10 Interesting Facts About Microsoft You Might Not Know

Xiaobai Software  2022-05-28 11: 04  read 88 views

Microsoft is one of the most recognizable companies in the world, and its history is full of interesting facts.Did you know that one of Microsoft's most popular software products, Microsoft Office, actually debuted on the Mac?Or, was the original smartwatch Timex Datalink designed in partnership with Microsoft?

Here are some interesting facts about Microsoft that might surprise you.

1. Microsoft originally had a slightly different name

 

Few companies are as well known as Microsoft.However, the company was originally named Micro-Soft by company co-founder Paul Allen, a combination of the words microcomputer and software.

2. The original Microsoft logo was created in less than a day

 

Over the years, Microsoft has had several different logos, each of which is equally recognizable.However, it took co-founders Bill Gates and Paul Allen less than a day to design the original Microsoft logo.

3. Musician Brian Eno composed the famous Microsoft 95 Jingle

 

Prolific musician Brian Eno, known for his work with musical performers such as David Bowie and Coldplay, is the Microsoft The brains behind the Windows 95 startup theme.

Eno came up with the 6-second jingle, dubbed "The Voice of Microsoft," admitting that he created the sound on a Mac and never used a PC in the BBC Radio 4 interview.

4. The Windows operating system used to have a very different name

 

 

While we all know that Bill Gates is a crazy successful businessman, his marketing skills are not that great.

When the original Windows operating system was still in development, Gates wanted to call it an "interface manager."The name has been used internally for a while, with plans to use the same name when the operating system is finally released to the public.

However, when Microsoft's marketing department heard the name, they persuaded Gates to change it to Windows, which refers to the "windows" on the computer screen that users interact with while using the operating system.The operating system was released as Windows 1985 in 1.0.

5. Microsoft Office actually debuted on the Mac

 

Microsoft Office is one of the company's best-known software products, with the most popular products including Microsoft Word, Excel and Power Point.Despite the obvious ties to Microsoft, some may be surprised that Microsoft Office initially debuted on the Mac before it landed on Windows.

The first version of Microsoft Office was released on the Mac in 1989 and made its way to Windows a year later.

This happens because Apple's platform is more flexible than Windows, making it easier to test new products there before bringing them to Windows, according to internal leaked emails from Bill Gates.

6. Microsoft employees are nicknamed "Softies"

 

While you might think of the average Microsoft employee as a serious developer, they have a very cute nickname "Softie."With more than 100 employees in more than 180000 countries, Softie, on average, is dominated by men living in the United States.

7. Microsoft rescued Apple from bankruptcy

 

Although they were rivals, there was a time when Microsoft helped save Apple from bankruptcy.

In 1997, when Apple was on the brink of bankruptcy, Microsoft invested $1.5 million in the company.While this saved Apple from debacle, when Steve Jobs first appeared at the Macworld Boston conference in 1997 as Apple CEO to announce the investment, fans weren't enthusiastic about the move and responded with boos .

The investment is good for both parties, as Apple dropped its lawsuit against Microsoft, accusing it of copying its operating system.Apple also made Microsoft's Internet Explorer the default browser on the Mac.

Perhaps Microsoft's greatest benefit in the investment was getting out of a legal battle with the Justice Department, which was preparing to file an antitrust lawsuit against Microsoft for an unlawful monopoly in the personal computer market.Helping a rival in the personal computer space save Microsoft from being split into two entities.

8. Microsoft is a record patent holder

 

Microsoft has more than 7 patents, of which more than 5 are still in use.With thousands of patent applications filed each year, and patents acquired through corporate acquisitions, Microsoft is one of the largest patent holders in the world.

9. Microsoft designed one of the first smartwatches

 

While the popularity of smartwatches is a relatively recent phenomenon, Microsoft's involvement in designing the original smartwatch may come as a surprise to some.Released in 1994 in partnership with watch maker Timex, the Timex Datalink was inspired by a replacement for the then popular PDA.

The watch has an LCD display and has high-tech features, including downloading information wirelessly from a computer and storing phone numbers in the watch's memory.The watch has also been certified for space missions by NASA and has even been used in space with various models of watches worn by astronauts.

While the watch's design was groundbreaking at the time, it never took off commercially and didn't last into the new millennium.

10. Why are manhole covers round?

 

As one of the world's top tech companies, Microsoft has developed its own approach to attracting the best talent possible.The company has built a reputation for asking prospective employees wacky and unexpected questions during the interview process.

Microsoft is rumored to ask questions like "why are manhole covers round," which may seem odd to techies but requires interviewers to think outside the box, get creative, and come up with an answer.

Microsoft continues to dominate the tech world

Microsoft has come a long way since its founding in 1975.Since then, the company has grown and developed many of the great software and hardware products we use today.

Microsoft's dominance in tech shows no signs of slowing down, and we believe the company will continue to design and innovate new products and services for years to come.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/4321.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

你可能不知道的关于微软的10个有趣的事实

小白软件  2022-05-28 11:04  阅读 66 次浏览 次

微软是世界上最知名的公司之一,它的历史充满了有趣的事实。你知道微软最受欢迎的软件产品之一,微软Office,实际上是在Mac上首次亮相的吗?或者,最初的智能手表Timex Datalink是与微软合作设计的?

这里有一些关于微软的有趣事实,可能会让你非常吃惊。

1. 微软最初有一个略微不同的名字

 

很少有公司的名字能像微软这样被人认识。然而,该公司最初由公司联合创始人保罗-艾伦命名为Micro-Soft,是微型计算机和软件两个词的组合。

2. 最初的微软标志是在不到一天的时间内创造的

 

多年来,微软已经拥有几个不同的标志,每一个都是一样的可识别性。然而,联合创始人比尔-盖茨和保罗-艾伦花了不到一天的时间就设计出了微软的最初标识。

3. 音乐家 Brian Eno 创作了著名的 Microsoft 95 Jingle

 

多产的音乐家 Brian Eno 以与 David Bowie 和 Coldplay 等音乐表演者的合作而闻名,他是 Microsoft Windows 95 启动主题背后的大脑。

Eno 想出了这个 6 秒的叮当声,被称为“微软之声”,承认他在 Mac 上创造了声音,并且在 BBC Radio 4 的采访中从未使用过 PC。

4. Windows操作系统曾经有一个非常不同的名字

 

 

虽然我们都知道比尔-盖茨是一个疯狂的成功商人,但他的营销能力却并不是那么出色。

当最初的Windows操作系统仍在开发中时,盖茨希望将其称为 "界面管理器"。这个名字在内部使用了一段时间,并计划在操作系统最终向公众发布时使用同一名称。

然而,当微软的营销部门听到这个名字时,他们说服盖茨将其改为Windows,这是指用户在使用操作系统时与计算机屏幕上的 "窗口 "进行交互。该操作系统于1985年作为Windows 1.0发布。

5. 微软Office实际上是在Mac上首次亮相

 

Microsoft Office是该公司最知名的软件产品之一,最受欢迎的产品包括Microsoft Word、Excel和Power Point。尽管与微软有着明显的联系,但有些人可能会感到惊讶,最初,微软Office在登陆Windows之前就已经在Mac上首次亮相。

Microsoft Office的第一个版本于1989年在Mac上发布,一年后进入Windows。

比尔-盖茨内部泄露的电子邮件显示,发生这种情况的原因是苹果的平台比Windows更灵活,这使得在将新产品引入Windows之前在那里测试更容易。

6. 微软员工被昵称为“Softies”

 

虽然你可能会把微软的普通员工想象成一个严肃的开发人员,但他们有一个非常可爱的绰号“Softie”。在100多个国家拥有180000多名员工,平均而言,Softie以生活在美国的男性居多。

7. 微软曾将苹果从破产中拯救出来

 

虽然他们互为竞争对手,但曾有一段时间,微软帮助拯救了苹果的破产。

1997年,当苹果处于破产边缘时,微软向该公司投资了1.5亿美元。虽然这使苹果免于崩溃,但当史蒂夫-乔布斯在1997年作为苹果首席执行官首次出现在Macworld波士顿会议上宣布这项投资时,粉丝们对此举并不热心,并以嘘声回应。

这项投资对双方都有利,因为苹果撤销了它对微软的诉讼,指控微软抄袭其操作系统。苹果还使微软的IE浏览器成为Mac上的默认浏览器。

也许微软在这项投资中最大的好处是摆脱了与司法部的法律纠纷,司法部当时正准备对微软提起反垄断诉讼,指控其在个人电脑市场上非法垄断。帮助个人电脑领域的一个竞争对手,使微软免于被分裂成两个实体。

8. 微软是一个创纪录的专利拥有者

 

微软拥有7万多件专利,其中5万多件目前仍在使用。每年都有数以千计的专利申请,再加上通过公司收购获得的专利,微软是世界上最大的专利持有者之一。

9. 微软设计了最初的智能手表之一

 

虽然智能手表的流行是最近才出现的现象,但对于一些人来说,微软参与设计最初的智能手表可能令人惊讶。在与手表制造商Timex的合作下,Timex Datalink于1994年发布,其灵感来源于当时流行的PDA的替代品。

这款手表有一个液晶显示屏,具有高科技功能,包括从电脑无线下载信息,以及将电话号码存储在手表的存储器中。该手表还获得了美国宇航局(NASA)的太空任务认证,甚至与宇航员佩戴的各种型号的手表一起在太空中使用。

虽然这款手表的设计在当时是开创性的,但它从未在商业上起飞,也没有持续到新的千年。

10. 为什么井盖是圆形的?

 

作为世界顶级的科技公司之一,微软已经开发了自己的方法,以尽可能吸引最好的人才。该公司因在面试过程中向未来的员工提出古怪和意想不到的问题而赢得了声誉。

据传,微软会问一些问题,如 "为什么井盖是圆的",这对技术人员来说似乎很奇怪,但需要面试者跳出框框,发挥创造力,想出一个答案。

微软继续主宰科技界

从 1975 年微软成立至今,经历了一段漫长的旅程。从那时起,该公司发展并开发了许多我们今天使用的出色的软件和硬件产品。

微软在科技领域的主导地位没有放缓的迹象,我们相信该公司将在未来几年继续设计和创新新产品和服务。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/4321.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情