How to Find Saved Passwords on Mac

Xiaobai Software  2022-05-18 12: 08  read 223 views

It's frustrating when you're on a login page and can't remember your password, or your browser doesn't automatically fill in a saved password for you.If you think you've saved an account password somewhere on your Mac but can't remember the exact location, here are all the places to check.

1. In iCloud Keychain

iCloud Keychain is Apple's built-in password manager for iPhone, iPad, and Mac devices.If you use multiple Apple devices, your account passwords may be stored here.

When you use Safari, it will use iCloud Keychain to show you a prompt, or auto-fill saved passwords on the appropriate website.But if this option does not appear, you can manually look for these passwords.In MacOS, you can access your saved iCloud Keychain passwords in Safari or in System Preferences.

Find Saved Passwords in Safari

Follow the steps below to view all your saved passwords in Safari for Mac.

1. Open the Safari browser and press Cmd+Comma.Alternatively, from the top menu bar, you can click Safari > Preferences.

2. Click Passcode to authenticate with your Mac's passcode or Touch ID.

3. Using the search box, find the password you need by entering your website name, username or email.You can also scroll down through the list of your saved passwords to find one.

4. Once you have found the desired saved account details, move the mouse pointer over the password point to see it.From here, you can hold down the Control key to copy the password.

 

Find saved passwords in System Preferences

To see your saved iCloud Keychain passwords in System Preferences, open System Preferences and click Passwords.After that, use your Mac's passcode or Touch ID to authenticate.Just like Safari, use the search box or manually scroll through the list to find the desired password.And if you find the password, hover over it to see it or control-click to copy it.

2. In a third-party browser

If you don't use Safari, or you use it with other browsers, you may have some passwords saved in your third-party internet browser.Most of these apps, like Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, have built-in password managers.

Find passwords in Chrome and Chromium browsers

Chrome is the most popular browser, and you probably have it as your first or second browser on your Mac.If you sign up for a service or website with Chrome, it's possible that its passwords are stored in Google Password Manager.

Here's how to access your saved passwords in the Chrome browser on Mac:

1. Open Google Chrome and press Cmd+Comma.Alternatively, click Chrome from the menu bar and select Preferences.An alternative, however, is to tap the three dots icon in the upper right and select Settings.

2. Click AutoFill.

3. Click "Password".

4. Use the search box or scroll down to see if you have your account credentials saved here.If you find the account, click the eye button and enter your Mac's password to view the password.You can also click the three-dot button and choose Copy Password.

 

 

Besides Chrome, if you use other Chromium-based browsers like Microsoft's Edge or Brave on the Mac, the steps to view your saved passwords should be the same, with some visual changes.

Find Passwords in Firefox

If you use Firefox, then make sure you check its password manager to see if you find your account details saved there.Here's how to do it.

1. Open the Firefox browser on your Mac and click the three-line icon at the top left.

2. Click "Password".

3. Now, use the search box or scroll through your saved passwords to find the one you need.From here, you can reveal the password and even copy it with a click.

3. In a password manager app

Do you use a third-party password manager app on your Mac, such as1PasswordOrDashlane?If it is, open it and look for the saved password there.

It's also possible that you didn't download a password manager app on your Mac, but you used its browser extension or used it on the web.So make sure to check the website or extension accordingly.

4. In the Notes app

Some people save their passwords in the Notes app of their choice.If you vaguely remember doing so, make sure you open the Apple Notes app, or any other note-taking app you use on your Mac, such as Simplenote, Evernote, OneNote, etc.

Go through your notes and folders and find a folder where you write down your password.

The person who keeps the password in the note may mention it briefly or indirectly so that someone who inadvertently sees the note or has access to their Mac cannot decipher the password.For example, if the password is Timothy@August2021, you might write it as MyDog@AdoptionMonthYear.

Also, make sure to check your locked notes when you're in a note-taking app.Most likely, you secured the password by adding a lock to the note.

5. In a folder on your Mac

In addition to the above places, it is also a good idea to check different folders such as Documents, Downloads and Desktop for screenshots, PDFs or TXT files that may have your password.Aside from the password, if you misplaced the backup code for two-factor authentication, you might be able to find it.

In addition to manually searching through various folders, you can also press Cmd + Space to open Spotlight.Here, use search terms like TXT, backup or password to see if you can find something relevant.

Don't forget to check your other devices

Now, you know that there are several places on your Mac to look for saved passwords.However, if you can't find the password you need on your Mac, try searching on your mobile device.It's possible that you've signed up for a service in your web browser that doesn't sync with your Mac.Therefore, passwords may be stored in the device's browser.

If all else fails, reset your password

Most likely, the password you're looking for should be somewhere on the Mac we mentioned above.However, if you still can't find it, your only option is to reset the forgotten password and set a new one.Typically, there is a prompt on the login screen that allows you to reset your password.After doing this, make sure to save it in a password manager, or write it down in a safe place to avoid similar situations in the future.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/4104.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

如何在Mac上查找已保存的密码

小白软件  2022-05-18 12:08  阅读 145 次浏览 次

当你在登录页面上却记不起密码,或者浏览器没有自动为你填写保存的密码时,你会感到沮丧。如果你认为你在Mac电脑上的某个地方保存了一个帐户密码,但不记得确切的位置,下面是所有可以检查的地方。

1. 在iCloud Keychain中

iCloud Keychain是苹果公司为iPhone、iPad和Mac设备设计的内置密码管理器。如果你使用多个苹果设备,你的账户密码有可能保存在这里。

当你使用Safari浏览器时,它会使用iCloud Keychain向你显示提示,或在适当的网站上自动填写保存的密码。但如果这个选项没有出现,你可以手动寻找这些密码。在MacOS中,你可以在Safari或系统偏好中访问你保存的iCloud Keychain密码。

在Safari浏览器中查找已保存的密码

按照以下步骤,在Mac版Safari浏览器中查看你所有保存的密码。

1.  打开Safari浏览器,按Cmd+逗号键。或者,从顶部的菜单栏,你可以点击Safari浏览器>首选项。

2.  点击密码,使用Mac的密码或Touch ID进行验证。

3.  使用搜索框,通过输入网站名称、用户名或电子邮件,找到你需要的密码。你也可以在你保存的密码列表中向下滚动,找到一个。

4.  一旦你找到所需的保存的账户细节,将鼠标指针移到密码点上,就可以看到它。从这里,你可以按住Control键来复制密码。

 

在系统偏好设置中查找已保存的密码

要在系统偏好设置中看到你保存的iCloud钥匙串密码,请打开系统偏好设置并点击密码。之后,使用Mac的密码或Touch ID进行认证。就像Safari浏览器一样,使用搜索框或手动滚动列表来寻找所需的密码。而如果你找到了密码,将鼠标悬停在它上面,就可以看到或用Control点击复制它。

2. 在第三方浏览器中

如果你不使用Safari,或者你与其他浏览器一起使用,你可能有一些密码保存在你的第三方互联网浏览器中。这些应用程序中的大多数,如谷歌浏览器和Mozilla Firefox,都有内置的密码管理器。

在Chrome和Chromium浏览器中寻找密码

Chrome是最流行的浏览器,你可能把它作为你在Mac上的首选或第二个浏览器。如果你在Chrome上注册了一个服务或网站,它的密码有可能保存在谷歌密码管理器中。

以下是如何在Mac上的Chrome浏览器中访问你保存的密码:

1.  打开谷歌浏览器,按Cmd+逗号。或者,从菜单栏点击Chrome,选择偏好。然而,另一种方法是点击右上方的三个点图标,选择设置。

2.  点击自动填表。

3.  点击 "密码"。

4.  使用搜索框或向下滚动,看看你是否在这里保存了账户凭证。如果你找到了这个账户,点击眼睛按钮,输入你的Mac的密码,查看密码。你也可以点击三个点的按钮,选择复制密码。

 

 

除了Chrome,如果你使用其他基于Chromium的浏览器,如微软的Edge或Mac上的Brave,查看保存的密码的步骤应该是相同的,只是在视觉上有一些变化。

在Firefox中寻找密码

如果你使用火狐浏览器,那么请确保你检查它的密码管理器,看看你是否发现账户的详细信息保存在这里。以下是如何做到这一点。

1.  在你的Mac上打开火狐浏览器,点击左上方的三条线图标。

2.  点击 "密码"。

3.  现在,使用搜索框或滚动浏览你保存的密码,找到你需要的密码。从这里,你可以揭示密码,甚至可以通过点击复制它。

3. 在密码管理器应用程序中

你是否在你的Mac上使用第三方密码管理器应用程序,如1PasswordDashlane?如果是,请打开它,在那里寻找保存的密码。

也有可能你没有在Mac上下载密码管理器应用程序,但你使用了它的浏览器扩展或在网络上使用它。因此,请确保对网站或扩展进行相应检查。

4. 在Notes应用程序中

有些人把密码保存在他们选择的Notes应用程序中。如果你隐约记得有这么做,请确保你打开苹果笔记应用,或你在Mac上使用的任何其他笔记应用,如Simplenote、Evernote、OneNote等。

翻阅笔记和文件夹,找到一个记下密码的文件夹。

在笔记中保留密码的人可能会简要或间接地提到它,以便不经意间看到该笔记的人或能接触到他们的Mac的人无法解读密码。例如,如果密码是Timothy@August2021,你可能把它写成MyDog@AdoptionMonthYear。

此外,当你在一个笔记应用程序中时,确保检查你的锁定笔记。最有可能的是,你通过给该笔记添加一个锁来确保密码的安全。

5. 在你的Mac的文件夹中

除了上述地方,检查不同的文件夹,如文档、下载和桌面,以寻找可能有你的密码的屏幕截图、PDF或TXT文件,也是一个好主意。除了密码,如果你把双因素认证的备份代码放错了地方,你也许可以找到它。

除了在各种文件夹内手动搜索外,你还可以按Cmd + Space键来打开Spotlight。在这里,使用TXT、备份或密码等搜索词,看看是否能找到相关内容。

不要忘记检查你的其他设备

现在,你知道在你的Mac上有几个地方可以寻找保存的密码。但是,如果你在Mac上找不到你需要的密码,可以尝试在你的移动设备上搜索。可能是你在网络浏览器中注册了一项服务,而这项服务并不与你的Mac同步。因此,密码可能被保存在该设备的浏览器中。

如果所有其他方法都失败,请重置密码

最有可能的是,你要找的密码应该在我们上面提到的Mac上的某个地方。但是,如果你还是找不到,你唯一的选择就是重置被遗忘的密码,设置一个新的密码。通常情况下,在登录屏幕上有提示,允许你重置密码。做完这些后,确保将其保存在密码管理器中,或记在一个安全的地方,以便将来避免类似情况。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/4104.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情