How to search in the sidebar of Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome and Firefox?

Xiaobai Software  2022-08-27 18: 47  read 119 views

The search sidebar is a browser feature that displays search results in a side panel.The search sidebar isn't exactly a common feature of web browsers.However, developers are starting to realize the benefits of searching in the sidebar.

Edge is one of the first browsers to include a search sidebar in 2020.You can also enable similar functionality in Google Chrome and Firefox.Here's how you can use Microsoft Edge, Chrome, andFirefoxThe browser searches in the sidebar.

 

How to Search in Edge's Sidebar

Since Edge already has a fully integrated sidebar for search, you don't need to open any experimental settings or add an extension to enable such a feature in that browser. Edge's side panel includes a search button.However, if that panel is disabled in Edge's settings, you won't be able to access it from there.

You can enable the sidebar and open its search tool as follows:

1. Press Edge's Alt + F keyboard shortcut to view its menu.

2. Click the "Settings" option.

3. Select "Appearance" to the left of "Settings".

 

4. Open the Show Sidebar option.

 

5. Then click the Search option on the side panel.The search sidebar will open without entering any keywords.

You can bring up the search sidebar at any time from Edge's context menu.Search the web within Edge by simply selecting some text on a page.Then right-click on the highlighted text phrase and select the "Search in sidebar..." option.

 

A search sidebar will then appear on the right side of Edge, showing matching page results for the selected keyword text.The original page of your chosen keyword text will remain visible on the left side of the sidebar.

Scrolling down and clicking on a search result will open that page in the sidebar.Clicking the X at the top of the page displayed in the sidebar will return you to the search results.

 

However, you can open these pages in new tabs instead of the sidebar.Right-click on the search result and select the Open link in new tab option.Then select the new page that opens in the tab bar to see its content next to the search sidebar.

You can enter different keywords in the search box in the sidebar.Erase the current search phrase in the text box and enter an alternate keyword there.The sidebar will display all matching pages found with the Bing search engine (you can't change it to any alternative).

How to Search in Google Chrome's Sidebar

Google Chrome has an experimental search sidebar feature that you need to enable first.The feature can be activated by enabling the side search flag in Chrome's experimental tab.Here are the steps to enable and open the Chrome search sidebar:

1. Enter chrome://flags/ in the website address bar of Google Chrome, and then press Enter to pop up the Experiments tab.

2. Enter side search in the search box on the Experiments tab.

 

3. Select Enabled from the drop-down menu for the side search flag.

4. Click Restart to apply the new logo settings and restart the browser.

 

5. Open Google in the Chrome browser and enter a keyword in its search box to find web pages.

6. Then click on a search result to bring up its page.

You will now see a G (Open Search in Sidebar) button on the left side of the Chrome browser address bar.Clicking this G button brings up a sidebar with the search phrases and results you found on the open page.

 

This side panel is not exactly the same as the side panel in the Edge.First, it might not be surprising to hear that Chrome's search sidebar is currently only available for Google.Also, you cannot open web pages within this side panel.All search results you click in the sidebar will open the page in the active tab to the right of them.

 

Note that Chrome's experimental sidebar search is not a feature available in all versions of the browser.If you can't find the side search settings in the "Experiments" tab, you may need to update Chrome.Check for updates by selecting the "Help" and "About Google Chrome" options on the browser's main menu.The browser will then automatically download an available update.

In addition to the search sidebar, you can also enable the bookmarks sidebar in the Chrome browser with basically the same experimental settings.

How to Search in Firefox's Sidebar

Firefox does not have any built-in or experimental sidebar search functionality.However, you can add such functionality to this browser via the "Sidebar Search" plugin.The extension enables you to search selected text in the sidebar, just like in Microsoft Edge.You can also choose to use a different search engine within this sidebar.

To add sidebar search in Firefox, click the link below.On that page click Add toFirefox.Press the "Add" button to confirm and install the extension.

Then open a web page and select some text to search.Right-clicking the mouse brings up the context menu, which will now include a "Search in Sidebar" option.Click the "Sidebar Search" submenu and choose one of the four search engines (Bing, Google, DuckDuckGo, or Yahoo).

 

The sidebar will then open, showing matching search results.Click the Bing and Yahoo search links to open web pages in a new page tab on the right side of the sidebar.However, selecting Google's search results will open the web page within the sidebar.It's a weird inconsistency, but the plugin still works.

 

You can configure the extension to always use a specific search engine.Right-click the Sidebar Search button on the URL toolbar, select Manage Extensions > Options.Then select an option to always use a search engine.

 

The search extension in the sidebar is integrated with Firefox's sidebar.So you can view and open your bookmarks and history from the same sidebar.Click the drop-down menu at the top of the sidebar and select the bookmarks or history option.You can also change the position of the sidebar by selecting the Move sidebar to the right option from the same menu.

DownloadSearch in Sidebar (free)

Search in the sidebar for better web search

The Search Sidebar offers Edge, Chrome and Firefox users a new way to search the web.These handy sidebars allow you to keep search engines and their results visible on the side of your browser.When using these sidebars, you don't need to use your browser's back button to return to search results.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/7890.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

如何在微软Edge、谷歌Chrome和火狐浏览器的侧边栏中搜索?

小白软件  2022-08-27 18:47  阅读 134 次浏览 次

搜索边栏是一项浏览器功能,它在一个侧板中显示搜索结果。搜索侧边栏并不完全是网络浏览器的一个普遍功能。然而,开发人员开始认识到在侧边栏中进行搜索的好处。

Edge是2020年第一批纳入搜索侧栏的浏览器之一。你也可以在谷歌浏览器和火狐浏览器中启用类似功能。以下就是你如何用微软Edge、Chrome和Firefox浏览器在侧边栏中进行搜索。

 

如何在Edge的侧边栏中搜索

由于Edge已经有一个完全集成的侧边栏用于搜索,你不需要打开任何实验性设置或添加一个扩展来在该浏览器中启用这样的功能。Edge的侧板包括一个搜索按钮。但是,如果该面板在Edge的设置中被禁用,你将无法从那里访问它。

你可以启用该侧边栏并打开其搜索工具,方法如下:

1.  按Edge的Alt + F键盘快捷键,查看其菜单。

2.  点击 "设置 "选项。

3.  在 "设置 "的左侧选择 "外观"。

 

4. 打开显示侧边栏选项。

 

5. 然后点击侧板上的搜索选项。搜索侧边栏将在没有输入任何关键词的情况下打开。

你可以随时从Edge的上下文菜单中调出搜索边栏。只需在一个页面上选择一些文本,就可以在Edge内搜索网络。然后右键单击突出显示的文本短语,选择 "在侧边栏中搜索... "选项。

 

然后在Edge的右边会出现一个搜索边栏,显示所选关键词文本的匹配页面结果。你所选择的关键字文本的原始页面将保持在侧边栏的左边可见。

向下滚动并点击一个搜索结果将在侧边栏内打开该页面。点击边栏中显示的页面顶部的X,将返回到搜索结果。

 

然而,你可以在新的标签页而不是侧边栏中打开这些页面。右键单击搜索结果,选择在新标签页中打开链接选项。然后选择在标签栏中打开的新页面,在搜索侧边栏旁边查看其内容。

你可以在侧边栏内的搜索框中输入不同的关键词。擦除文本框中的当前搜索短语,然后在那里输入一个替代的关键词。侧边栏将显示所有用必应搜索引擎找到的匹配网页(你不能把它改成任何替代品)。

如何在谷歌浏览器的侧边栏中搜索

谷歌浏览器有一个实验性的搜索侧边栏功能,你需要先启用。该功能可以通过在Chrome浏览器的实验标签中启用侧边搜索标志来激活。以下是启用和打开Chrome搜索侧边栏的步骤:

1.  在谷歌浏览器的网站地址栏中输入chrome://flags/,然后按回车键,弹出Experiments标签。

2.  在Experiments标签的搜索框中输入侧面搜索。

 

3.  在侧面搜索标志的下拉菜单中选择已启用。

4.  点击重新启动以应用新的标志设置,并重新启动浏览器。

 

5.  在Chrome浏览器中打开Google,在其搜索框中输入一个关键词来寻找网页。

6.  然后点击一个搜索结果,调出其页面。

现在你会在Chrome浏览器地址栏的左侧看到一个G(在侧边栏中打开搜索)按钮。点击这个G按钮,就会出现侧边栏,其中会有你找到打开页面的搜索短语和结果。

 

这个侧板与Edge中的侧板并不完全相同。首先,听到Chrome的搜索侧边栏目前只适用于谷歌,可能并不令人惊讶。此外,你不能在该侧板内打开网页。你在侧边栏点击的所有搜索结果都会在其右侧的活动标签中打开页面。

 

请注意,Chrome的实验性侧边栏搜索并不是所有版本的浏览器都有的功能。如果你在 "实验 "选项卡中找不到侧边搜索设置,你可能需要更新Chrome。选择该浏览器主菜单上的 "帮助 "和 "关于谷歌浏览器 "选项,检查是否有更新。然后,该浏览器将自动下载一个可用的更新。

除了搜索侧边栏外,你还可以在Chrome浏览器中启用书签侧边栏,其experimental设置与此基本相同。

如何在火狐浏览器的侧边栏中搜索

火狐浏览器没有任何内置或实验性的侧边栏搜索功能。然而,你可以通过 "侧边栏搜索 "插件在该浏览器中添加这样的功能。该扩展使你能够在侧边栏中搜索选定的文本,就像在微软Edge中一样。你还可以选择在该侧边栏内使用不同的搜索引擎。

要在火狐浏览器中添加侧边栏搜索,请点击下面的链接。在该页面上点击添加到Firefox。按下 "添加 "按钮,确认并安装该扩展。

然后打开一个网页,并选择一些文本进行搜索。右键单击鼠标,调出上下文菜单,现在将包括一个 "在边栏搜索 "选项。点击 "侧边栏搜索 "子菜单,选择四个搜索引擎之一(Bing、Google、DuckDuckGo或Yahoo)。

 

然后,侧边栏将打开,显示匹配的搜索结果。点击必应和雅虎的搜索链接,在侧边栏右侧的新页面标签中打开网页。然而,选择谷歌的搜索结果会在侧边栏内打开网页。这是一个奇怪的不一致现象,但该插件仍然可以工作。

 

你可以将该扩展配置为始终使用一个特定的搜索引擎。右键单击URL工具栏上的 "侧边栏搜索 "按钮,选择 "管理扩展">"选项"。然后选择一个总是使用搜索引擎的选项。

 

侧边栏中的搜索扩展与火狐的侧边栏整合在一起。因此,你可以从同一个侧边栏查看和打开你的书签和历史。点击侧边栏顶部的下拉菜单,选择书签或历史选项。你还可以从同一菜单中选择将侧边栏移到右边的选项,以改变侧边栏的位置。

DownloadSearch in Sidebar (免费)

在侧边栏中搜索,实现更好的网络搜索

搜索侧边栏为Edge、Chrome和Firefox用户提供了一种新的网络搜索方式。这些方便的边栏使你能够在浏览器的侧面保持搜索引擎及其结果的可见性。利用这些边栏时,你不需要利用浏览器的返回按钮来返回搜索结果。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/7890.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情