What is grayware and is it dangerous?

Xiaobai Software  2022-06-20 17: 25  read 93 views

As our reliance on technology increases, cybercriminals continue to increasingly exploit the unwitting through their devices.This can be achieved in a number of ways, with malware being a key method.But there are many subsets of malware, including grayware.So, what is grayware, what does it look like, and is it dangerous?

 

What is grayware?

As the name suggests, grayware programs sit between harmful and harmless software.While malware is specifically designed to cause damage to a device, this can be the case with grayware, but not always.

Grayware can cover a lot of software; from completely benign to relatively dangerous, depending on what it can do.However, it's important to keep in mind that grayware programs are generally not as harmful as malware programs (although they can be classified as malware if their effects are harmful enough).

Unlike malware, grayware can also be completely legitimate in some cases, but its ability to disrupt device operation and cause functional problems is what makes it more suspicious than normal software.

Types of Grayware

 

Here, you might be a little confused, because grayware can span such a wide range that it's hard to understand what it really means.So let's discuss some examples of grayware to better understand how it works and whether it has the potential to do a lot of damage.

1. Spyware

Spyware is commonly used software that allows malicious people to spy on unsuspecting individuals or groups.Spyware is designed to track a person's activities and retrieve private information without their consent.This private information is then either directly exploited by spyware-infected cybercriminals, or sold to other cybercriminals on illicit marketplaces (often on the dark web).

Spyware is usually installed through an application and can hide as something else.While it may cause damage to an individual's security or privacy, it usually does not harm the victim's device in any way.That's why it's considered a kind of grayware.

2. Adware

Adware is another example of grayware that uses aggressive and frequent pop-ups on your device.Of course, the goal here is to advertise, hopefully successfully promoting a company or service.These ads tend to have a distinctly dark side.For example, if adware is installed on your device, you may see a lot of get-rich-quick schemes.

But adware can also use your IP address and browser activity to tailor ads to your preferences.Targeted advertising is often used online, but this rarely involves installing malware on a person's device.

Adware is often installed without your knowledge when you download software from the Internet using illegal websites.Therefore, be wary of what you install on your device as it may bring in adware.

3. Mobile Adware

Madware (or mobile adware) is another type of grayware targeting smartphones and tablets.Like typical adware, it uses ads to profit from victims and is most prevalent on smartphones and tablets that use Android as the operating system.You can still fall victim to crazy software when using an iOS device, but this is usually less likely due to the way the software is designed.

If you see any random pop-up ads on your smartphone, it is likely that a mobile adware program is installed on your device.It's always important to only download legitimate, thoroughly vetted apps to avoid this from happening.

Grayware isn't always harmful, but it can pose risks

While grayware doesn't always negatively affect you or your device, it certainly has the ability.Certain grayware programs can invade your privacy, steal private data, and use your Internet activity to sell you products or services.Be vigilant about the software you install on your device and always make sure it's from a trusted website or vendor.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/5079.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

什么是灰色软件,它有危险吗?

小白软件  2022-06-20 17:25  阅读 71 次浏览 次

随着我们对技术依赖的增加,网络犯罪分子继续通过他们的设备越来越多地利用不知情的人。这可以通过多种方式实现,其中恶意软件是一种关键方法。但恶意软件有许多子集,包括灰色软件。那么,什么是灰色软件,它看起来像什么,它是否有危险?

 

什么是灰色软件?

顾名思义,灰色软件程序位于有害和无害软件之间。虽然恶意软件是专门为对设备造成损害而设计的,但对于灰色软件来说,情况可能是这样,但并不总是这样。

灰色软件可以涵盖很多软件;从完全良性的,到相对危险的,取决于它能做什么。但是,需要要记住的是,灰色软件程序通常不像恶意软件程序那样有害(尽管如果它们的影响足够有害,可以被归类为恶意软件)。

与恶意软件不同,灰色软件在某些情况下也可以是完全合法的,但其破坏设备运行并导致功能问题的能力是使其比普通软件更可疑的原因。

灰色软件的类型

 

在这里,你可能会有点困惑,因为灰色软件可能跨越的范围很广,让人难以理解它的真正含义。因此,让我们讨论一些灰色软件的例子,以更好地了解它是如何工作的,以及它是否有可能造成很大的损害。

1. 间谍软件

间谍软件是一种常用的软件,它允许恶意的人监视毫无戒心的个人或群体。间谍软件被设计用来跟踪一个人的活动,并在未经他们同意的情况下检索私人信息。然后,这些私人信息要么被感染了间谍软件的网络犯罪分子直接利用,要么在非法市场(通常在暗网上)出售给其他网络犯罪分子。

间谍软件通常是通过一个应用程序安装的,可以隐藏为其他东西。虽然它可能对个人的安全或隐私造成损害,但它通常不会以任何方式损害受害者的设备。这就是为什么它被认为是一种灰色软件。

2. 广告软件

广告软件是灰色软件的另一个例子,它在你的设备上使用咄咄逼人的频繁弹出窗口。当然,这里的目标是做广告,希望能成功推广一个公司或服务。这些广告往往会有明显的阴暗面。例如,如果广告软件安装在你的设备上,你可能会看到很多快速致富的计划。

但广告软件也可以利用你的IP地址和浏览器活动,根据你的喜好定制广告。有针对性的广告通常在网上使用,但这很少涉及在一个人的设备上安装恶意软件。

当你使用非法网站从互联网上下载软件时,广告软件往往在不知情的情况下被安装。因此,要对你安装到设备上的内容保持警惕,因为这可能会带来广告软件。

3. 移动广告软件

Madware(或移动广告软件)是另一种针对智能手机和平板电脑的灰色软件。与典型的广告软件一样,它也是利用广告从受害者身上获利,在使用安卓作为操作系统的智能手机和平板电脑上最为普遍。在使用iOS设备时,你仍然可能成为疯狂软件的受害者,但由于软件的设计方式,这种可能性通常较小。

如果你在你的智能手机上看到任何随机弹出的广告,很可能是一个移动广告软件程序被安装在你的设备上。只下载合法的、经过彻底审查的应用程序,以避免这种情况的发生,这一点始终很重要。

灰色软件并不总是有害的,但会带来风险

虽然灰色软件并不总是对你或你的设备产生负面影响,但它肯定有能力。某些灰色软件程序可以侵犯你的隐私,窃取私人数据,并利用你的互联网活动向你出售产品或服务。对你安装在设备上的软件保持警惕,并始终确保它是由一个值得信赖的网站或供应商提供的。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/5079.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情