What is Samsung DeX?You can use it to turn your phone into a computer

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-08 13: 57  read 225 views

Are you looking for a phone or tablet with a little more than usual?Need a device that boosts your productivity without distracting you with a ton of apps?

Did you know that modern Samsung phones have a desktop mode feature called DeX?Samsung's 2018 flagship devices come with DeX, a hidden mode that, when activated, provides a more traditional computing experience.

But what is DeX, how to start it, and what it can do for you?Let's take a look together:

What is Samsung DeX?

 

One of the many features of the Samsung Galaxy Sx and Samsung Galaxy Tab Sx series (starting with the S8), Samsung DeX is basically a desktop mode.You can enable it manually, or configure it to turn on when certain devices are connected.

This means, for example, after using your phone to make a call or update your Facebook status, you can connect your device to the dock and use it like a PC with a connected monitor, keyboard and mouse.

If you're using a cell phone, take the time to configure those devices first.Once you dock the device, the phone screen goes black, so you won't be able to set up the Bluetooth hardware.

If you don't have a keyboard and mouse to access the DeX desktop environment, don't worry.You can use your phone as an input device.

How Samsung DeX Improves Productivity

With a tablet that instantly transforms into a compact laptop-like device or a phone that transforms into a desktop computer, your productivity is bound to skyrocket.

While all the apps and games of a tablet are available to you, a desktop environment is better for productivity.Once your mouse and keyboard are connected, you can instantly launch an email client, word processor, spreadsheet application, or whatever tool you want to use.

 

So whether you're using these features from your TV, using your phone as a portable PC, or working on a tablet, you'll be amazed at how Samsung DeX makes it easy to get real work tasks done with Android.

DeX offers a Windows-like desktop experience, with open applications clustered in the lower left corner, and access to notifications that the Windows system tray can be found.Open the app tray via a grid-like button.

Dex allows you to display multiple applications on your desktop, either in windowed or full-screen mode.Ultimately, it feels like you're using a standard computer, not a tablet.

Which phones support Samsung DeX?

DeX is currently only available on Samsung devices released in 2018 and later, however, not all devices.Currently, it exists on Galaxy S8/S8 and later, Note 8 and later, and Tab S4 and later tablets.

 

To use DeX on your phone, you'll need to connect the USB-C port on the device to an HDMI display.You can use Samsung's proprietary DeX cable, which is a docking station with USB and HDMI ports for connecting other devices; or a third-party dock.

How to Boot the DeX System on Your Samsung Galaxy Sx Phone or Tablet

DeX is an alternative mode for Samsung Android devices.Samsung claims this gives you "tablet-like mobility with the full productivity of a computer"

This means that if you pair a Bluetooth keyboard with a tablet, you can switch to DeX mode.Essentially, a Samsung tablet running Android turns into a small laptop, much like the keyboard that comes with the Microsoft Surface.

Before using DeX, make sure you have:

1. Adapter cable, docking station or USB hub (most laptop USB hubs will work with Android)

2. An HDMI cable

3. A USB-C cable

4. Keyboard and Mouse (Here's how to connect a wired USB keyboard via the USB-C port)

Next, you can try starting DeX:

1. Pull down from the top of the screen with two fingers to open the extended quick settings tray

2. findSamsung DeXbutton (you may need to swipe left)

 

 

3. ClickSamsung DeX, switch to desktop mode

4 If you do not have a physical keyboard, tap the icon in the lower left corner of the display to launch the Samsung DeX keyboard.If you need to manage DeX settings, press and hold the button.Alternatively, enable Samsung DeX in Settings > Advanced Features.

Configure Samsung DeX settings

DeX settings allow you to determine the behavior of the application.

For example, DeX can be turned on and off.There's also an auto-start, cover keyboard connection switch, and an auto-start, HDMI connection switch.

Both options are useful either alone or in combination, especially when docking a Samsung device with a USB hub or ducking station.

You can also specify a screen timeout for connected monitors (10 minutes delay by default), select and set a new wallpaper for Samsung DeX when DeX is enabled, adjust monitor resolution, adjust keyboard, mouse/trackpad and S Pen Input mode settings. Samsung DeX settings also allow you to toggle whether the environment can play sound on a connected display, and new features can be accessed through the Samsung DeX Labs submenu.

The downsides of Samsung DeX

While the DeX experience is solid, it's hard to shake the perception that you're using Android.A key downside is that DeX doesn't accept many Android gestures when using the app, since the interface is mouse and keyboard oriented.

Meanwhile, while some apps work fine in DeX, some are stuck in portrait mode.To make matters worse, there are also some that won't open at all.

In a pinch, however, Samsung DeX can provide a useful desktop experience.In short, when you have this software as an option, you are not without a computer.Freelancers, keen office workers, and frequent flyers may find DeX extremely valuable.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3054.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

什么是三星DeX?你可以用它把你的手机变成一台电脑

小白软件  2022-04-08 13:57  阅读 109 次浏览 次

你在寻找一款比平常更多一点的手机或平板电脑吗?需要一个能提高你的工作效率的设备,而不是用一大堆应用程序分散你的注意力?

你知道现代三星手机有一个叫DeX的桌面模式功能吗?三星2018年的旗舰设备配备了DeX,这是一种隐藏模式,激活后可以提供更传统的计算体验。

但什么是DeX,如何启动它,以及它能为你做什么?我们一起来看看:

什么是三星DeX?

 

三星Galaxy Sx和三星Galaxy Tab Sx系列(从S8开始)的众多功能之一,三星DeX基本上是一种桌面模式。你可以手动启用它,或将其配置为在连接某些设备时打开。

这意味着,例如,在使用手机拨打电话或更新Facebook状态后,您可以将设备连接到dock,并通过连接的显示器、键盘和鼠标像PC一样使用它。

如果您正在使用手机,请先花时间配置这些设备。一旦你将设备对接,手机屏幕就会变黑,因此你将无法设置蓝牙硬件。

如果你没有键盘和鼠标来访问DeX桌面环境,别担心。您可以将手机用作输入设备。

三星DeX如何提高生产力

使用可立即转换为类似笔记本电脑的紧凑型设备的平板电脑或可转换为台式计算机的手机,你的工作效率必将飞速增长。

虽然平板电脑的所有应用程序和游戏都可供你使用,但桌面环境更适合提高生产力。 连接鼠标和键盘后,你可以立即启动电子邮件客户端、文字处理器、电子表格应用程序或任何你想使用的工具。

 

因此,无论你是通过电视使用这些功能,还是将手机用作便携式PC,还是在平板电脑上工作,你都会惊讶于三星DeX如何使使用安卓系统完成真正的工作任务变得简单。

DeX 提供了类似 Windows 的桌面体验,打开的应用程序聚集在左下角,并且可以访问可以找到 Windows 系统托盘的通知。 通过类似网格的按钮打开应用程序托盘。

Dex 允许您在桌面上显示多个应用程序,无论是窗口模式还是全屏模式。 最终,感觉就像您使用的是标准计算机,而不是平板电脑。

哪些手机支持三星DeX?

DeX 目前仅在 2018 年及以后发布的三星设备上可用,但是,并不是所有设备。 目前,它存在于 Galaxy S8/S8 及更高版本、Note 8 及更高版本以及 Tab S4 及后续平板电脑上。

 

要在手机上使用DeX,您需要将设备上的USB-C端口连接到HDMI显示屏。您可以使用三星(Samsung)的专用DeX电缆,该电缆是一个docking station,带有USB和HDMI端口,用于连接其他设备;也可以使用第三方dock。

如何在你的三星Galaxy Sx手机或平板电脑上启动DeX系统

DeX是三星安卓设备的替代模式。三星声称,这让你“拥有平板电脑般的移动性,拥有电脑的全部生产力”

这意味着,如果将蓝牙键盘与平板电脑配对,就可以切换到DeX模式。本质上,运行安卓系统的三星平板电脑会变成一台小型笔记本电脑,就像微软Surface附带键盘一样。

在使用 DeX 之前,请确保你拥有:

1.  适配器电缆、docking station或USB集线器(大多数笔记本电脑的USB集线器都能与安卓系统一起使用)

2.  一条HDMI线

3.  一条USB-C电缆

4.  键盘和鼠标(以下是如何通过USB-C端口连接有线USB键盘的方法)

接下来,你可以尝试启动DeX:

1.  用两根手指从屏幕顶部向下拉,打开扩展的快速设置托盘

2.  找到Samsung DeX按钮(你可能需要向左滑动)

 

 

3.  点击Samsung DeX,切换到桌面模式

4  如果你没有物理键盘,点击显示屏左下角的图标,启动Samsung DeX键盘。如果你需要管理DeX设置,请长按该按钮。或者,在设置>高级功能中启用Samsung DeX。

配置三星DeX设置

DeX设置允许你确定应用程序的行为。

例如,可以打开和关闭DeX。还有一个自动启动时,封面键盘连接开关,以及一个自动启动时,HDMI连接开关。

这两个选项无论是单独使用还是结合使用都很有用,尤其是在将三星设备与USB集线器或ducking station对接时。

你还可以为连接的显示器指定屏幕超时(默认情况下延迟10分钟),在启用DeX时,为三星DeX选择并设置新的壁纸,调整显示器分辨率,调整键盘、鼠标/触控板和S笔输入模式设置。Samsung DeX设置还允许你切换环境是否可以在连接的显示器上播放声音,并且可以通过Samsung DeX Labs子菜单访问新功能。

三星DeX的不足之处

虽然DeX的体验很可靠,但很难摆脱你在使用安卓系统的认知。一个关键的缺点是,DeX在使用应用程序时不接受许多Android手势,因为界面是面向鼠标和键盘的。

同时,尽管一些应用程序在DeX中运行良好,但有些却停留在纵向模式。更糟糕的是,还有一些根本无法打开。

然而,在紧要关头,Samsung DeX可以提供一个有用的桌面体验。简而言之,当你有这个软件作为选择时,你就不会没有电脑。自由职业者、热衷于办公的人和经常飞行的人可能会发现DeX非常有价值。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3054.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情