Apple's M1 chip has an irreparable flaw: Is your device safe?

Xiaobai Software  2022-06-14 16: 31  read 130 views

On June 2022, 6, MIT's Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL) released a report outlining an irreparable flaw in Apple's popular M10 chip.The Apple M1 chip is found in millions of MacBooks, iMacs and iPads around the world, and has been a vital part of the company's ecosystem since 1.

 

But what does this vulnerability mean, is your Apple device safe?

MIT researchers discover an unpatchable flaw in Apple's M1 chip

Apple devices have several lines of defense to prevent applications from running malicious code.The last line of defense is the M1 chip's pointer authentication mechanism, a hardware tool designed to detect changes in software code.

Pointer authentication works by creating a cryptographic signature called a Pointer Authentication Code (PAC).When a piece of software runs, the M1 chip checks its stored PAC to make sure it matches the code provided by the software.If authentication fails, the software will crash, providing an excellent safety net while providing software security.

Are Apple's M1 Chip Flaws Dangerous?

 

Named PACMAN by the MIT researchers who discovered it, the exploit exploits the M1 chip's PAC system by guessing a software PAC.This is accomplished through a hardware side channel that enables researchers to run through all possible values ​​of pointer authentication until they find the correct guess.

Unfortunately, since this is a hardware bug, not a software bug, there's little Apple can do to fix the problem other than recalling the device.This would be a bigger problem if it weren't for the other lines of defense Apple devices have.

The PACMAN attack will only succeed if the system already has a software vulnerability, which Apple takes very seriously.

Still, it would be wrong to say that PACMAN is harmless.If PACMAN is used to bypass pointer authentication on the device, there is nothing to prevent an attacker from taking full control of the device.That's concerning given the number of M1-equipped devices sold over the past few years.

Impact of Apple M1 Chip Vulnerability

 

苹果M1芯片自2020年以来一直是该公司的旗舰SoC,并且只定于2022年7月被替换。这意味着,自2020年以来销售的所有采用M1芯片的苹果MacBooks、iMacs和iPad都有MIT发现的漏洞。这对消费者来说是一个令人生畏的前景,不过企业面临的风险更大。

In 2022, more than 23% of business users in the U.S. use Apple devices, a stark contrast to a market Microsoft once dominated.Businesses and other large organizations are favorable victims for attackers because their large internal networks make it possible to conduct a wider attack.

In such an environment, it's also harder to avoid software vulnerabilities, especially when it comes to security updates.

Future Apple and ARM processors

 

While the idea of ​​a widespread Apple bug sounds scary, the MIT CSAIL researchers made it clear that they were concerned about future hardware issues.Both Apple and ARM processors use pointer authentication for security, which will continue into the future.

As more devices with pointer authentication enter the market, the risk of exploits like this one will only increase.Thankfully, both Apple and ARM have issued statements that they are aware of the issue and are investigating affected products to keep them safe.

Apple M1 Chip Vulnerability: Is Your Device Safe?

In short, yes.Your device is currently safe.It's impossible to prevent the PACMAN exploit because the problem is embedded in the M1 chip, but that doesn't mean your iPad or MacBook will stop working.PACMAN is only a problem when there is a software vulnerability that allows the exploit to be exploited.This is unlikely to happen unless the user makes a mistake.

Protect your Apple device from PACMAN and other threats

 

Apple devices are notoriously easy to use.This extends to the security of the entire ecosystem, but it's worth taking steps to keep your computer or tablet safe.

Update your operating system and software

New software vulnerabilities are constantly being discovered, and companies like Apple regularly release operating system and software updates to maintain control over them.This only works when installing updates for Apple devices.

Use the App Store

MacBooks, iPads, and iMacs all come with the Apple App Store.The company has a series of safety and quality standards that software must meet before it goes into stores.This creates a safe environment for users to find the software they want to use.Avoiding external software sources is an easy way to keep your Apple device safe.

Create regular backups

This will not make your device immune to PACMAN or other cyber threats, but it will allow you to quickly restore your machine to normal once it is compromised.

Unpatchable Vulnerability in Apple's M1 Chip

Any hardware bug should be taken seriously, especially a component as common as Apple's M1 SoC.Apple, ARM, MIT, and other groups are working to study the PACMAN flaw to ensure it doesn't pose a major security problem in the future.

You'll be able to learn more about MIT's findings at the International Symposium on Computer Architecture on June 6.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/4863.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

苹果的M1芯片有一个无法修补的缺陷:你的设备安全吗?

小白软件  2022-06-14 16:31  阅读 96 次浏览 次

2022年6月10日,麻省理工学院计算机科学与人工智能实验室(CSAIL)发布了一份报告,概述了苹果流行的M1芯片的一个无法修补的缺陷。苹果M1芯片遍布全球数百万台MacBook,iMac和iPad,自2020年以来一直是该公司生态系统的重要组成部分。

 

但是这个漏洞意味着什么,你的Apple设备安全吗?

麻省理工学院研究人员发现一个无法修补的Apple M1芯片漏洞

Apple 设备有几道防线来阻止应用程序运行恶意代码。 最后一道防线是 M1 芯片的指针认证机制,这是一种硬件工具,旨在检测软件代码的变化。

指针身份验证通过创建称为指针身份验证代码 (PAC) 的加密签名来工作。 当一个软件运行时,M1 芯片会检查它存储的 PAC,以确保它与软件提供的代码相匹配。 如果身份验证失败,软件将崩溃,从而在提供软件安全性的同时提供出色的安全网。

苹果M1芯片的缺陷是否很危险?

 

由发现它的麻省理工学院研究人员命名为PACMAN,这个漏洞通过猜测一个软件的PAC来利用M1芯片的PAC系统。这可以通过一个硬件侧通道来实现,该通道使研究人员能够运行所有可能的指针认证值,直到他们找到正确的猜测。

不幸的是,由于这是一个硬件漏洞,而不是一个软件漏洞,除了召回设备,苹果公司几乎没有办法解决这个问题。如果不是因为苹果设备有其他防线,这将是一个更大的问题。

PACMAN攻击只有在系统已经存在软件漏洞的情况下才会成功,这一点苹果非常重视。

尽管如此,如果说PACMAN是无害的,那就错了。如果PACMAN被用来绕过设备上的指针式验证,就没有什么可以阻止攻击者完全控制设备了。考虑到过去几年售出的配备M1的设备数量,这令人担忧。

苹果M1芯片漏洞的影响

 

苹果M1芯片自2020年以来一直是该公司的旗舰SoC,并且只定于2022年7月被替换。这意味着,自2020年以来销售的所有采用M1芯片的苹果MacBooks、iMacs和iPad都有MIT发现的漏洞。这对消费者来说是一个令人生畏的前景,不过企业面临的风险更大。

2022年,美国超过23%的企业用户使用苹果设备,这与微软曾经统治的市场形成了鲜明的对比。企业和其他大型组织是攻击者的有利受害者,因为他们的大型内部网络使其有可能进行更大范围的攻击。

在这样的环境中,也更难避免软件漏洞,尤其是在安全更新方面。

未来的 Apple 和 ARM 处理器

 

虽然大范围的苹果漏洞的想法听起来很可怕,但麻省理工学院CSAIL研究人员明确表示,他们担心的是未来的硬件问题。苹果和ARM处理器都使用指针式验证来保证安全,这将持续到未来。

随着更多带有指针式验证的设备进入市场,像这样的漏洞被利用的风险只会增加。值得庆幸的是,苹果和ARM都发表了声明,表明他们已经意识到了这个问题,并且正在调查受影响的产品,以确保它们的安全。

苹果M1芯片漏洞:你的设备安全吗?

简而言之,是的。你的设备目前是安全的。不可能阻止PACMAN漏洞,因为该问题已被植入M1芯片,但这并不意味着你的iPad或MacBook将停止工作。只有当存在允许漏洞利用的软件漏洞时,PACMAN才是一个问题。除非用户出错,否则不太可能发生这种情况。

保护你的苹果设备免受PACMAN和其他威胁的影响

 

众所周知,苹果设备很容易使用。这延伸到了整个生态系统的安全,但值得采取措施来保持你的电脑或平板电脑的安全。

更新你的操作系统和软件

新的软件漏洞不断被发现,像苹果这样的公司定期发布操作系统和软件更新,以保持对它们的控制。这只有在为Apple设备安装更新时才有效。

使用App Store

MacBooks、iPad和iMacs都配备了苹果应用商店。该公司有一系列的安全和质量标准,软件在进入商店之前必须满足这些标准。这为用户找到他们想使用的软件创造了一个安全的环境。避免外部软件来源是确保你的苹果设备安全的一个简单方法。

创建定期备份

这不会使你的设备对PACMAN或其他网络威胁有免疫力,但它允许你在你的机器一旦受到损害时迅速恢复正常。

苹果M1芯片不可修补的漏洞

任何硬件漏洞都应该被认真对待,尤其是像苹果公司的M1 SoC这样常见的组件。苹果、ARM、麻省理工学院和其他团体正在努力研究PACMAN缺陷,以确保它在未来不会形成重大的安全问题。

你将能够在6月18日的国际计算机架构研讨会上了解更多关于麻省理工学院的发现。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/4863.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情