iCloud Drive vs Google One: Which cloud storage service should you choose for your Mac?

Xiaobai Software  2022-03-24 22: 37  read 180 views

With so many services out there, you might be confused about which cloud storage to use.Most users prefer to use Apple's iCloud Drive service because it integrates well with the Apple ecosystem.However, other options may also be good, such as Google Drive, Dropbox, etc.

Given that Apple and Google's products are the most popular, we'll take a closer look at Apple'siCloud DriveCompare with Google's Mac One service.

what is iCloud Drive andGoogle One?

Both Apple and Google offer top-notch cloud storage capabilities through their online services.Apple's iCloud Drive mainly provides online cloud storage for Apple users.However, the service can also be accessed and used from Windows and Android platforms.

Google recently rebranded its online cloud service from Google DriveGoogle One, to clarify that the space is shared between its different services such as Gmail, Photos, Documents, etc. Google Drive now only refers to the Google Drive application for managing online files.

特点

 

iCloud Drive and Google One have similar capabilities when it comes to cloud storage, and both services allow you to upload, sync, and keep your data in their cloud storage.You can optionally enable file syncing, which automatically syncs your online folders with your Mac, allowing real-time data backup.

Again, both services integrate with productivity apps, home sharing, file versioning, and custom file sharing link sharing.

Another great thing about Google One, however, is that you can log into multiple accounts and easily swap between them.This makes it easier to collaborate and work on multiple accounts.

Safety

 

From a security point of view, Apple's platform should be much more secure than Google's platform.Nearly all data stored on iCloud servers is encrypted in transit and at rest according to the 128-bit AES standard. iCloud also has some security features, including iCloud Keychain, Safari History, Wi-Fi passwords, which are all end-to-end encrypted.

Google also encrypts data in transit and at rest, but it doesn't offer end-to-end encryption.This means that your data may be accessed by Google employees or by anyone (including law enforcement) to whom Google has provided data to you.While the odds of this happening are very small, it's still a possibility.

macOS integration

 

Compared with Google Drive, Apple's iCloud Drive is naturally more integrated into the Apple ecosystem.All your synced files are available on all your Apple devices (via the Files app).Photos, eBooks, music, and more are also available through iCloud Sync, which is a boon for many.

All functions run almost entirely in the background, which makes using it a breeze.All of your iCloud Drive files are also accessible via a web browser, so you can choose to log in and access them from another PC if needed.

Google One does offer integration and syncing to your Mac through its Google Drive for the desktop app.While it works well, it doesn't integrate as well as iCloud Drive, so Apple has a slight edge in this regard.

Performance

Both iCloud Drive and Google One offer good performance with good upload/download speeds and other features.However, some users have complained that the Google One can sometimes be a bit slow when uploading data, and while this doesn't happen often, you should keep that in mind.

Price

 

iCloud only offers 5GB of free storage by default.That's fine if you need to store some files and documents, but ridiculously small if you want to store photos or videos.That 5GB also includes backups of any iPhone or iPad you might have, so you can imagine how limited you are.

If you want to upgrade, it's $50 per month for 0.99GB, $200 ​​per month for 2.99GB, and $2 per month for 9.99TB.Family Sharing is also enabled on the latter two plans, which means your total storage can be shared with your family members, and your data remains private.

If you choose to upgrade your iCloud storage, you also get an extra feature called iCloud+.These features include iCloud Private Relay, free storage for HomeKit-enabled security cameras, Hide My Email feature, and more.

On the other hand, Google One offers all users 15GB of free startup space, which is much better than the 5GB offered by Apple.If you still want to upgrade, 100GB is $1.99 per month, 200GB is $2.99, 2TB is $9.99, and 10TB is $99.99.

Google One storage plans can also be shared among up to five family members, which might make sense if you're looking to divide up your storage space.However, for normal use, 15GB may be enough, and you probably won't need to spend the extra at all.

in conclusion

If you want to use cloud storage on your Mac computer, there is no doubt that iCloud Drive is the better choice.The fact that it was developed by Apple and integrates perfectly with macOS makes it a winner in this case.

However, if you want to use it on a different device, it's completely different.Outside of the Apple ecosystem, you can have a hard time using iCloud's services because they don't work as efficiently as Google One does on a variety of devices.

As with almost everything these days, no service is perfect and everything has its pros and cons.In this case, you can use both iCloud Drive and Google One as your cloud storage services.

 

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/2554.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

iCloud Drive与Google One:您应该为您的Mac选择哪种云存储服务?

小白软件  2022-03-24 22:37  阅读 103 次浏览 次

在众多的服务中,您可能对决定使用哪种云存储感到困惑。大多数用户更喜欢使用 Apple 的 iCloud Drive 服务,因为它与 Apple 生态系统很好地集成在一起。 但是,其他选择可能也不错,比如 Google Drive、Dropbox 等。

鉴于 Apple 和 Google 的产品最受欢迎,下面我们将对苹果的iCloud Drive和和 Google 的 Mac One 服务进行比较。

什么是iCloud Drive和Google One

苹果和谷歌都通过其在线服务提供一流的云存储功能。苹果的iCloud Drive主要为苹果用户提供在线云存储。然而,该服务也可以从Windows和Android平台上访问和使用。

谷歌最近将其在线云服务的品牌从Google Drive更名为Google One,以澄清该空间是在其不同服务(如Gmail、照片、文档等)之间共享的。Google Drive现在只指用于管理在线文件的Google Drive应用程序。

特点

 

iCloud Drive和Google One在云存储方面有类似的功能,这两项服务都允许您上传、同步,并将您的数据保存在其云存储中。您可以选择启用文件同步,自动将您的在线文件夹与您的Mac同步,允许实时数据备份。

同样,这两项服务都与生产力应用程序、家庭共享、文件版本控制和自定义文件共享链接共享集成。

然而,Google One的另一个好处是,您可以登录多个帐户,并轻松地在它们之间进行交换。这使得协作工作和在多个帐户上工作变得更加容易。

安全性

 

Apple从安全角度考虑,应该平台比Google平台安全得多。几乎所有存储在iCloud服务器上的数据在传输和静止时都按照128位AES标准进行了加密。iCloud还有一些安全功能,包括iCloud Keychain、Safari History、Wi-Fi密码,这些都是端到端加密的。

谷歌也对传输中和静止的数据进行加密,但它不提供端对端加密。这意味着您的数据有可能被谷歌员工或谷歌向您提供数据的任何人(包括执法部门)访问。虽然这种情况发生的几率非常小,但它仍然是一种可能性。

macOS 集成

 

与 Google Drive 相比,Apple的 iCloud Drive 自然更能融入 Apple 生态系统。您所有的同步文件都可以在您所有的苹果设备上使用(通过文件应用程序)。照片、电子书、音乐等也可以通过iCloud Sync获得,这对许多人来说是个福音。

所有功能几乎都完全在后台运行,这使得使用它变得轻而易举。您的所有iCloud Drive文件也可以通过web浏览器访问,因此,如果需要,您可以选择登录并从另一台PC访问这些文件。

Google One确实通过其Google Drive for the desktop应用程序提供集成和同步到您的Mac。虽然它运行良好,但它没有像iCloud Drive那样整合得很好,所以在这方面,Apple略胜一筹。

性能

iCloud Drive和Google One都提供良好的性能,具有良好的上传/下载速度和其他功能。然而,一些用户抱怨说,Google One在上传数据时有时会有点慢,虽然这并不是经常发生的事情,但您应该记住这一点。

价格

 

iCloud默认只提供5GB的免费存储空间。如果您需要存储一些文件和文档,这还不错,但如果您想存储照片或视频,这就小得可笑了。这5GB还包括您可能拥有的任何iPhone或iPad的备份,所以您可以想象您受到多大的限制。

如果您想升级,50GB每月0.99美元,200GB每月2.99美元,2TB每月9.99美元。在后两种计划中还可以启用家庭共享,这意味着您的总存储量可以与您的家庭成员共享,并且,您的数据仍然是私有的。

如果您选择升级您的iCloud存储,您也会得到额外的功能,那就算iCloud+。这些功能包括iCloud私人中继,支持HomeKit的安全摄像头的免费存储,隐藏我的电子邮件功能,以及更多。

另一方面,Google One为所有用户提供15GB的免费启动空间,这比Apple提供的5GB要好得多。如果您仍然想升级,100GB 每月 1.99 美元,200GB 2.99 美元,2TB 9.99 美元,10TB 99.99 美元。

Google One存储空间方案也可以在最多五个家庭成员之间共享,如果您希望划分存储空间,这可能很有意义。但是,对于正常使用,15GB可能就足够了,而且您可能根本不需要花费额外的费用。

结论

如果您想在Mac电脑上使用云存储,毫无疑问,iCloud Drive是更好的选择。它由 Apple 开发并与 macOS 完美集成的事实使其成为这种情况下的赢家。

然而,如果您想在不同的设备上使用它,那就完全不同了。在苹果生态系统之外,您可能很难使用iCloud的服务,因为它们的工作效率不如Google One在各种设备上的工作效率。

就像现在几乎所有事情一样,没有任何服务是完美的,每件事都有其优点和缺点。在这种情况下,您可以同时使用 iCloud Drive 和 Google One 作为您的云存储服务。

 

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/2554.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情