How Google is building the Pixel ecosystem to rival Apple

Xiaobai Software  2022-06-16 13: 33  read 104 views

Competition in the tech industry is always a good thing for consumers.The more companies in the market competing for your money, the more things your money can buy.In other words, you can enjoy cheaper prices, better products and faster service.

We know that Samsung and Apple are the current market leaders, but it seems that Google is slowly becoming a trusted competitor.Thanks to the ever-growing Pixel portfolio, the Pixel ecosystem is becoming more capable than ever against Apple.Let's take a look.

 

Why Apple's Ecosystem Works So Well

Over the years, we've seen many Android OEMs launch their "iPhone killer" phones, but none have come close to making it happen.why?Because Apple has something that Android makers don't: unity.

 

Since iOS, iPadOS and macOS are proprietary operating systems, and Apple designs its own chips, the company has complete control over the software and hardware of its products.

Because of this, Apple is able to maximize continuity across all of its devices, making the end-user experience as seamless as possible.In other words, Apple devices are more likely to talk to each other and share workloads more efficiently.

Android can't replicate this effect because it's an open-source operating system, which makes it too diverse.It has to meet the needs of many smartphone brands simultaneously, which kills any potential for specialization.So it had to resort to a one-size-fits-all solution, which wasn't as effective.

How Pixel devices will help Google compete with Apple

Despite Android's shortcomings, Google is better positioned than any other Android maker to compete with Apple's flawless ecosystem.The reasons are as follows:

1. Google's investment in hardware continues to increase

 

Pixel phones have grown a lot every year since the first Pixel launched in 2016, and it's never a good strategy for building rapport with customers.While the Pixel line is popular among enthusiasts for its amazing software and camera performance, its poor hardware was a key reason for its failure.

Many Pixel phones aren't recommended to the average person, but the Pixel 6 brings a major overhaul from the inside out.The new camera hardware, Google's own processor, and the boxy design all help cement the identity of the Pixel line, especially the camera bar that Google intends to keep going forward.

As Sundar Pichai mentioned at Google I/O 2022, the Pixel 6 is the fastest-selling Pixel phone to date, outselling the Pixel 4 and 5 combined.As Google consolidates its supply chain and makes Pixel phones more popular, sales figures are expected to rise further, eating into the market share of Apple and other industry leaders.

2. Integration of Tensor chip and Android

 

With the launch of the Pixel 6 series, Google debuted an in-house processor called Tensor.Other OEMs have to figure out how to make their custom chips work well with new Android releases and their own custom Android skins.But Google can use its control over Android to give the Pixel OS an edge over even the best Android skins by updating the OS to work especially well with Tensor.

3. Google's improved pricing strategy

Prices for Pixel phones have historically been insanely high.For example, the Pixel 4 costs $799, and the XL version goes up to $899, both with 64GB of storage.The only exception is the Pixel a series, which is loved by many for offering more value.

But for the Pixel 6, Google is asking for a more modest $599 for the base model, a still expensive but bearable $899 for the pro model, and an impressive $6 for the less-expensive Pixel 449a.

The point is, Google's pricing strategy is getting better and better.If it maintains the same momentum with other upcoming Pixel products like the Pixel Tablet, Pixel Watch, and Pixel Buds Pro, then more people may be tempted to try them -- bringing something to the growing Pixel ecosystem vitality.

4. Google's software prowess

 

Google's apps and services are at the heart of Android, which means the search engine giant has more resources than other Android brands and knows better how to integrate its devices into a unified platform.

The reason Samsung's ecosystem can't go that far is that it's primarily a hardware company (though it's clearly improved in other areas) and doesn't know as much about software as Google.This can be seen in its partnership with Microsoft.

In contrast, Google handles software much better.Of course, that's not to say it's invulnerable.We've seen repeated software issues and bugs with Pixel users' phones, but it's still a pretty easy problem to fix in the long run.

5. The new features of the Google app are finally coming to iOS

Google apps are often overlooked on iOS, but they get regular updates on Android, which helps improve speed, stability, and usability.This means that the Google app on your iPhone is a shoddy at best, and doesn't represent the true capabilities of Google's services.

Pixel devices exaggerate this difference because they are fully optimized to take full advantage of Google services.That means, for example, while Google Assistant works best on a Pixel phone, it only works well on an iPhone or iPad.

The Pixel ecosystem will take time to mature

Google has had a rocky start in its journey as a smartphone OEM, but considering everything we've known so far, it looks like the tech giant is finally getting serious about creating its own full-fledged ecosystem.From now on, the Pixel phone lineup will likely see more consistency, which will help make things more connected and seamless.

We do admit, however, that it's a bit rushed to release so many new products at once, so problems can arise.We know that the Pixel ecosystem will not be as exclusive and restrictive as the Apple ecosystem; in fact, quite the opposite.

Given the impact the Pixel 6 is capable of, and how Google is slowly fixing all the issues that came before it, we're optimistic about the future of its hardware product, but even if Google does everything right, it certainly won't be an overnight success.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/4926.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

谷歌如何建立Pixel生态系统与苹果抗衡

小白软件  2022-06-16 13:33  阅读 67 次浏览 次

科技行业的竞争对消费者来说总是好事。市场上争夺你的钱的公司越多,你的钱能买到的东西就越多。换句话说,你可以享受更便宜的价格,更好的产品和更快的服务。

我们知道三星和苹果是目前的市场领导者,但似乎谷歌正在慢慢成为一个值得信赖的竞争对手。由于Pixel组合的不断壮大,Pixel生态系统正变得比以往更有能力与苹果抗衡。让我们一起来看看。

 

为什么苹果的生态系统运作得这么好

多年来,我们看到许多安卓OEM厂商推出了他们的 "iPhone杀手 "手机,但没有一家接近于实现这一目标。为什么呢?因为苹果拥有安卓制造商所没有的东西:统一性。

 

由于iOS、iPadOS和macOS是专有的操作系统,而且苹果公司设计了自己的芯片,该公司对其产品的软件和硬件都有完全的控制。

正因为如此,苹果公司能够最大限度地提高其所有设备的连续性,使终端用户的体验尽可能地无缝。换句话说,苹果设备更容易相互交谈,更有效地分担工作负荷。

安卓无法复制这种效果,因为它是一个开源的操作系统,这使得它过于多样化。它必须同时满足许多智能手机品牌的需求,这就扼杀了任何专业化的潜力。因此,它不得不求助于一个一刀切的解决方案,而这并不那么有效。

Pixel设备将如何帮助谷歌与苹果竞争

尽管安卓系统存在缺点,但谷歌比任何其他安卓制造商都更有能力与苹果的无缺陷生态系统竞争。原因如下:

1. 谷歌对硬件的投资不断增加

 

自从2016年推出第一款Pixel以来,Pixel手机每年都有很大的发展,这绝不是与客户建立融洽关系的好策略。虽然Pixel系列因拥有惊人的软件和相机性能而在发烧友中颇受欢迎,但其糟糕的硬件是其失败的一个关键原因。

许多Pixel手机都没有向普通人推荐,但Pixel 6带来了从内到外的重大革新。新的相机硬件,谷歌自己的处理器,以及方正的设计都有助于巩固Pixel系列的身份,尤其是谷歌打算今后保留的相机栏。

正如桑达尔-皮查伊(Sundar Pichai)在2022年谷歌I/O大会上提到的,Pixel 6是迄今为止销售最快的Pixel手机,销量超过了Pixel 4和Pixel 5的总和。随着谷歌整合其供应链,使Pixel手机更加普及,预计销售数字将进一步提高,蚕食苹果和其他行业领导者的市场份额。

2. Tensor 芯片与安卓的整合

 

随着Pixel 6系列的推出,谷歌首次推出了名为Tensor的内部处理器。其他OEM厂商必须弄清楚如何让他们的定制芯片与新的安卓版本以及他们自己的定制安卓皮肤很好地配合。但谷歌可以利用其对安卓系统的控制,通过更新操作系统,使其与Tensor配合得特别好,使Pixel操作系统甚至比最好的安卓皮肤更具优势。

3. 谷歌改进的定价策略

Pixel手机的价格历来高得吓人。例如,Pixel 4的价格为799美元,XL版本的价格则高达899美元,两者都带有64GB存储空间。唯一一个例外是Pixel a系列,它因提供更多的价值而受到许多人的喜爱。

但对于Pixel 6,谷歌对基本型号的要求是更谦虚的599美元,对专业型号的要求是仍然昂贵但可以忍受的899美元,而价格低廉的Pixel 6a则是令人印象深刻的449美元。

关键是,谷歌的定价策略越来越好。如果它对其他即将推出的Pixel产品,如Pixel平板电脑、Pixel手表和Pixel Buds Pro,保持同样的势头,那么更多的人可能会被诱惑去尝试它们--为不断增长的Pixel生态系统带来活力。

4. 谷歌的软件实力

 

谷歌的应用和服务是安卓系统的核心,这意味着这家搜索引擎巨头比其他安卓品牌拥有更多的资源,也更了解如何将其设备整合到一个统一的平台上。

三星的生态系统不能走得那么远的原因是,它主要是一家硬件公司(尽管它在其他方面也有明显的改进),没有像谷歌那样对软件有很多了解。这一点从它与微软的合作关系中可以看出。

相比之下,谷歌在软件方面的处理要好得多。当然,这并不是说它是无懈可击的。我们已经看到Pixel用户的手机反复出现软件问题和错误,但从长远来看,这仍然是一个非常容易解决的问题。

5. 谷歌应用的新功能最后来到了iOS

谷歌应用程序在iOS上经常被忽视,但它们在安卓系统上得到定期更新,这有助于提高速度、稳定性和可用性。这意味着你的iPhone上的谷歌应用充其量只能算是次品,不能代表谷歌服务的真正能力。

Pixel设备夸大了这种差异,因为它们经过全面优化,可以充分利用Google服务。这意味着,例如,虽然Google Assistant在Pixel手机上表现最佳,但它只有在iPhone或iPad上才能正常运行。

Pixel生态系统需要时间才能成熟起来

谷歌在其作为智能手机OEM的旅程中起步艰难,但考虑到我们迄今所知的一切,这家科技巨头似乎终于开始认真创建自己的成熟生态系统。从现在开始,Pixel手机系列可能会保持更多的一致性,这将有助于使事情更加相互联系和无缝。

然而,我们确实承认,一次发布这么多新产品有点仓促,所以可能会出现问题。我们知道,Pixel生态系统不会像苹果生态系统那样具有排他性和限制性;事实上,恰恰相反。

鉴于Pixel 6能够产生的影响,以及谷歌正在慢慢修复之前产生的所有问题,我们对其硬件产品的未来持乐观态度,但即使谷歌做对了一切,它肯定也不会一夜成名。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/4926.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情