10 common computer myths you need to stop believing

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-22 19: 32  read 101 views

For most tech enthusiasts, computers are relatively simple machines that can be bought, operated, and (in most cases) understood.For the average, non-tech-oriented consumer, however, they're terrifying devices made even more terrifying due to jargon, misunderstandings, and downright fallacies.

So here we're going to clear things up by debunking ten of the most common computer fallacies that still exist.

1. You need to defragment the drive frequently

 

Windows computers have a built-in defrag tool that runs automatically in the background on a pre-set schedule.On macOS, Macs have a file system (macOS HFS+) that automatically defragments files in a process known as HFC or Hot File Adaptive Clustering.

Also, many modern computers now come with solid-state drives or flash memory, and you shouldn't be defragmenting them -- it will literally destroy your solid-state drive.

2. More (cores, memory, etc.) is always faster

 

Adding more memory will make your computer work more efficiently by reducing its reliance on virtual memory.By doing this, your computer will feel faster.

On the other hand, the kernel is a somewhat complex package.Quality matters, and high-end quad-core processors almost always outperform low-end octa-core processors.

Also, the word "better" means different things to different users, and while more cores are better in the sense of running most programs, there are trade-offs in other areas, like battery life.

While more is usually better, this is not the case all the time.

3. Viruses and spyware make your computer slow

 

Whenever a PC user experiences any slowdown, the first cause that comes to mind is malware.

While it's always possible for a computer to get infected, modern malware is mostly profit-oriented, so letting it quietly hide in the background is what its creators intended.Therefore, you usually won't notice any performance degradation due to infection.

Instead, it's more likely that your PC is slowing down due to too many programs running at the same time, unnecessary plugins and add-ons taking up CPU usage, lack of available memory or disk space, or hardware issues.It could also just be that your computer is aging and it's time to replace it.

4. To protect yourself from the vulnerability, please use Firefox/Safari/Chrome/IE

 

The "X" browser is more secure than the "Y" browser is a comparison and has little to do with the consumer using it.Browsers are just an execution environment for JavaScript, so they are all equally at risk of being exploited and attacked.

It's also important to note that most browser-based attacks are through browser add-ons and plug-ins, not the browser itself.To protect yourself, buy a good antivirus that detects online malware and local infections.

 

You should have seen this ad: "Download the X-Junk Removing Crapware Program and get 300x faster".These programs promise to clean up registry errors, download driver updates, uninstall programs you can't uninstall manually, or clean up your PC for "issues" of dubious origin and purpose.

What are the facts?It's crap software, and you don't need it no matter what OS you're using.

These programs are often used to deliver malware, such as spyware or adware, and rarely do anything useful, if at all.Registry keys are small, and deleting them frees up negligible space with no performance benefit.

Driver update?If prompted or encounter errors with peripherals, you can download these yourself.

Paid uninstaller?unnecessary.If you can't completely uninstall an app, the files they leave behind are usually in the registry and are too small to worry about.

Cleaner?The problem they actually clear is often not a problem at all, but a problem that makes them feel like they're worth the money or download.

6. Macs are better than PCs/Macs are overpriced junk

 

A Mac is a PC, just a PC running macOS instead of Windows or Linux.That being the case, it's impossible to say they're better than Windows PCs.

However, we can discuss whether they are overpriced junk or even if they are overpriced.While they're certainly not budget PCs, the so-called "Apple tax" has been effectively eliminated, and most Apple devices are practically priced on par with their Windows counterparts.

7. You don’t need antivirus software

 

The two most common reasons for not needing antivirus software are usually. "I'm on a Mac, and the Mac doesn't get viruses, or I don't do anything online that could get infected."

Both statements are completely incorrect.You always need an antivirus program.

Let's tackle the problem for Mac users first. Macs used to be relatively immune to viruses, but not for other reasons, but because virus writers were more time-efficient to infect Windows-based PCs because they completely dominated the market.

As macOS continues to gain more market share than Windows, hackers have taken notice, so suddenly Macs are not so immune.

You need to understand one thing: using a computer is never safe.Every time you turn on your machine, you take a calculated risk that you won't do anything that causes your machine to become infected.

Denying access to unsafe or unknown websites is not enough to protect you from all threats.In fact, neither can antivirus software, but it certainly helps.

8. Deleting your hard drive is actually deleting them / using magnets to securely delete data

 

It's comforting to all of us to know that anything we delete from our computer is gone forever.Unfortunately, this is not the case.

When you delete data, visible traces of its existence may disappear, but due to the way data storage works, the actual data remains until it is overwritten.

You can think of your data as a footprint on a dusty floor.When you leave the room, your footprints are still there, but as more people enter, they start covering yours with their own.

This is quite similar to how data storage works.Deleted files are marked as free space on your drive, allowing data to be overwritten.This will happen eventually, but until then, the data can still be recovered.

To actually delete your data, some people suggest using a magnet.The idea would have worked well if we were still using floppy disks, but with modern hard drives or flash devices, magnets are a pretty ineffective way of destroying data.Instead, experts recommend using one of two methods:

1. Use a program that makes multiple passes on your hard drive, overwriting it with a series of 1s and 0s, until it can't be recovered.

2. Take your power drill and drill 10 to 12 holes in the hard drive, making sure to spread them out, not in a straight line.

9. Regularly turning the computer on and off is bad / not shutting it off at night is bad

 

There is no absolute truth here: turning your computer on and putting it to sleep when not in use is a safe and effective way to avoid regularly turning it on and off.In sleep mode, minimal system resources and battery consumption/power consumption are used.

On the other hand, if you don't need to run your computer, you should shut it down from time to time.Every computer component has a finite useful life; turning off the computer when it is not needed will make the components last longer.

10. It’s cheaper to build your own computer

Years ago, this was largely true.Today, it's often cheaper to buy a budget PC in a pre-built model.You can still save money building a higher-end machine, but for most consumer-driven PC models, it's usually better to buy one when it's on sale.

That's not to say that building your own PC isn't worth it.Building your own might be the best option for those who like to experience it for themselves or just want to customize the machine to their liking.

Get rid of these misconceptions and enjoy your PC

Believing fallacies about computers can affect your overall experience, besides, why follow something that doesn't even help?So, enjoy your computer and don't worry about these rumors.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3503.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

你需要停止相信的10个常见的关于计算机的谬论

小白软件  2022-04-22 19:32  阅读 75 次浏览 次

对于大多数技术爱好者来说,计算机是相对简单的机器,可以购买、操作,并且(在大多数情况下)理解。然而,对于非技术导向的普通消费者来说,它们是可怕的设备,由于术语、误解和彻头彻尾的谬论而变得更加可怕。

因此,在这里我们将通过揭穿仍然存在的十个最普遍的计算机谬论来澄清事实。

1.您需要经常对驱动器进行碎片整理

 

Windows电脑有一个内置的碎片整理工具,可以在后台按照预先设定的时间表自动运行。在MacOS上,Mac有一个文件系统(macOS HFS+),在一个被称为HFC或热文件自适应集群的过程中自动对文件进行碎片整理。

此外,许多现代计算机现在都带有固态硬盘或闪存,你不应该对其进行碎片整理--它实际上会毁掉你的固态硬盘。

2. 更多(内核、内存等)总是更快

 

添加更多内存将使您的计算机通过减少对虚拟内存的依赖而更有效地工作。 通过这样做,您的计算机会感觉运行得更快。

另一方面,内核是一个有点复杂的包。 质量很重要,高端四核处理器几乎一直都优于低端八核处理器。

此外,"更好 "这个词对不同的用户意味着不同的东西,虽然更多的内核在运行大多数程序的意义上是更好的,但在其他方面也有取舍,如电池寿命。

虽然通常情况下越多越好,但并不是所有时候都是如此。

3. 病毒和间谍软件使你的电脑运行缓慢

 

每当个人电脑用户遇到任何速度减慢的情况时,最先想到的原因是恶意软件。

虽然计算机总是有可能被感染,但现代恶意软件大多以获取利益为导向,所以让它悄悄地隐藏在后台符合创造者的初衷。因此,你通常不会注意到由于感染而导致的任何性能下降。

相反,更有可能的是,你的电脑由于同时运行太多程序、不必要的插件和附加组件占用了CPU使用率、缺乏可用的内存或磁盘空间或硬件问题而变慢。也可能只是你的电脑在老化,是时候更换它了。

4. 为保护自己不受漏洞影响,请使用Firefox/Safari/Chrome/IE

 

"X "浏览器比 "Y "浏览器更安全是一种比较,与使用它的消费者没有什么关系。浏览器只是JavaScript的一个执行环境,因此,它们都同样面临着被利用和攻击的风险。

同样重要的是要注意,大多数基于浏览器的攻击是通过浏览器的附加组件和插件,而不是浏览器本身。为了保护自己,请买一个好的杀毒软件,检测在线恶意软件和本地感染。

 

你应该见过这样的广告:"下载X-Junk Removing Crapware Program,速度提高300倍"。这些程序承诺清理注册表错误,下载驱动程序更新,卸载你无法手动卸载的程序,或清理你的电脑中来源和目的可疑的 "问题"。

事实是什么?这是垃圾软件,无论你使用的是什么操作系统,都不需要它。

这些程序通常被用来传递恶意软件,如间谍软件或广告软件,而且很少做任何有益的事情,如果有的话。注册表项很小,删除它们可以释放出微不足道的空间,对性能没有任何好处。

驱动程序更新?如果有提示或遇到外围设备的错误,你可以自己下载这些。

付费的卸载程序?不需要。如果你不能完全卸载一个应用程序,它们留下的文件通常在注册表中,而且太小,不用担心。

清洁器?它们实际清除的问题通常根本不是问题,而是让人觉得它们值得花钱或下载的问题。

6. Macs比PC好/Macs是价格过高的垃圾

 

Mac 是 PC,只是运行 macOS 而不是 Windows 或 Linux 的 PC。既然如此,就不可能说它们比Windows PC更好。

然而,我们可以讨论它们是否是价格过高的垃圾,甚至它们的价格是否过高。虽然它们肯定不是经济型PC,但所谓的 "苹果税 "已经被有效地消除了,大多数苹果设备的价格实际上与Windows的同类产品相当。

7.你不需要杀毒软件

 

不需要杀毒软件的两个最常见的理由通常是。"我用的是Mac,Mac不会感染病毒,或者我在网上不做任何会被感染的事情。"

这两种说法都是完全不正确的。你总是需要一个防病毒程序。

让我们先解决Mac用户的问题。Mac曾经对病毒有相对的免疫力,但这并不是由于其他原因,而是由于病毒编写者对基于Windows的个人电脑的感染更省时,因为他们完全统治了市场。

随着macOS继续获得比Windows更多的市场份额,黑客们已经注意到了,所以,突然间Mac就不再那么有免疫力了。

你需要明白一点:使用电脑永远不会安全。每次你打开你的机器,你都要承担一个计算过的风险,即你不会做任何导致你的机器被感染的事情。

拒绝访问不安全或者来历不明的的网站,并不足以使你免受所有威胁。事实上,杀毒软件也不能,但它肯定有帮助。

8. 删除硬盘上的内容实际上是在删除它们/使用磁铁安全地删除数据

 

如果知道我们从电脑上删除的任何东西都永远消失了,这对我们所有人来说都是安慰。不幸的是,情况并非如此。

当你删除数据时,其存在的可见痕迹可能会消失,但由于数据存储的工作方式,实际的数据仍然存在,直到它被覆盖。

你可以把你的数据想象成尘土飞扬的地板上的一个脚印。当你离开房间时,你的脚印仍然存在,但随着越来越多的人进入,他们开始用自己的脚印覆盖你的脚印。

这与数据存储的工作方式相当相似。删除的文件被标记为你的驱动器上的可用空间,允许数据被覆盖。这最终会发生,但在这之前,数据仍然可以恢复。

要真正删除你的数据,有人建议使用磁铁。如果我们还在使用软盘,这个想法会很有效,但对于现代硬盘或闪存设备,磁铁是一种相当无效的销毁数据的方法。相反,专家建议使用以下两种方法之一:

1.  使用一个程序,在你的硬盘上进行多次传递,用一系列的1和0来覆盖它,直到它无法恢复。

2.  拿起你的电钻,在硬盘上钻10到12个孔,并确保将它们分散开来,而不是在一条直线上。

9.  定期打开和关闭电脑是不好的/晚上不关电脑是不好的

 

这里没有绝对的真理:让你的计算机开机并在不使用时让它进入睡眠状态是一种安全有效的方法,可以避免定期打开和关闭它。 在睡眠模式下,使用的系统资源和电池消耗/功耗最小。

另一方面,如果不需要运行计算机,则应不时关闭计算机。 每个计算机组件都有有限的使用寿命; 在不需要时关闭计算机将使组件的使用寿命更长一些。

10. 自己组装电脑会更省钱

多年前,这在很大程度上是正确的。今天,购买预制型号的经济型PC通常更便宜。你仍然可以省钱构建一个更高端的机器,但对于大多数消费者驱动的PC模型来说,通常在打折的时候买一个更好。

这并不是说构建自己的 PC 不值得。对于那些喜欢亲身体验或只想根据自己的喜好定制机器的人来说,构建自己的机器可能是最好的选择。

摆脱这些误解并享受您的PC

相信关于电脑的谬论会影响你的整体经验,此外,为什么要遵循那些甚至没有帮助的东西呢?所以,尽情享受你的电脑吧,不必担心这些谣言。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3503.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情