Can Playing Video Games Improve Children's IQ?

Xiaobai Software  2022-06-11 13: 25  read 124 views

Research and data have come a long way, but many questions remain to be determined when it comes to what exactly constitutes intelligence, and how or whether it can be accurately measured.

 

It's an age-old question: If your kids play video games, will their IQs increase? A May 2022 report is one of the few that claims to have the answer.Let's dig a little deeper:

The relationship between games and intelligence is delicate

Academics, parents, students, and gamers have a long history of asking whether video games make us smarter, hurt our intelligence, have an impact on both, or not.The findings are mixed.There are many reasons for this.

First, there are a lot of questions about what a video game is.Should mobile games and console games fall into the same category?What about puzzle games and shooters?Does online multiplayer have a different impact than solo games?Furthermore, a person's day includes so many activities that it is difficult to isolate gaming as a single variable.

If one child enjoys both video games and learning, and the other child hates both, does that mean video games help intelligence?If one child is more likely to play video games because the family is financially better off than another, how much of the difference in intelligence comes from gaming and how much comes from different economic opportunities?

What is intelligence?Is it a transcript?IQ test?what else?Even this is debatable. The authors of a scientific report published in the journal Nature in May 2022 claim that they are at least one step closer to answering some of these questions.

The impact of digital media on children's intelligence

The paper, titled "The effect of digital media on children's intelligence while controlling for genetic differences in cognition and socioeconomic background," corrects its findings on genetics and parental education.This is important because, according to the authors, "intelligence, education, and other cognitive abilities are highly heritable."

While some may dispute the claim that intelligence is genetically determined, the authors also took parental education into account.While education level is not necessarily linked to household income, it is arguably a good proxy for complex socioeconomic data.

The study included baseline information on nearly 1 U.S. children ages 9 to 10 and followed more than half of them after two years.The researchers also looked at "polygenic scores" to account for "genetic differences."

Positive effects of games on intelligence

 

The authors analyzed "screen time," including time spent watching videos, playing video games, and engaging in social media.It also analyzed intelligence using five measures of intelligence.The result is as follows:

"At baseline, time spent watching and socializing was inversely associated with intelligence, while gaming was not. After two years, gaming had a positive effect on intelligence, but not socialization (...) Unexpectedly , watching videos also has positive intellectual benefits."

The paper further says that not only is the game itself positively correlated, but the time of the game is also positively correlated.In other words, more games mean better cognitive abilities.Although we can be skeptical about this.

The study's authors were the first to point out some of the problems in their report, as any group of responsible researchers should.Some of these problems are the ones we mentioned above that plague all this kind of research.

Potential problems in research

 

Screen Time information comes from survey data.It was impossible for the researchers to know whether the reported games were smartphone games, console games, online games or offline games.Additionally, survey data is often confronted with respondents filtering their answers to make themselves appear "better".If parents want to look cooler or stricter, they may misreport data.

There are also some issues that the authors did not mention.The tests used to determine intelligence do not include "IQ" tests.They include word and image recognition, memory, spatial reasoning, audio responses, and other similar metrics.However, they did not include indicators of language comprehension, mathematics, logic and other factors one might expect.

Arguably, the authors define intelligence as "the skill of playing video games" and then determine that playing video games improves intelligence.It could also explain some of their cryptic findings, such as why video improves "intelligence," but social networking doesn't.

Watching video is more helpful for image recognition and audio responses, which are tested, while social media is more helpful for improving intelligence through language comprehension, reasoning, and other metrics that have not been tested.

How do other researchers study games and intelligence?

Other similar studies have shown this and have come up with mixed results on gaming and intelligence. A 2015 study on gaming and intelligence published in SAGE Journals had similar results using a similar test, but "when the analysis looked at all subjects at the task level and underlying framework level, nearly all video games The relationship between experience and cognitive ability is close to zero."

Intelligence is a multifaceted concept, and researchers on both sides have carefully selected which elements of intelligence might be relevant to video games.And in the introduction, the authors of the 2022 study did say that they were already looking forward to their study showing a correlation between video games and intelligence.

healthy game

So, can playing video games improve a child's IQ?The answer to every good yes or no question is "somewhat"

Video games can improve some aspects of intelligence, but not others.Like most other things in life, video games are healthy in moderation.But they are not a substitute for learning.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/4765.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

玩电子游戏能提高孩子的智商吗?

小白软件  2022-06-11 13:25  阅读 73 次浏览 次

研究和数据已经取得了长足的进步,但当涉及到什么是智力的确切组成部分,以及如何或是否能够准确地测量智力时,仍有许多问题需要确定。

 

这是一个古老的问题:如果你的孩子玩电子游戏,他们的智商会提高吗?2022年5月的一份报告是少数声称有答案的报告之一。让我们深入了解一下:

游戏与智力之间的关系很微妙

学者、家长、学生和游戏者询问电子游戏是否使我们更聪明、伤害我们的智力、两者都有影响或没有影响的问题由来已久。研究结果是好坏参半。这其中有很多原因。

首先,对于什么是电子游戏有很多疑问。手机游戏和游戏机游戏是否应归入同一类别?益智游戏和射击游戏呢?在线多人游戏与单独游戏的影响是否不同?此外,一个人的一天包括很多活动,很难将游戏作为一个单一的变量来隔离。

如果一个孩子既喜欢电子游戏又喜欢学习,而另一个孩子两者都讨厌,这是否意味着电子游戏有助于智力? 如果一个孩子因为家庭经济状况比另一个孩子更好而更能玩电子游戏,那么智力差异有多少来自游戏,又有多少来自不同的经济机会?

什么是智力? 是成绩单吗? 智商测试? 还有什么? 甚至这也有待商榷。 《自然》杂志于 2022 年 5 月发表的一份科学报告的作者声称,他们至少更接近于回答其中一些问题。

数字媒体对儿童智力的影响

这篇题为“控制认知和社会经济背景遗传差异的同时,数字媒体对儿童智力的影响”的论文更正了其在遗传学和父母教育方面的发现。 这很重要,因为根据作者的说法,“智力、教育程度和其他认知能力都是高度可遗传的。”

虽然有些人可能会对智力是由基因决定的说法提出异议,但作者也考虑到了父母的教育。虽然教育水平不一定与家庭收入挂钩,但这可以说是复杂社会经济数据的一个不错的代表。

这项研究包括近1万名9至10岁的美国儿童的基线信息,并在两年后对其中一半以上的儿童进行了跟踪调查。研究人员还查看了 "多基因分数",以说明 "遗传差异"。

游戏对智力的积极影响

 

作者分析了 "屏幕时间",包括观看视频、玩视频游戏和参与社交媒体的时间。它还使用五种智力测量方法分析了智力。结果如下:

"在基线时,观看和社交的时间与智力呈负相关,而游戏则没有相关。两年后,游戏对智力有积极影响,但社交没有影响(......)出乎意料的是,看视频也对智力有积极的好处。"

论文进一步说,不仅游戏本身是正相关的,游戏的时间也是正相关的。换句话说,游戏越多意味着认知能力越强。虽然这一点我们可以持怀疑态度。

该研究的作者率先指出了他们报告中的一些问题,任何一群负责任的研究人员都应该如此。其中一些问题就是我们上面提到的那些困扰所有这类研究的问题。

研究中的潜在问题

 

屏幕时间信息来自调查数据。研究人员不可能知道报告的游戏是智能手机游戏、控制台游戏、在线游戏还是离线游戏。此外,调查数据经常面临受访者过滤他们的答案以使自己看起来 "更好 "的问题。如果父母想让自己看起来更酷或更严格,他们可能会误报数据。

还有一些作者没有提到的问题。用来确定智力的测试并不包括 "智商 "测试。他们包括文字和图像识别、记忆、空间推理、音频反应和其他类似的指标。然而,他们并没有包括语言理解、数学、逻辑和其他人们可能期望的因素的指标。

可以说,作者将智力定义为 "玩电子游戏的技巧",然后确定玩电子游戏能提高智力。这也可以解释他们的一些神秘的发现,比如为什么视频能提高 "智力",而社交却不能。

看视频更有助于图像识别和音频反应,这些都是经过测试的,而社交媒体通过语言理解、推理和其他没有经过测试的指标,更有助于提高智力。

其他研究人员是如何研究游戏和智力的?

其他类似的研究也说明了这一点,并得出了关于游戏和智力的不同结果。2015年发表在《SAGE Journals》上的一项关于游戏和智力的研究,使用类似的测试有类似的结果,但 "当分析在任务层面和潜在构架层面考察全部受试者时,几乎所有视频游戏经验和认知能力之间的关系都接近零"。

智力是一个多方面的概念,两边的研究人员都精心挑选了会不会与电子游戏相关的智力要素。而在介绍中,2022年研究的作者确实说过,他们已经在期待他们的研究能显示电子游戏与智力之间的相关性。

健康游戏

那么,玩电子游戏能提高孩子的智商吗?每个好的是或不是问题的答案都是“有点”

电子游戏可以改善智力的某些方面,但不能改善智力的某些方面。与生活中的大多数其他事情一样,电子游戏在适度的情况下也是健康的。但它们不能代替学习。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/4765.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情