How much memory do you need?How to tell and when to upgrade your PC storage

Xiaobai Software  2022-05-06 10: 46  read 206 views

RAMShort for random access memory, it's an essential part of your desktop or laptop, or even your smartphone or tablet.

However, almost every device has a different number ofRAM.Despite its importance, tech manufacturers don't always easily tell you how much you need.

Next, we'll show you why RAM matters, how much you might need, and whether it's worth it to increase RAM.

Memory is an important part of any computer

If you're going to multitask on your PC, such as having multiple applications open at the same time - then you're heavily dependent on your system's memory.Multitasking can make your device slow if you don't have enough memory.

 

You can think of RAM as short-term memory for your device.When you leave a program running in the background, RAM keeps track of where you left off, so you can switch back to it without waiting for it to load again.

That said, if you don't have enough RAM, your device will be very slow to respond when you try to switch tasks.

How much memory do you need?

8GB is the standard amount of memory for an average desktop computer.In addition to this, many people will increase the capacity to 16GB, and occasionally users will choose 32GB.

RAM is contained in a computer's "memory stick".When buying RAM, you'll see that these sticks come in various combinations - for example, if you have 16GB of RAM, you can buy:

A 16GB memory stick

Two 8GB memory sticks

Four 4GB memory sticks

And so on.The combination you get doesn't really matter.You just need to make sure it all fits in your computer case and is compatible with the rest of your computer.

 

So how much memory do you need?

8GB RAM

If you spend most of your computer time writing Word documents and playing cards, your computer probably doesn't need a lot of memory.The standard 8GB is fine, as it will cover most of your basic computer needs.You can even open a few tabs in the browser without experiencing a huge performance hit.

If you prefer to use design software, you might be able to choose some less resource-intensive options, such as a basic Blender or Photoshop project.Your computer may have difficulty using software like Maya or Unreal Engine 5.

If you like modern games, you can easily play some games, but don't expect your computer to run Cyberpunk 2077 smoothly, as he recommends 12GB of RAM.

16GB RAM

To meet the demands of modern software, 16GB of RAM is what most people need.This amount will help you strike a good balance between running permanent applications and resource-consuming applications on your PC.Therefore, if you frequently open a lot of tabs in Google Chrome, you will find that your computer hardly ever stutters at all.

Plus, gamers will find that 16GB is more than adequate for running demanding games at the highest settings (though other factors like graphics card and CPU speed also come into play).It's also ideal for artists who will use Photoshop, Blender, and Adobe Premier Professionals, but will eventually need more memory as their projects get more complex.

32GB RAM

If all you want to do is use standard apps, work and play games over the internet, then 32GB is a bit too much.As mentioned earlier, 16GB is more than enough for most people, and even provides some extra leeway to push their PC to its limits without hitting a major bottleneck.

However, if you're a professional designer or editor whose projects tend to get complicated, 32GB is ideal.For example, if you are rendering 4K resolution video or rendering textures in Adobe Premiere or Photoshop, you will need at least 32GB of RAM.

And, if you're creating a high-quality 32D animation or game, you might even need more than XNUMXGB of RAM to be able to meet the requirements of the software you're using.

Memory on Phones and Tablets

As far as phones and tablets go, there's been a recent race in memory.

So while your Android or iPhone reasonably only needs 4GB of RAM, the standard for newly released smartphones is 8GB.You can't upgrade your phone's memory unless you're really tech-savvy.

What to do if you need more memory

Memory is one of the easiest parts to upgrade in a computer.It's a simple matter of determining how much RAM you currently have, buying more, and placing it in the correct slot inside the case, where exactly that slot will depend on your motherboard.

 

Laptops, on the other hand, are a little trickier, most modern laptops have memory sticks soldered together, so they can't be replaced without removing all of the internals.If you want to upgrade your laptop's RAM, you're probably better off buying a new one, or taking it to a professional repair and upgrade shop.

However, upgrading your memory may come with diminishing returns.The jump from 8GB to 16GB will be very noticeable.Unless you're doing very intensive work, 16GB to 32GB probably won't give your system much of a boost.And beyond 32GB, any boost is likely to be negligible.

When should you acquire more memory

You'll start to notice signs when your computer needs more memory.Here are a few you should pay attention to:

1. Your computer warns you that it is running out of memory.

2. The computer becomes sluggish or keeps crashing.

3. Apps load slowly, crash frequently, or take longer to respond.

4. It takes longer than usual to install updates and hinders your productivity because you can't use your computer.

5. Opening multiple applications takes a long time or does not open at all.

6. Tabs in the browser keep refreshing or do not load completely.

7. Connections in Word or Google Docs have a delayed response, eg, appearing on the screen for a second or more after typing.

What is virtual memory?

In addition to memory, you have virtual memory, which is where graphics-intensive games and applications temporarily store the graphics information needed to render the next frame.This includes textures, images, meshes and shaders.

Virtual memory lives on your graphics card (GPU), 8GB is usually all you need for most gaming or design use cases.However, if you can get 12GB of virtual memory, you're guaranteed to have plenty, especially if you like to crank up the graphics settings to max.

in conclusion

Memory is an important part of your computer. It can directly affect the running speed of your computer. If you feel that you need to increase the memory, you should not hesitate, because this skill increases the speed of your computer and also improves your work efficiency.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3796.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

你需要多少内存?如何判断以及何时应该升级你的电脑存储设备

小白软件  2022-05-06 10:46  阅读 75 次浏览 次

RAM是随机存取存储器的简称,是你的台式电脑或笔记本电脑,甚至是你的智能手机或平板电脑的重要组成部分。

然而,几乎每台设备都有不同数量的RAM。尽管它很重要,但技术制造商并不总是能轻易地告诉你需要多少。

接下来,我们将向你说明为什么RAM很重要,你可能需要多少,以及增加RAM是否值得。

内存是任何计算机的一个重要组成部分

如果你打算在你的电脑上进行多任务处理,例如同时打开多个应用程序--那么你在很大程度上依赖于你的系统的内存。如果没有足够的内存,多任务处理会使你的设备运行缓慢。

 

你可以把RAM看作是你设备的短期内存。当你让一个程序在后台运行时,RAM会跟踪你离开的位置,这样你就可以切换回它,而不用等待它再次加载。

也就是说,如果你没有足够的内存,当你试图切换任务时,你的设备的响应速度会非常缓慢。

你需要多大的内存?

8GB是普通台式计算机的标准内存量。除此之外,很多人会将容量提高到16GB,偶尔用户也会选择32GB。

RAM包含在电脑的“记忆棒”中。在购买RAM时,你会看到这些棒有多种组合——例如,如果你的内存为16GB,你可以购买:

一根16GB记忆棒

两根8GB的记忆棒

四根4GB的记忆棒

以此类推。你得到的组合其实并不重要。你只需要确保它都适合你的电脑机箱,并与你电脑的其他部件兼容。

 

那么你需要多少内存呢?

8GB内存

如果你把大部分的电脑时间花在撰写Word文档和玩纸牌上,你的电脑可能不需要大量的内存。标准的8GB就可以了,因为它可以满足你大部分的基本电脑需求。你甚至能够在浏览器中打开几个标签,而不会遇到性能上的巨大冲击。

如果你喜欢使用设计软件,你或许可以选择一些对资源要求较低的选项,比如基本的Blender或Photoshop项目。你的电脑可能会在使用像Maya或Unreal Engine 5这样的软件时遇到困难。

如果你喜欢现代游戏,你可以轻松地玩一些游戏,但不要指望你的电脑能顺利运行Cyberpunk 2077,因为他推荐的内存是12GB。

16GB内存

为了满足现代软件的需求,16GB的内存是大多数人需要的。这一数量将有助于在你的电脑上运行常设应用程序和资源消耗型应用程序之间取得良好平衡。因此,如果你经常在谷歌浏览器中打开很多标签,你会发现你的电脑几乎不会出现任何卡顿。

另外,游戏玩家会发现,16GB可以满足在最高设置下运行高要求游戏的需求(尽管其他因素如显卡和CPU速度等其他因素也发挥了作用)。对于那些会使用Photoshop、Blender和Adobe Premier专业人士的艺术家来说,这也是理想的选择,但随着项目越来越复杂,他们最终会需要更多的内存。

32GB内存

如果你想做的只是使用标准的应用程序,在互联网上工作和玩游戏,那么32GB就有点太多了。如前所述,16GB对大多数人来说是绰绰有余的,甚至可以提供一些额外的回旋余地,使他们的电脑达到极限而不至于遇到重大瓶颈。

然而,如果你是一个专业的设计师或编辑,他们的项目往往变得复杂,那么32GB是理想的。例如,如果你正在渲染 4K 分辨率的视频或在Adobe Premiere或Photoshop中渲染纹理,你将需要至少32GB内存。

而且,如果你正在创建一个高质量的三维动画或游戏,你甚至可能需要超过32GB的内存,以便能够满足你所使用的软件的要求。

手机和平板电脑上的内存

就手机和平板电脑而言,最近在内存方面出现了一场竞赛。

因此,尽管你的安卓或iPhone合理地只需要4GB的内存,但新发布的智能手机的标准是8GB。除非你真的很懂技术,否则你无法升级你的手机内存。

如果你需要更多的内存,该怎么做

内存是电脑中最容易升级的部件之一。这只是一个简单的问题,即确定你目前有多少内存,购买更多的内存,并将其放入机箱内的正确插槽,这个插槽的具体位置将取决于你的主板。

 

而笔记本电脑会麻烦一些,大多数现代笔记本电脑的内存条都是焊接在一起的,所以如果不拆掉所有的内部零件,就无法更换它们。如果你想升级你的笔记本电脑的RAM,你可能最好买一个新的,或者把它送到专业的维修和升级店。

然而,升级你的内存可能会带来递减的回报。从8GB到16GB的跳跃将是非常明显的。除非你正在做非常密集的工作,否则16GB到32GB可能不会给你的系统带来很大的提升。而超过32GB,任何提升都可能是可以忽略不计的。

什么时候你应该获取更多的内存

当你的电脑需要更多内存时,你会开始注意到一些迹象。以下有几个你应该注意的:

1.  你的电脑警告你,它的内存正在耗尽。

2.  电脑变得迟钝或不断崩溃。

3.  应用程序加载变慢,经常崩溃,或需要更长的时间来响应。

4.  安装更新所需的时间比平时长,并且由于你无法使用计算机而妨碍了你的工作效率。

5.  打开多个应用程序需要很长时间或根本打不开。

6.  浏览器中的标签会不断刷新或不能完全加载。

7.  在Word或Google Docs中的连接有延迟反应,比如,打字后一秒钟或更长时间才出现在屏幕上。

什么是虚拟内存?

除了内存之外,你还有虚拟内存,虚拟内存是图形要求高的游戏和应用程序临时存储渲染下一帧所需的图形信息的地方。 这包括纹理、图像、网格和着色器。

虚拟内存存在于你的显卡(GPU)上,8GB通常是你在大多数游戏或设计用例中所需要的。但是,如果你能得到12GB的虚拟内存,你就能保证有足够的空间,特别是如果你喜欢把图形设置调到最大。

结论

内存是你电脑中重要的一环,它能直接影响你电脑的运行速度,如果你觉得需要增加内存,那你应该毫不犹豫,因为这技能增加你电脑速度,也能提高你的工作效率。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3796.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情