What is Gigabit Ethernet?Three reasons you need it and two reasons you don't.

Xiaobai Software  2022-06-28 17: 41  read 101 views

Fast internet is everything these days.Even if you're the only person at home, fast internet is necessary for streaming, playing video games, or balancing multiple devices over a single internet connection.If you live with multiple people, the need for quick connections is even greater.

Fortunately, Fast Ethernet has been replaced by Gigabit Ethernet.Well, Gigabit Ethernet isn't exactly replacing Fast Ethernet, but it's certainly getting there.But what exactly is Gigabit Ethernet, and is it worth an upgrade?

 

What is Gigabit Ethernet?

Simply put, Gigabit Ethernet is the fastest version of Ethernet available to most people right now.Gigabit Ethernet has a maximum throughput of 1000Mbps (megabits per second), which equates to 1 Gbps (gigabits per second), although Google Fiber customers can receive up to 2G of data and some Xfinity customers can receive up to 3g of data.

以前的以太网版本称为快速以太网,最大吞吐量为100 Mbps。因此,你经常会看到称为10/100以太网的快速以太网和称为10/100/1000以太网的千兆以太网。

While Gigabit Ethernet is the most popular fast option, some connections offer speeds even more than 1 Gbps.For example, 10Gbps connections are available in the world but are often too expensive for home users and are more commonly found in offices, commercial buildings or industrial facilities.We've only seen the introduction of consumer hardware that supports 2.5 Multi-Gig, which allows speeds of up to 2.5Gbps, which is more than enough for most internet users.

Why you need Gigabit Ethernet

 

If you live with roommates or family members who are using the internet at the same time, you'll benefit from Gigabit Ethernet.Even if you live alone but regularly stream or play video games, you'll find gigabit speeds surprisingly seamless.

1. It's faster

The biggest reason most people will transition from Fast Ethernet to Gigabit Ethernet is speed.Gigabit Ethernet is usually transmitted over fiber optic cables and has a speed of 1,000Mbps, which is as much as ten times faster than Fast Ethernet.

As technology evolves, so do the programs, video games, and other software downloaded to your computer, often requiring more storage space and more internet connection. So, naturally, increasing your internet speed will solve the problem. Most of the problems with demanding software or multiple people sharing the network at the same time.

2. Less latency

If you play video games, you're probably familiar with the terms ping, lag, and latency.You'll also know that figuring out the best way to reduce lag in online gaming is an art.Sometimes you have to troubleshoot in multiple areas to figure out what's causing the game lag.

Gigabit Ethernet actually does wonders for online gamers.If you're new to online gaming or don't know what these terms mean, just know that a Gigabit Ethernet connection can send and receive signals to and from servers faster than a Fast Ethernet connection.This translates into smoother gameplay on the screen and a more immediate response when buttons are pressed.

Even if you're not playing video games, reducing lag is great for streaming your favorite TV show from Netflix or running a stressful online program.

3. Better bandwidth

Investing in Gigabit Ethernet also means you'll have more bandwidth.Simply put, you will have higher data transfer rates and shorter download times.So if you've ever waited hours for a large game to download, more bandwidth will go a long way toward reducing that time.

Because the higher bandwidth translates into the ability to capture more data at once, you'll also notice a faster overall experience, whether you're gaming or just checking your email.

Why you don't need Gigabit Ethernet

 

If you or the people you live with don't actually use the internet, you probably don't need to upgrade to Gigabit Ethernet yet.As it becomes more and more popular, it will eventually become the norm, like the 100Mbps minimum now.But for now, only those who really need fast internet speeds at all times should make the jump to Gigabit Ethernet.

1. All your components need to be compatible

While many modems and routers today are Gigabit Ethernet compatible, not all are.If you decide to upgrade to Gigabit Ethernet, you need to make sure that all of your equipment and fixtures can support and reflect the faster internet speeds.

If you're already paying for fiber or cable internet, upgrading to gigabit ethernet may be as simple as replacing your old router with a gigabit capable router, which can be purchased from your internet service provider or By personal purchase.Anyone who already owns an awesome Wi-Fi 6 router doesn't need to upgrade the router because Wi-Fi 6 routers are well equipped to handle gigabit speeds.

Certain fiber-based services, like Verizon Fios or Google Fiber, sometimes require an additional modem-like device that converts fiber-optic signals.Without this device, known as an optical network terminal, there would be no way to access high-speed Gigabit Ethernet.

2. It's more expensive

Because of the potential equipment upgrades required to reap all the benefits that Gigabit Ethernet provides, this is naturally a more expensive undertaking than traditional Fast Ethernet.Additionally, you'll be subject to what your internet service provider charges for fast internet speeds.Internet speed ten times faster than Fast Ethernet?You will definitely have to pay extra.

How to check if you can get gigabit ethernet

Complete an internet search for "Gigabit Ethernet Near Me" or enter your zip code in HighSpeedInternet to search for internet providers that offer fiber internet near you.Mostly, if you see an internet provider that has a fiber connection, it probably offers a gigabit speed plan.That's not always the case though, and if you can't seem to find any internet provider offering Gigabit Ethernet, they may be marketing it as fiber internet or something like that.

Although Gigabit Ethernet is becoming more common, it's still not ubiquitous.If you live in a big city, your chances of getting gigabit ethernet speeds are much higher than those in rural areas.

Fast internet is actually a necessary utility these days

In today's world, you pretty much have to budget your monthly internet bill along with your rent, water, and electricity bills.In today's world, where so much is done online, including school and work, it's nearly impossible to avoid paying for fast internet.

Gigabit Ethernet may be a luxury for most people, but it's slowly becoming the norm.Soon, Gigabit Ethernet will likely be priced on par with Fast Ethernet, with faster options pricier.If you or someone you live with regularly uses the internet, especially video games and streaming content, investing in Gigabit Ethernet is well worth it.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/5382.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

什么是千兆以太网?你需要它的三个理由和你不需要的两个理由。

小白软件  2022-06-28 17:41  阅读 105 次浏览 次

如今,快速互联网就是一切。即使你是家里唯一的人,快速互联网对于流媒体、玩视频游戏或通过一个互联网连接平衡多个设备都是必要的。如果你与多个人生活在一起,那么对快速联系的需求就更大了。

幸运的是,快速以太网已经被千兆以太网所取代。好吧,千兆以太网并没有完全取代快速以太网,但它肯定正在实现这一目标。但究竟什么是千兆以太网,它值得升级吗?

 

什么是千兆以太网?

简而言之,千兆以太网是目前大多数人可用的最快的以太网版本。千兆以太网的最大吞吐量为1000Mbps(兆比特/秒),相当于1 Gbps(千兆比特/秒),尽管Google Fiber客户可以接收多达2G的数据,而某些Xfinity客户可以接收多达3g的数据。

以前的以太网版本称为快速以太网,最大吞吐量为100 Mbps。因此,你经常会看到称为10/100以太网的快速以太网和称为10/100/1000以太网的千兆以太网。

虽然千兆以太网是最流行的快速选择,但有些连接提供的速度甚至超过1 Gbps。例如,10Gbps连接在世界上是可用的,但对于家庭用户来说通常过于昂贵,而且更常见于办公室、商业建筑或工业设施中。我们只看到了支持 2.5 Multi-Gig 的消费类硬件的推出,它允许高达2.5Gbps的速度,这对于大多数互联网用户来说已经足够了。

为什么你需要千兆以太网

 

如果你和室友或家人住在一起,他们在同一时间使用互联网,你会从千兆以太网中受益。即使你一个人住,但经常流媒体或玩视频游戏,你会发现千兆速度惊人的无缝。

1. 它的速度更快

大多数人将从快速以太网过渡到千兆以太网的最大原因是速度。千兆以太网通常通过光缆传输,速度为1,000Mbps,比快速以太网快十倍之多。

随着技术的发展,下载到你的电脑上的程序、视频游戏和其他软件也在不断进步,通常需要更多的存储空间和更多的互联网连接因此,自然而然地,提高你的网速将解决大部分要求高的软件或或多人同时共享网络的问题。

2. 延迟更少

如果你玩视频游戏,你可能对ping、lag和latency这些术语很熟悉。你也会知道,找出减少在线游戏延迟的最佳方法是一门艺术。有时,你必须在多个领域进行故障排除,才能找出导致游戏延迟的原因。

千兆以太网实际上为在线游戏玩家创造了奇迹。如果你不熟悉在线游戏或不知道这些术语的含义,只需知道千兆以太网连接可以比快速以太网连接更快地向服务器发送和接收信号。 这转化为屏幕上更流畅的游戏玩法以及按下按钮时更即时的响应。

即使你不玩视频游戏,减少延迟对于从Netflix传输你最喜欢的电视节目或运行一个紧张的在线程序也是非常好的。

3.更好的带宽

投资于千兆以太网也意味着你将拥有更多的带宽。简单地说,你将有更高的数据传输率和更短的下载时间。因此,如果你曾经为一个大型游戏的下载等待了几个小时,更多的带宽将大大有助于缩短这个时间。

因为更高的带宽转化为一次捕获更多数据的能力,你也会注意到更快的整体体验,无论你是在游戏还是只是检查你的电子邮件。

为什么你不需要千兆以太网

 

如果你或与你同住的人并不真正使用互联网,你可能还不需要升级到千兆以太网。随着它变得越来越流行,它最终会成为规范,就像现在最低100Mbps一样。但就目前而言,只有那些真正需要在任何时候都有快速网速的人应该跳到千兆以太网。

1. 你的所有组件都需要兼容

虽然现在的许多调制解调器和路由器都是与千兆以太网兼容的,但并不是所有的都是如此。如果你决定升级到千兆以太网,你需要确保你的所有设备和装置能够支持和反映更快的互联网速度。

如果你已经在为光纤或电缆互联网付费,升级到千兆以太网可能很简单,只要用一个具有千兆功能的路由器取代你的旧路由器就可以了,可以从你的互联网服务提供商那里购买或通过个人购买。任何已经拥有令人敬畏的Wi-Fi 6路由器的人都不需要升级路由器,因为Wi-Fi 6路由器有很好的装备来处理千兆速度。

某些基于光纤的服务,如Verizon Fios或谷歌光纤,有时需要一个额外的类似调制解调器的设备,负责转换光纤信号。如果没有这个被称为光网络终端的设备,就没有办法接入高速的千兆以太网。

2. 它更昂贵

由于需要进行潜在的设备升级才能获得千兆以太网提供的所有好处,因此与传统的快速以太网相比,这自然是一项成本更高的工作。此外,你还将受制于互联网服务提供商对快速互联网速度的收费。互联网速度是快速以太网的十倍?你肯定要支付额外费用。

如何检查你是否能获得千兆以太网

完成对“我附近的千兆以太网”的互联网搜索,或在 HighSpeedInternet 中输入你的邮政编码以搜索在你附近提供光纤互联网的互联网提供商。 大多数情况下,如果你看到互联网提供商有光纤连接,它可能会提供千兆速度计划。 不过情况并非总是如此,如果你似乎找不到任何提供千兆以太网的互联网提供商,他们可能会将其作为光纤互联网或其他类似产品进行营销。

尽管千兆以太网变得越来越普遍,但它仍然不是无处不在。 如果你住在大城市,获得千兆以太网速度的机会比农村地区的人高得多。

如今,快速互联网实际上是一种必要的实用工具

在当今世界,你几乎必须将每月的互联网费用与租金、水费和电费一起纳入预算。当今世界,包括学校和工作在内的许多事情都是在网上完成的,几乎不可能避免为快速互联网付费。

千兆以太网对大多数人来说可能是一种奢侈品,但它正在慢慢成为常态。很快,千兆以太网的价格将可能与快速以太网持平,更快的选项价格更高。如果你或与你生活在一起的人经常使用互联网,尤其是视频游戏和流媒体内容,那么投资千兆以太网是一件非常值得的事。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/5382.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情