What is FickerStealer malware and how to remove it?

Xiaobai Software  2022-09-22 17: 55  read 35 views

Most types of malware are designed to steal your credentials, including sensitive information like your credit card information and personal identities, or even hijack your files.Malware usually sneaks into a person's computer, usually through an email attachment, or more commonly, through a social engineering attack.

A particularly worrying type of malware isFickerStealer, a common information-stealing software that has been around since 2020.So what is it?What does it do?What can you do if you are affected?

 

what isFickerStealer?

FickerStealer was first spotted on the dark web in August 2020.This is a popular information stealer that targets Windows systems and was originally sold as a Malware-as-a-Service (MaaS) program on Telegram for around $8.At the time, FickerStealer had different features and cost a whopping $200.

FickerStealer can steal sensitive information stored on a victim's computer, including:

1. Cryptocurrency wallet address.

2. Password from the web browser.

3. Credit card details.

4. SSH password or FTP login information.

5. Computer login password.

6. Any credentials stored by Windows Credential Manager.

FickerStealer works by claiming that it can steal sensitive information from more than 40 browsers, including all popular browsers such as Chrome, Opera, Firefox, and Edge.

Once it penetrates the browser, the malware is able to steal data and forward it back to the malware sender.If you're using an FTP client or an email application like Outlook or Thunderbird, FickerStealer is also able to steal information from these programs.

It is able to collect all the information from your computer including processor, installed applications, CPU usage, and it can also take screenshots.

FickerStealer is written in Rust and Assembly, two programming languages ​​that are incredibly efficient and load fast. Rust itself is a fairly complex language, which makes it slightly difficult to reverse engineer.

Buyers will get a web-based panel that will allow them to review any information they steal from victims.

How does FickerStealer infect your computer?

 

Like most malware, FickerStealer is spread using a variety of different techniques.

spam campaign

These emails are often carefully disguised to offer something of value, and if an unwitting person downloads the attachment, malware is instantly injected into the file system.This is one of the most common ways malware spreads.

These emails are often disguised to appear important, and may even appear official in nature.The attachments they contain are disguised as seemingly innocuous files, including .zip or .rar attachments.But once a person downloads them, a script is executed, infecting their device.

Unofficial downloads of cracked software

Harmful malware like FickerStealer is often spread through "cracked" or risky software downloads.Many people download cracked software programs from unofficial sources.

In most cases, these programs are infected with malware such as FickerStealer.To encourage more downloads, malicious actors often claim to offer cracked versions of popular software such as Microsoft Office or new video games.Before downloading files online, it is always important to double-check important things, such as the authenticity of the website.

Software Activation Tool

FickerStealer can also be easily spread through unofficial software activation tools.These tools are used for piracy and are designed to remove DRM restrictions and allow people to use restricted software without a license key.

A common example is Keygen, or key generator.They usually contain malicious files that can infect your computer once you execute the program.

That's how FickerStealer went viral.Since it's sold as a MaaS, malicious actors have the ability to tailor the program's functionality based on how they want to spread.

What makes FickerStealer so popular?

 

Unlike traditional malware, this is sold as a service.Therefore, once the buyer closes the deal, they will receive a customized malware package, including server settings and executable files.

Malware distributors also need the address of the C&C (command and control) server, so they can customize the malware's code to communicate with the buyer's server.

Since FickerStealer has no dependencies, it runs without downloading any extra libraries, making it surprisingly fast.Also, unlike other malware, it does not rely on the HTTP protocol to communicate with the C&C server.

Communication is fully encrypted on the client side using XOR rotation, so data is generally difficult to decrypt.What's more, FickerStealer never keeps any logs.

Once the malware has stolen the data, it is forwarded directly to the C&C server, making it harder to detect.Traditional malware usually writes down the data and stores it in a temporary folder before sending it to the C&C server.

How to remove FickerStealer

FickerStealer is primarily aimed at Windows systems, so the following recommendations are primarily aimed at users running that system.

Use powerful antivirus software

Antivirus protection is necessary to detect, quarantine and remove malware from your computer.There are several popular antivirus software available for Windows 11, and it is highly recommended that you use a reputable software such as Kaspersky to protect your computer.

If your computer is infected with FickerStealer, your antivirus software will detect it and delete the infected files.This is perhaps the most important step, because when it comes to malware, prevention is the best cure.

Antivirus software scans your computer regularly to detect any malware or unwanted programs, such as computer worms, and then quarantines infected files.

format your filesystem

This is usually not a recommended method, but if you don't have any sensitive files on your computer and need to get rid of FickerStealer, you might want to consider completely formatting your hard drive.It really should be the last measure you consider, though.

Formatting a hard drive will delete all files on the hard drive, including your operating system (if it's on the same hard drive), so you may have to reboot and install the operating system again.

Stay safe while browsing the web

Malware is often spread through suspicious files and email attachments.It is important that you avoid downloading any untrustworthy files on your computer, especially from unofficial sources.

Also, if you receive an email from an unofficial source, be very cautious when opening it.Most email service providers now have built-in malware scanning tools, so you'll be notified in the event of a file being infected.

And, if you're plugging in a new internal drive, be it a solid state or a hard drive, make sure you format it before you start using it.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/9106.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

什么是FickerStealer恶意软件以及如何删除它?

小白软件  2022-09-22 17:55  阅读 41 次浏览 次

大多数类型的恶意软件都是为了窃取你的证书,包括你的信用卡信息和个人身份等敏感信息,甚至劫持你的文件。恶意软件通常悄悄地进入一个人的电脑,通常是通过电子邮件附件,或者更常见的是通过社会工程攻击。

一种特别令人担忧的恶意软件是FickerStealer,这是一种常见的信息窃取软件,自2020年以来一直在四处流传。那么它是什么?它的作用是什么?如果你受到影响,你能做什么?

 

什么是FickerStealer

FickerStealer于2020年8月首次在暗网上被发现。这是一个流行的信息窃取器,主要针对Windows系统,最初是作为Telegram上的恶意软件即服务(MaaS)程序出售,价格约为200美元。当时,FickerStealer 具有不同的功能,价格高达 900 美元。

FickerStealer可以窃取存储在受害者电脑上的敏感信息,包括:

1. 加密货币钱包地址。

2. 来自网络浏览器的密码。

3. 信用卡细节。

4. SSH密码或FTP登录信息。

5. 计算机登录密码。

6. 任何由Windows凭证管理器存储的凭证。

FickerStealer通过声称它可以从40多个浏览器中窃取敏感信息,包括所有流行的浏览器,如Chrome、Opera、Firefox和Edge。

一旦它侵入浏览器,该恶意软件就能够窃取数据并将其转发回恶意软件发送者。如果你正在使用FTP客户端或Outlook或Thunderbird等电子邮件应用程序,FickerStealer也能够从这些程序中窃取信息。

它能够从你的电脑中收集所有信息,包括处理器、已安装的应用程序、CPU使用率,并且还能够进行屏幕截图。

FickerStealer是用Rust和Assembly编写的,这两种编程语言的效率和加载速度令人难以置信。Rust本身是一种相当复杂的语言,这使得它在逆向工程方面略显困难。

买家将获得一个基于网络的面板,这将使他们能够审查他们从受害者那里窃取的任何信息。

FickerStealer如何感染你的电脑?

 

与大多数恶意软件一样,FickerStealer是利用各种不同的技术进行传播的。

垃圾邮件活动

这些电子邮件往往经过精心伪装,提供一些有价值的东西,如果不知情的人下载附件,恶意软件就会立即被注入文件系统。这是恶意软件传播的最常见方式之一。

这些电子邮件往往被伪装成看起来很重要,甚至可能看起来是官方性质的。它们包含的附件被伪装成看似无害的文件,包括.zip或.rar附件。但是一旦一个人下载它们,就会执行一个脚本,感染他们的设备。

破解软件的非官方下载

像FickerStealer这样的有害恶意软件通常是通过 "破解 "或有风险的软件下载来传播。许多人从非官方来源下载破解的软件程序。

在大多数情况下,这些程序都感染了FickerStealer等恶意软件。为了鼓励更多的下载,恶意行为者经常声称提供微软Office等流行软件的破解版或新的视频游戏。在网上下载文件之前,仔细检查重要的事情总是很重要的,比如网站的真实性。

软件激活工具

FickerStealer也可以通过非官方的软件激活工具轻松传播。这些工具用于盗版,旨在消除DRM限制,并允许人们在没有许可证密钥的情况下使用受限制的软件。

一个常见的例子是Keygen,或钥匙生成器。它们通常包含恶意文件,一旦你执行该程序,就会感染你的计算机。

FickerStealer就是以这种方式大量传播的。由于它是作为MaaS出售的,恶意行为者有能力根据他们想要的传播方式来定制程序的功能。

是什么让FickerStealer如此受欢迎?

 

与传统的恶意软件不同,这是作为一种服务出售的。因此,一旦买方达成交易,他们将收到定制的恶意软件包,包括服务器设置和可执行文件。

恶意软件分销商还需要C&C(命令和控制)服务器的地址,因此他们可以定制恶意软件的代码,以便与买方的服务器进行通信。

由于FickerStealer没有任何依赖性,它可以在不下载任何额外库的情况下运行,使其速度快得惊人。而且,与其他恶意软件不同,它不依赖HTTP协议与C&C服务器通信。

通信在客户端使用XOR旋转进行完全加密,因此数据一般很难解密。更重要的是,FickerStealer从不保留任何日志。

一旦恶意软件窃取了数据,它就会直接转发到C&C服务器,使其更难被发现。传统的恶意软件通常会写下数据,并在发送给C&C服务器之前将其存储在一个临时文件夹中。

如何删除FickerStealer

FickerStealer主要针对Windows系统,所以以下建议主要针对运行该系统的用户。

使用强大的反病毒软件

反病毒保护对于检测、隔离和删除计算机中的恶意软件是必要的。有几个流行的杀毒软件适用于Windows 11,强烈建议你使用一个有信誉的软件,如卡巴斯基,来保护你的电脑。

如果你的电脑感染了FickerStealer,你的杀毒软件会检测到它并删除受感染的文件。这也许是最重要的一步,因为就恶意软件而言,预防是最好的治疗。

杀毒软件定期扫描你的电脑,以检测任何恶意软件或有害程序,如计算机蠕虫,然后隔离受感染的文件。

格式化你的文件系统

这通常不是一个推荐的方法,但如果你的电脑上没有任何敏感文件,并且需要摆脱FickerStealer,你可能要考虑完全格式化硬盘驱动器。不过,这确实应该是你考虑的最后一项措施。

格式化硬盘将删除硬盘上的所有文件,包括你的操作系统(如果它在同一个硬盘上),所以你可能不得不重新启动并再次安装操作系统。

在浏览网页时保持安全

恶意软件经常通过可疑的文件和电子邮件附件进行传播。重要的是,你要避免在你的电脑上下载任何不可信的文件,特别是来自非官方的来源。

此外,如果你收到一封来自非官方来源的电子邮件,在打开它时要非常谨慎。大多数电子邮件服务提供商现在都有内置的恶意软件扫描工具,因此在文件被感染的情况下,你会收到通知。

而且,如果你插入一个新的内部驱动器,无论是固态还是硬盘,确保你在开始使用之前将其格式化。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/9106.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情