你第一次开始使用Linux时,你可能会遇到你不熟悉的新术语和行话。对许多用户来说,这可能是一个学习新东西的机会,而对其他用户来说,使用不必要的术语使Linux和开源世界看起来很复杂。

如果你发现自己处于类似的情况,但宁愿接受Linux的独特性,也不愿逃避,那么我们为你整理了一些最常见的Linux术语和行话,让你尽可能顺利地过渡到Linux。

1. Linux

"Linux"是最常见和最突出的术语。你可能认为安装过Linux的人可能都知道它是什么。但情况并非如此。一些用户错误地认为Linux是一个操作系统。相反,Linux是由Linus Torvalds在1991年开发的一个自由和开源的内核。

2. 内核

内核是计算机的一部分,它帮助操作系统与硬件互动。每当你用鼠标点击屏幕上的按钮或按下键盘上的一个键时,信息就会经过内核,而内核又会与操作系统沟通,将数据作为输入,并使用硬件(显示器)显示输出。

3. GNU

GNU是“GNU’s Not Unix”的递归首字母缩写,是一组开源工具,任何人都可以免费使用这些工具开发自己的应用程序和操作系统。由Richard Stallman创建的GNU项目旨在免费开发和分发软件,并为每个开发者提供开源工具。

Linux内核是根据GNU的GPL(通用公共许可证)授权的,因此被称为GNU/Linux。任何使用开源GNU工具和Linux内核开发的操作系统都属于Linux发行版。但你可能会问,什么是发行版?

4. 发行版(旋转、风格和混音)

 

如上所述,任何使用Linux内核与计算机硬件通信的操作系统都被称为Linux发行版。“distribution”一词,简称distro,来自共享过程,本质上是免费“分发”基于Linux的操作系统。

开发人员和Linux修补者还发布了主流Linux发行版的旋转和混合版本。“spin”或“remix”指的是原始操作系统的定制或衍生版本。一般来说,基本操作系统和它的spin之间的区别在于桌面界面或软件包的选择,或者两者兼而有之。

以Ubuntu为例。它有几种风格,包括Xubuntu、Lubuntu和Kubuntu,每种都有不同的桌面环境。类似地,Fedora将其非官方衍生产品称为“旋转”总的来说,旋转、混音和风味,每一个都有相同的含义。

5. 桌面环境

 

为了使用户的计算更简单,操作系统有一个桌面,提供一种图形化的方式来管理系统。Windows和macOS因其标志性的桌面而闻名,但Linux的做法非常不同。

在Linux上,你会发现有很多桌面,也就是众所周知的桌面环境,可以免费安装。桌面环境通常带有一个窗口管理程序和一些应用程序和小工具,当它们与窗口管理程序相结合时,可以丰富用户体验。一些流行的桌面环境有GNOME、KDE Plasma、XFCE、Pantheon和LXDE。

6. 窗口管理器

 

窗口管理器是控制屏幕上窗口的位置和移动的程序。虽然窗口管理器通常在桌面环境的幕后工作,但你也可以在你的Linux机器上单独使用它们。不过,对于非技术用户来说,它们的设置可能很复杂,这也是为什么不是所有人都喜欢首先使用它们的主要原因。

窗口管理器是轻量级的,比桌面环境提供更好的性能,因为它们不附带大量不必要的应用程序和小工具。如果你选择窗口管理器,你甚至必须安装一个独立的菜单和合成器。

i3wm、bspwm、awesome和Fluxbox是一些流行的窗口管理器。KDE Plasma和GNOME桌面在后台使用KWin和Mutter窗口管理器。

7. 终端

如果你是Linux的新手,你可能还记得瞥见一个黑色的窗口,上面有很多文字。这就是Linux终端,也称为命令行。

终端是一个用来控制你的操作系统的shell的程序。外壳是一个基于文本或图形的界面,你用它来与你的桌面互动。Linux终端类似于Windows的Command Prompt,帮助管理员有效地控制和管理他们的系统。

虽然其他操作系统早已不再使用终端模拟器,但命令行在基于Linux的操作系统中仍然很普遍。

8. Root

在Linux上,root指的是两件事:根目录和根用户。根目录是父目录,它包含你系统中的每个文件和文件夹。你可以使用通配符"/"(正斜杠)来表示你的命令中的根目录。

另一方面,根用户,也被称为超级用户,或简称根,是拥有所有管理权限的用户。根用户可以查看和编辑任何文件,对系统或其他用户进行修改,甚至可以删除整个目录层次结构。简单地说,它是拥有最高级别控制权的Linux用户。

9. 软件包管理人员

在Linux上,应用程序是以包的形式发布的,在你的发行版的官方仓库中可以找到。软件包管理器是一个用于管理Linux系统上的软件包的程序。它允许你从你的发行版软件库等来源添加或删除软件包。不过,如果你愿意,你也可以用软件包管理器添加额外的第三方软件库。

APT、RPM和pacman是Linux发行版上最流行的三个软件包管理器。基于Debian和Ubuntu的发行版使用APT软件包管理器;Fedora、CentOS和RHEL使用RPM软件包管理器,而Arch Linux及其衍生版本则使用pacman。

10.源代码和二进制软件包

Linux中的包是指包含执行或安装程序所需文件的档案。Linux上的软件通常以包的形式发布,有两种类型的包可供用户使用:源码包和二进制包。

源码包包含一个程序的源代码,用户必须手动编译和安装才能运行该软件。另一方面,二进制包则包含了软件的预构建和预编译的可执行文件。

11. 存储库

软件存储库是存储软件包集合以及相关元数据的远程服务器。 每个 Linux 发行版要么拥有自己的存储库集,要么使用其父发行版的存储库向用户提供软件。

12. 启动程序(GRUB)

启动程序是一个负责启动计算机的程序。通常情况下,操作系统及其数据存储在非易失性存储磁盘中,例如硬盘。引导程序在启动时帮助加载正确的操作系统,并在内存中添加初始进程。

GRUB是在用Linux对Windows进行双启动时最常用的引导程序之一。其他例子包括LILO、BURG和Syslinux。

13. 流程

你在系统上启动的每一个程序都是作为一个进程的集合在后台运行。进程是一个正在运行的程序的基本实例,在你的计算机上进行计算。

你刚刚打开的浏览互联网的网络浏览器启动了一个进程,或一组进程,以帮助你与之互动和浏览互联网。同样,你系统的文件管理器、终端、媒体播放器和其他每一个程序都依赖于进程来产生输出。

14. shell(Bash、Zsh 等)

如前所述,shell是一个帮助你与系统互动的界面。它可以是一个像终端一样的命令行界面,也可以是一个像GNOME Shell一样的图形界面。shell还充当了你在终端中输入的任何命令的解释器。

你可以在Linux上安装几个不同的shell。例如Bash、Zsh、Fish、sh、Ksh等。每个shell都有相同的作用:帮助用户和进程与系统中的其他进程互动。

15. Shell 脚本

当您编写一组Linux命令并将它们打包到一个文件中时,生成的文件称为“shell脚本”Shell脚本是使用Linux命令编写脚本的过程,然后由安装在系统上的Shell进行解释。批处理脚本在Windows中相当于Linux上的shell脚本。

shell脚本最流行的形式是Bash脚本,它指的是使用Bash shell编写和执行脚本。Shell脚本是在Linux机器上自动执行任务的强大方式;对于用户来说,它们让计算变得更加简单和有趣。

了解了这些术语和行话,你就离成为Linux的专业人士又近了一步。为了能够充分使用Linux的潜力,你应该精通命令行,并知道如何对操作系统进行故障排除以使其为您工作,而不是添乱。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/2855.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情