How to use Snapdrop to transfer files between Linux, Android and iOS

Xiaobai Software  2022-03-28 19: 04  read 180 views

At some point, you may need to transfer files between different devices, which can be a hassle.If you want to share files between Linux, Android, and iOS without installing any apps, you now have a tool at your disposal, which issnapdrop, a web-based file transfer service.

Although, you can also use services like AirDrop, Nearby Share, and Quick Share, but they only work within their ecosystem.Therefore, if you want to transfer files from Linux to Android/iOS devices, you need a cross-platform file sharing service.While it is true that you have some different options in this regard, snapdrop is the most efficient file sharing service of its kind.

Snapdrop is essentially a web-based clone of Apple AirDrop.It uses a P2P (peer-to-peer) connection to facilitate file transfers between devices, so you can use it with just about any device, no matter what operating system it's running.The best part is that you don't need to sign up for the service to use it.

As for privacy and security, Snapdrop uses WebRTC, which enforces encryption, so all your files are encrypted in transit.Furthermore, the service claims that it never stores users' files because it doesn't even use a database.

Since it is an open source service, its source code is available on GitHub.If you're concerned about its security implications or want to learn more about how it works, you can check out the code yourself.

How to use Snapdrop to transfer files between Linux, Android and iOS

The only requirement to use Snapdrop is a WebRTC based browser.Since almost all major web browsers today like Chrome, Brave, Edge, Firefox, etc. use WebRTC, you are free to choose any of these browsers.

Next, we will demonstrate the file transfer process between Linux, Android and iOS devices through Google Chrome.

Transfer files from computer to mobile device

1. To share files across platforms First, you need to make sure both devices are on the same network.

2. Next, open a web browser on your computer and navigate to the Snapdrop website.Repeat the same steps on both devices where you want to share files.

 

If your devices are on the same Wi-Fi network, they should be visible to each other on Snapdrop.Your discovery name will appear next to "You are known as" below.If multiple devices on your network access Snapdrop, they will also appear on the screen.

3. Now, select the device you want to send to and Snapdrop will open a file explorer on your computer.You can use select and transfer files.

4. Next, on your receiving (Android/iOS) device,When prompted by the file receiving window, clicksavebutton to save the received file, orClickignoreRefused to accept.

If you want to save yourself the trouble of manually saving files, uncheck the option to ask to save each file before downloading and Snapdrop will automatically download and save incoming files for you.

Transfer files from mobile device to computer

Just like transferring files from a computer to an Android/iOS mobile device, you just have to do it the other way around.

more features

Besides the convenient and quick transfer of files between different devices, Snapdrop also provides some additional features to improve usability and user experience.

1. Send a message

This feature allows you to send a message to another device on Snapdrop.This is useful when multiple users on your network access Snapdrop and you want to identify the right people before sharing files with them.

To send a message to another Snapdrop user on Linux, right-click the person's name, enter your message in the Send Message window, and click Send.

To send a message from an Android or iPhone device, tap and hold the device you want to send the message to until you see the Send message option.Enter your text in this window and click the send button.

2. Enable notifications

Snapdrop lets you enable on-site notifications, so you never miss out whenever someone messages you or shares a file.

3. Turn on dark mode

If you prefer a dark interface, you can tap the moon icon in the upper-right corner of the screen to switch between light and dark modes.

4. Save Snapdrop as an app

Finally, Snapdrop also lets you save a website like an app to your smartphone's home screen, so you can easily access it with just one click instead of typing the website address in the URL over and over.

In addition to that, since Snapdrop is a cross-platform service, you can also use it to share files between Android phones and iPhones and other devices.

All in all, if you need to frequently transfer files between various devices, Snapdrop will be your best choice.

Download:

Google Play

website

 

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/2665.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

如何使用 Snapdrop 在 Linux、Android 和 iOS 之间传输文件

小白软件  2022-03-28 19:04  阅读 118 次浏览 次

在某些时刻,您可能需要在不同设备间传输文件,这是件麻烦事。如果您想在不安装任何应用程序的情况下在 Linux、Android 和 iOS 之间共享文件,那么现在有您有一个工具可以使用,它就是Snapdrop,一种基于 Web 的文件传输服务。

虽然,您也可以使用 AirDrop、Nearby Share 和 Quick Share 等服务,但它们仅在其生态系统内有效。因此,如果您想将文件从 Linux 传输到 Android/iOS 设备,您需要跨平台的文件共享服务。尽管在这方面确实您会有一些不同的选择,但 Snapdrop 是同类产品中最有效的文件共享服务。

Snapdrop 本质上是 Apple AirDrop 的基于网络的克隆。它使用 P2P(点对点)连接来促进设备之间的文件传输,因此您可以将它用于几乎任何设备,而不管它运行的是什么操作系统。最好的部分是,您无需注册该服务即可使用它。

至于隐私和安全方面,Snapdrop 使用 WebRTC,它强制加密,因此您的所有文件在传输过程中都会被加密。此外,该服务声称它从不存储用户的文件,因为它甚至不使用数据库。

由于它是一项开源服务,因此其源代码可在 GitHub 上找到。如果您担心其安全隐患或想了解有关其工作的更多信息,可以自行查看代码。

如何使用 Snapdrop 在 Linux、Android 和 iOS 之间传输文件

Snapdrop 的唯一使用要求就是使用基于 WebRTC 的浏览器。由于当今几乎所有主要的 Web 浏览器如Chrome、Brave、Edge、Firefox 等都使用 WebRTC,因此您可以自由选择这些浏览器中的任何一种。

接下来,我们将通过 Google Chrome 来演示 Linux、Android 和 iOS 设备之间的文件传输过程。

将文件从计算机传输到移动设备

1. 要跨平台共享文件首先,您需要确保两个设备都在同一网络上。

2. 接下来,打开计算机上的 Web 浏览器并导航到 Snapdrop 网站。在您的要共享文件的两台设备上重复相同的步骤。

 

如果您的设备位于同一 Wi-Fi 网络上,则它们应该在 Snapdrop 上互相可见。您的发现名称将显示在下面的「You are known as」旁边。如果您的网络上有多个设备访问 Snapdrop,它们也会出现在屏幕上。

3. 现在,选择您要发送至的设备,然后 Snapdrop 将在您的计算机上打开文件资源管理器。您可以使用选择并传输文件。

4. 接下来,在您的接收 (Android/iOS) 设备上,当收到文件接收窗口提示时,点击保存按钮以保存接收到的文件,或点击忽略拒绝接收。

如果您想省去手动保存文件的麻烦,请取消选中下载前要求保存每个文件的选项,Snapdrop 将自动为您下载并保存传入的文件。

将文件从移动设备传输到计算机

就像将文件从计算机传输到 Android/iOS 移动设备一样,您只需要反过来操作即可。

更多的功能

除了方便快捷的在不同设备之间传输文件以外, Snapdrop 还提供了一些额外的功能来提高可用性和改善用户体验。

1. 发送消息

此功能允许您在 Snapdrop 上向另一台设备发送消息。当您网络上的多个用户访问 Snapdrop,并且您想在与他们共享文件之前确定合适的人时,此功能非常有用。

要在 Linux 上向另一个 Snapdrop 用户发送消息,请右键单击此人的姓名,在发送消息窗口中输入您的消息,然后点击发送。

要从 Android 或 iPhone 设备发送消息,请点住要向其发送消息的设备,直到看到发送消息选项。在此窗口中输入你的文本并点击发送按钮。

2. 启用通知

Snapdrop 可让您启用现场通知,因此每当有人向您发送消息或共享文件时,您都不会错过。

3.开启黑暗模式

如果您更喜欢深色界面,可以点击屏幕右上角的月亮图标在浅色和深色模式之间切换。

4. 将 Snapdrop 保存为应用程序

最后,Snapdrop 还可以让您像应用程序一样将网站保存到智能手机的主屏幕,这样只需单击一下即可轻松访问它,而不必一遍又一遍地在 URL 中输入网站地址。

除此之外,由于 Snapdrop 是一项跨平台服务,您还可以使用它在 Android 手机和 iPhone 以及其他设备之间共享文件。

总而言之,如果您需要频繁的在各种设备之间传输文件,Snapdrop将是您的最好选择。

Download:

Google Play

website

 

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/2665.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情