What is UFS 4.0 and what does it mean for the future of smartphones?

Xiaobai Software  2022-05-26 10: 42  read 257 views

When it comes to the type of storage that powers smartphones, UFS (Universal Flash Memory) has become the norm.It has even replaced eMMC storage in most budget smartphones.Now, Samsung hopes that by usingUFS 4.0Storage standards take it to the next level.

 

So, what is the new feature and how does it outperform its predecessor?we'll take you through the newUFS 4.0technology, itUFS 3.1How does it compare, and how good it could be for the future of Android smartphones.

What is UFS 4.0?

 

UFS 4.0 is the next generation of UFS technology.This new UFS 4.0 storage standard arrives two years after Samsung announced it and promises twice the performance.

Using its seventh-generation V-NAND flash technology and an in-house proprietary controller, Samsung designed UFS 4.0.It also incorporates the UniPro 2.0 transport layer (which connects components to the chipset to transmit data) and the MIPI M-PHY v5.0 physical layer.

It's complicated, so let's break it down. NAND flash is a storage technology that retains data without power. V-NAND is an improvement over NAND technology because the cell planes are stacked vertically.This results in increased speed, longer lifespan, and lower power consumption.Samsung has incorporated this technology into UFS 4.0, although the precise proprietary controller it uses is unclear.

UFS 4.0 and UFS 3.1 How does it compare?

UFS 4.0 is a major improvement over UFS 3.1. UFS 4.0 can provide sequential read and write speeds of 4200MB/s and 2800MB/s, respectively.By comparison, UFS 3.1 offers sequential read and write speeds of 2100MB/s and 1200MB/s, respectively.

In addition, UFS 4.0 has a maximum bandwidth of up to 23.2Gbps per channel, which is twice the speed of UFS 3.1. The UFS interface supports dual-channel transmission, allowing simultaneous read and write operations.This improvement benefits 5G smartphones, automotive applications, and AR/VR devices that require a lot of data processing.

In terms of power efficiency, Samsung has made significant progress with UFS 4.0.It consumes 46% less power than the previous generation while still delivering twice the performance.

Samsung has kept its compact size up to 11 x 13 x 1mm to improve its compatibility with smartphones and other electronic devices.In addition, Samsung said that UFS 4.0 supports a maximum capacity of 1TB, which is double the 3.1GB of UFS 512.This storage capacity is more than enough for smartphones and portable devices.

What does UFS 4.0 mean for the future of Android smartphones?

 

Samsung Semiconductor has announced that mass production of UFS 4.0 will begin in the third quarter of 2022.Starting with the Galaxy S23 series, the upcoming top-of-the-line Samsung smartphones will feature the latest UFS 4.0 technology.We're likely to expect OEMs like OnePlus, Xiaomi, Google, and Oppo to adopt this next-gen storage standard by 2023.

Adding UFS 4.0 to Android smartphones will bring them even more functionality.Many companies are adopting 5G technology, which requires faster read and write speeds.As the number of 5G-enabled devices increases, UFS 4.0 appears to be the right technology to deliver the required performance.

UFS 4.0 is the next flash storage solution

Most smartphone makers use Samsung's high-end UFS storage solutions, so the latest UFS 4.0 offers a compelling option for upcoming Android smartphones.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/4306.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

什么是UFS 4.0,它对智能手机的未来意味着什么?

小白软件  2022-05-26 10:42  阅读 140 次浏览 次

当涉及到为智能手机提供动力的存储类型时,UFS(通用闪存)已经成为常态。它甚至已经取代了大多数经济型智能手机的eMMC存储。现在,三星希望通过使用UFS 4.0存储标准将其提升到新的水平。

 

那么,新功能是什么,它如何优于其前身?我们将带你了解新的UFS 4.0技术,它与UFS 3.1相比如何,以及它对Android智能手机的未来有多大的好处。

什么是UFS 4.0?

 

UFS 4.0是下一代的UFS技术。这个全新的UFS 4.0存储标准在三星宣布两年后到来,并承诺其性能是前者的两倍。

利用其第七代V-NAND闪存技术和内部专有控制器,三星设计了UFS 4.0。它还纳入了UniPro 2.0传输层(将组件连接到芯片组以传输数据)和MIPI M-PHY v5.0物理层。

这很复杂,所以让我们把它分解一下。NAND闪存是一种存储技术,可以在没有电的情况下保留数据。V-NAND是NAND技术的一个改进,因为其中的单元平面是垂直堆叠的。这导致了速度的提高,寿命的延长,以及功耗的降低。三星已将这项技术纳入UFS 4.0,尽管它所使用的精确的专有控制器尚不清楚。

UFS 4.0 与 UFS 3.1 相比如何?

UFS 4.0是对UFS 3.1的重大改进。UFS 4.0可以提供连续的读取和写入速度,分别达到4200MB/s和2800MB/s。相比之下,UFS 3.1提供的顺序读取和写入速度分别为2100MB/s和1200MB/s。

此外,UFS 4.0每条通道的最大带宽高达23.2Gbps,是UFS 3.1速度的两倍。UFS接口支持双通道传输,允许同时进行读写操作。这一改进有利于5G智能手机、汽车应用和需要大量数据处理的AR/VR设备。

就电源效率而言,三星在UFS 4.0方面取得了重大进展。它的功耗比上一代产品低46%,同时还能提供两倍的性能。

三星保持了其紧凑的尺寸,最大尺寸为11 x 13 x 1毫米,以提高其与智能手机和其他电子设备的兼容性。此外,三星表示,UFS 4.0支持最大容量为1TB,是UFS 3.1的512GB的两倍。这个存储容量对于智能手机和便携式设备来说是绰绰有余的。

UFS 4.0对安卓智能手机的未来意味着什么?

 

三星半导体宣布,UFS 4.0的大规模生产将在2022年第三季度开始。从Galaxy S23系列开始,即将推出的顶级三星智能手机将采用最新的UFS 4.0技术。我们很可能期待OnePlus、小米、谷歌和Oppo等OEM厂商在2023年前采用这种下一代存储标准。

在Android智能手机中加入UFS 4.0将为他们带来更多功能。许多公司正在采用5G技术,这需要更快的读写速度。随着支持5G的设备数量的增加,UFS 4.0似乎是提供所需性能的合适技术。

UFS 4.0是下一个闪存存储解决方案

大多数智能手机制造商都使用三星的高端UFS存储解决方案,因此,最新的UFS 4.0为即将推出的安卓智能手机提供了引人注目的选择。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/4306.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情