How to use Google Drive on the desktop

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-08 11: 27  read 175 views

Google Drive allows you to easily access and use your cloud storage files and is one of the most widely used cloud storage services.Users with a Google account can use it to store and share files across multiple devices and platforms.

Next, we'll show you how to use this extremely useful tool on your desktop computer, be it Mac or Windows.

How to Download and Install Google Drive on Desktop

To download and install Google Drive on your desktop, here's how:

1. Go to the download page of Google Drive and click to download the desktop version of Drive.The website is smart and it will instantly recognize your operating system, be it Windows or macOS.It will then download the appropriate file type for your operating system.

 

2. In the next window, select the folder where you want to save the installation file and click Save.The file should be named GoogleDriveSetup.exe for Windows and GoogleDrive.dmg for Mac.You can also choose to open the file automatically after downloading.

 

3. Next, click Install to start the installation.On macOS, an additional window will pop up that requires your Mac password to confirm the installation.Enter the password and click Install Software.

 

4. After the installation is complete, a new drive, usually named Google Drive (G:) will be added to your Windows desktop.For macOS, a Google Drive icon will appear in the top menu bar of your Mac.

5. Sign in with your Google account to complete the installation.If you're on Windows, you'll be redirected to your browser, which will open the login page.To access the login page on macOS, click the Google Drive icon in the top menu bar.After logging in, you have successfully installed Google Drive on your desktop.

How to use the desktop version of Google Drive

you can useGoogle Drive for DesktopSync all your Google Drive files and folders to your computer, or upload files to your Drive from your desktop.Because Drive for Desktop is a sync service, it will automatically sync local files to the cloud in the background, which minimizes the time you need to spend waiting for files to sync.

To upload files to your drive, open your drive, select Settings (gear icon) and click Preferences.On a Mac, select your computer from the left sidebar and click Add Folder.Here, your system will bring up your files directory and you can select the folders you want to sync to Google Drive.

Select Sync with Google Drive if you want to upload all the files in the folder to the cloud.If you only want to sync photos and videos, select the Backup to Google Photos option.

 

On Windows, just right-click on any folder you want to sync to Google Drive and select Sync or Backup This Folder.You'll see the same page as the one shot above, and you can directly select the folder you'd like to sync to Drive.

Remember, Google Drive is a sync service, not a backup service.This means that any modification you make to a file on one device will be replicated on all the other devices you're logged into.For example, if you edit or delete a file on your desktop, those changes will also be reflected on your smartphone.

How to Pause Google Drive Desktop Sync Jobs

Sometimes, you may want to pause syncing to Google Drive to save data or storage space.To do this, here's how:

1. Open the desktop version of Drive.

2. Tap Settings (gear icon), then Pause Sync.When you want to resume syncing again, just repeat these steps and click Resume syncing.

A word of caution: Google only offers 15GB of free storage on Drive.If that's not enough for you, you can increase your Google Cloud storage by purchasing more storage from Google, or free up some space on Drive by cleaning up some files.

Access your files from any device

Having Google Drive on your desktop means you can keep your files on all your devices, so you can access files, photos and videos whenever you need them.This will greatly improve your work efficiency.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3047.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

如何在桌面上使用Google Drive

小白软件  2022-04-08 11:27  阅读 107 次浏览 次

Google Drive让你可以轻松访问和使用你的云存储文件,是使用最广泛的云存储服务之一。拥有谷歌账户的用户可以用它在多个设备和平台上存储和共享文件。

接下来,我们将告诉你如何在你的台式电脑上使用这个极其有用的工具,无论是Mac还是Windows。

如何在桌面上下载和安装 Google Drive

要在你的桌面上下载和安装Google Drive,方法如下:

1.  进入Google Drive的下载页面,点击下载桌面版Drive。该网站是智能的,它将立即识别你的操作系统,无论是Windows还是macOS。然后,它将为你的操作系统下载适当的文件类型。

 

2.  在下一个窗口,选择你要保存安装文件的文件夹,然后点击保存。对于 Windows,该文件应命名为 GoogleDriveSetup.exe,对于 Mac,应命名为 GoogleDrive.dmg。你也可以选择在下载后自动打开该文件。

 

3.  接下来,单击Install开始安装。在macOS上,会弹出一个额外的窗口,需要你的Mac密码来确认安装。输入密码,然后单击安装软件。

 

4.  安装完成后,一个新的驱动器,通常被命名为谷歌驱动器(G:)将被添加到你的Windows桌面上。对于macOS,一个Google Drive的图标将出现在你的Mac顶部菜单栏。

5.  用你的谷歌账户登录以完成安装。如果你在Windows上,你会被重定向到你的浏览器,这将打开登录页面。要访问macOS上的登录页面,点击顶部菜单栏中的Google Drive图标。登录完成后,你就在桌面上成功安装了Google Drive。

如何使用桌面版 Google Drive

你可以使用Google Drive for Desktop将你所有的Google Drive文件和文件夹同步到你的电脑上,或者从桌面上传文件到你的Drive。因为Drive for Desktop是一项同步服务,它将在后台自动将本地文件同步到云端,这最大限度地减少了你需要花费的等待文件同步的时间。

要把文件上传到你的驱动器,打开你的驱动器,选择设置(齿轮图标)并点击偏好。在Mac上,从左侧边栏选择你的电脑,然后点击添加文件夹。在这里,你的系统会调出你的文件目录,你可以选择你想同步到谷歌硬盘的文件夹。

如果你想把文件夹里的所有文件上传到云端,请选择与Google Drive同步。如果你只想同步照片和视频,选择备份到谷歌照片选项。

 

在Windows上,只需右键点击你想同步到Google Drive的任何文件夹,然后选择同步或备份此文件夹。你会看到与上面拍摄的相同的页面,你可以直接选择你想同步到Drive的文件夹。

请记住,Google Drive是一个同步服务,而不是一个备份服务。这意味着,你在一台设备上对文件所做的任何修改都会在你登录的所有其他设备上复制。例如,如果你在桌面上编辑或删除一个文件,这些变化也会反映在你的智能手机上。

如何暂停Google Drive桌面版的同步工作

有时,你可能想暂停同步到Google Drive,以节省数据或存储空间。要做到这一点,方法如下:

1.  打开桌面版的Drive。

2.  点击设置(齿轮图标),然后暂停同步。当你想再次恢复同步时,只需重复这些步骤并点击恢复同步即可。

需要注意的是:谷歌在Drive上只提供15GB的免费存储空间。如果这对你来说还不够,你可以通过从谷歌购买更多的存储空间来增加谷歌云存储空间,或者通过清理一些文件来释放Drive上的一些空间。

从任何设备访问你的文件

在你的桌面上有Google Drive意味着你可以在你所有的设备上保持你的文件,所以你可以在需要时随时访问文件、照片和视频。这将大大提高你的工作效率。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3047.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情