4 reasons why you need to keep some free storage space on your Mac

Xiaobai Software  2022-06-21 16: 07  read 70 views

If you find that your Mac starts to run slowly, or takes a long time to boot, it's likely a storage space issue.Running out of storage space can have a lot of negative effects on your Mac, from slow startup to apps not launching and more.

 

You should keep some extra free storage space on your Mac, and as to why, let's take a look:

How much free storage space do you need on your Mac?

 

There are several factors to consider when determining the exact amount of storage you need to keep free on your Mac.It depends on the type of storage, what you often use your Mac for, and more.

In general, you should keep a good portion of your storage device empty, between 5% and 20% of the drive's total storage.Keeping this much free will allow your Mac to be used for temporary files when needed so it can work efficiently.

For example, if you have a 256GB SSD drive on your Mac, you should keep at least 13GB free at all times, preferably more.

Why does your Mac need extra free storage?

Most SSDs these days will work just fine even if you pack them to the max, since most manufacturers keep a portion of the hard drive empty for temporary files and boot issues.However, depending on your usage, this can still cause many problems with your Mac.Some of them are very obvious, while others may be hidden.

Here are the biggest reasons why you should keep free storage space on your Mac:

1. Free storage space keeps your Mac from slowing down

If your Mac is running low on storage, the first thing that will be affected will be the speed of your Mac.You'll notice that everything from booting up the Mac to loading applications runs slower.You'll also notice that Finder gets stuck or fails to load folders.If that's the case, it's best to free up some space right away to make sure your Mac is back to normal.

2. Your system will have room for temporary files

 

Macs use free storage space for temporary files and "swap" files.The swap file is used when memory is under pressure to write data to the drive.When you're doing a memory-intensive task, like editing a movie, it can take up a lot of storage space.

In this case, it's always beneficial to keep some free storage space to allow your Mac to function properly with temporary files.Otherwise, you'll find that your Mac might stop working when you throw an intensive task at it, and for that, you'll need to restart it to get it working again.

3. Smoothly upgrade your Mac software

Today, many software updates can take up gigabytes of data, which is why there must be free storage space to allow them to be downloaded.If you update your Mac's software to the latest version of macOS every year, you'll find that each installer is about 12GB in size and requires about 35GB to 45GB of free storage to actually install.So if you don't have the free storage space you need, you may not be able to upgrade to the latest version of MacOS.

4. Fewer startup problems

Another consequence of the lack of storage space on your Mac is that it can interfere with the startup process of your Mac.A slow startup can be a nuisance, especially when you want to get work done quickly.

How to check storage space on your Mac

 

macOS gives you a clear view of the available storage space on your Mac from the Apple menu.If you go to the Apple menu, click "About This Mac" to see it.Click "Storage" to see your usage profile.This is also broken down by different types of files, which allows you to see which files are taking up the most storage space.

How to Free Up Mac Disk Space

If your storage space does fill up, you might want to start freeing up some space on your Mac.This is easier said than done, but there are some immediate steps you can take.For example, enabling iCloud Drive on your Mac lets you move unused files to the cloud.Likewise, you can move non-essential data to an external drive, which will free up your disk space.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/5106.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

你需要在你的Mac上保留一些自由存储空间的4个原因

小白软件  2022-06-21 16:07  阅读 54 次浏览 次

如果你发现你的Mac开始运行缓慢,或需要很长时间才能启动,那么很可能是存储空间的问题。存储空间不足会给你的Mac带来很多负面影响,从启动速度慢到应用程序无法启动等等。

 

你应该在你的Mac上保留一些额外的自由存储空间,至于这是为什么,我们一起来看看:

你在Mac上需要多大的自由存储空间?

 

在确定您需要在Mac上保持空闲的确切存储量时,有几个因素需要考虑。这取决于存储的类型,你经常使用你的Mac做什么,以及更多。

一般来说,你应该保持你的存储设备的很大一部分是空的,占驱动器总存储量的5%到20%。保持这么多的空闲将允许你的Mac在需要时用于临时文件,这样它就能有效地工作。

例如,如果你的Mac上有一个256GB的SSD驱动器,你应该在任何时候都保持至少13GB的空闲,最好是更多。

为什么你的Mac需要额外的自由存储空间?

如今,大多数固态硬盘都能正常运行,即使你把它们装到最大限度,因为大多数制造商都保持一部分硬盘是空的,用于处理临时文件和启动问题。然而,根据你的使用情况,这仍然可能导致你的Mac出现许多问题。其中一些是非常明显的,而另一些可能是隐藏的。

以下是你应该在你的Mac上保持自由存储空间的最大原因:

1. 自由存储空间的使你的Mac不会变慢

如果你的Mac存储空间不足,首先受到影响的将是你的Mac的速度。你会注意到,从启动Mac到加载应用程序,一切都运行得比较慢。你还会注意到Finder被卡住或无法加载文件夹。如果是这种情况,最好立即释放一些空间,确保你的Mac恢复正常。

2. 你的系统将有空间容纳临时文件

 

苹果电脑将空闲存储空间用于临时文件和 "交换 "文件。交换文件是在内存有压力向驱动器写入数据时使用的。当你在做一个内存密集型的任务,如编辑电影,它可能会占用大量的存储空间。

在这种情况下,保持一些空闲的存储空间总是有益的,以使你的Mac能够通过临时文件正常运作。否则,你会发现,当你向它扔一个密集的任务时,你的Mac可能会停止工作,为此,你需要重新启动它,让它再次工作。

3. 顺利升级你的Mac软件

如今,许多软件更新可能会占用数千兆字节的数据,这就是为什么必须有自由存储空间来允许它们下载。如果你每年将Mac的软件更新到最新版本的macOS,你会发现每个安装程序的大小约为12GB,需要约35GB至45GB的自由存储空间才能真正安装。因此,如果你没有所需的自由存储空间,你可能无法升级到最新版本的MacOS。

4、启动问题更少

Mac上缺乏存储空间的另一个后果是,它可能干扰你的Mac的启动过程。启动速度较慢可能是一种困扰,特别是当你想快速完成工作的时候。

如何检查你的Mac上的存储空间

 

macOS让你从苹果菜单中清楚地了解到Mac上的可用存储空间。如果你进入苹果菜单,点击 "关于这台Mac "就可以查看。点击 "存储",可以看到你的使用概况。这也是按不同类型的文件细分的,这让你可以看到哪些文件占用了最多的存储空间。

如何释放Mac磁盘空间

如果你的存储空间确实被填满了,你可能想开始释放你的Mac上的一些空间。这说起来容易做起来难,但有一些直接的步骤你可以采取。例如,在你的Mac上启用iCloud Drive可以让你把未使用的文件转移到云端。同样,你可以将非必要的数据转移到外部驱动器,这将释放出你的磁盘空间。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/5106.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情