10 common smartphone myths and fallacies you need to stop believing

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-24 14: 20  read 99 views

As with everything in tech, phones are prone to fallacies and rumors that don't seem to go away.We're going to tackle some of the most popular smartphone myths and see if we can do our part to end the misinformation surrounding today's smartphones.

Now, let's get down to the ten most common smartphone myths and misconceptions:

1. Apps running in the background should be closed to save battery power and avoid slowdowns

 

Both Apple and Android allow apps to run in the background for more efficient multitasking.This myth seems valid because any additional processes will use system resources, and the more programs you run, the slower your device will be.

However, both operating systems limit how much these apps can do while they're running in the background.But the battery drain is very minimal, and in terms of slowing down the phone, multitasking is unlikely to be the culprit.

A side effect of this rumor is that both markets are flooded with a plethora of task-killer apps.These apps are basically useless, and while they get work done by closing background apps, they don't actually save much in terms of resources or battery life.

Android will automatically kill tasks when more memory is needed, as will iPhones.Neither will show a noticeable difference without any apps running in the background.

2. Automatic brightness setting can save battery

 

This is completely wrong.The idea is that using the smartphone's onboard light sensor can automatically calibrate the ideal brightness setting to save power.

The reality is that this might save a little battery power by dimming the screen at the right moment.Still, the pesky light sensor consumes more power throughout the day by constantly pinging the CPU to process the data it collects and decide if a lower (or higher) brightness setting is appropriate.

3. You should let your battery fully drain before charging

 

Lithium-ion batteries actually perform better when kept charged, while older NiCd and NiMH batteries last longer when you let them fully drain and then charge to 100%.

Modern batteries don't face the same problem because they don't have "battery memory" like older NiCd and NiMH rechargeable batteries.

However, there is still some truth to this rumor.While it won't make your battery last longer, some experts believe you should do 40-0 cycles every three months or after 100 partial cycles -- that is, let it drain completely before fully charging it.

This is not to increase battery life, but to help calibrate the readings shown on the display so that they remain accurate.

4. Turn off the phone/remove the SIM card/put it in airplane mode to prevent you from being tracked

 

First, let's talk about Airplane Mode.Putting your phone in airplane mode basically turns off Wi-Fi and cell service, acting as a "do not disturb" switch for your phone.This won't stop anyone from tracking you, especially via satellite.You see, in most modern phones, you can still use GPS, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi connections in airplane mode.

The truth is that phones need power to transmit a signal, so turning off the phone or (better yet) removing the battery does keep you from being tracked.Just, not always.

Phones infected with certain types of malware, like Android's old-school PowerOffHijack, trick the usual shutdown animations to make your phone appear as if it's turned off.Actually, it doesn't, and it might be tracking you.

Removing the SIM card doesn't work either, as your phone still has a built-in identifier that can be detected by Stingray devices or fake cell towers used by the NSA.These devices are used by U.S. government agencies, the military, and law enforcement.

The only foolproof way to avoid tracking is to remove the battery.Of course, if you're using a phone that doesn't allow you to access the battery, the only real options are to ditch the phone or invest in a privacy case, which is essentially a Faraday cage for your phone.Nothing can come in and nothing can go out.

5. Bluetooth/Wi-Fi Direct will drain the battery

 

Bluetooth and Wi-Fi Direct enable you to quickly transfer large files or other data between devices.While we can debate which is better, the truth is that they are both very useful and very similar.But will they drain your battery fast?

The answer is no, the new generation of Bluetooth and Wi-Fi Direct consumes very little power when not in use.Once you enable another device and start transferring files, they will start draining your battery.Until then, just enabling them won't cause any noticeable battery drain.

6. Apps downloaded from Google Play or Apple App Store are completely safe

Many of us are usually afraid to download APK installation files for Android because we don't trust the source.However, when you download an app from Google Play or the Apple App Store, you naturally feel safe.

While you're right to think so, most of the time, downloading apps from the official store isn't guaranteed to be safe.Many applications connect to the internet and communicate with their servers.This means that malware can be delivered to your phone at any time.

But fear not.Apps from trusted developers are generally safe.They have a whole reputation to maintain.Therefore, they keep their applications clean.However, you might want to be careful with apps from unknown developers.

7. Higher specs mean better performance

 

On the surface, this myth carries some weight, but the truth is, it's not a reliable enough indicator of performance.Android launches dozens of devices every year, some with impressive specs.However, having good specs doesn't always make a phone great.

When it comes to the norm war, cell phone cameras are the worst offenders.The reality is that, aside from image size, a 6400-megapixel camera is likely to be far inferior to an 800-megapixel camera in every important category.The same goes for multi-core processors.

In addition, there are other factors at play.For example, some Android phones have better specs than an iPhone, but that doesn't necessarily mean the phone is faster or better than those with lower specs.The operating system matters, and so does the behavior of the user while using it.

8. Charging your phone overnight will destroy the battery

 

This is another fallacy that was true at one point, but is now completely false as battery and charging technology improves.Older batteries aren't smart enough to realize when they're full, and constant overcharging can reduce battery life over time.

Today's charging mechanisms are smarter.Once your phone is fully charged, it stops draining power.It's perfectly acceptable to charge your smartphone while you sleep.

9. The only charger you should use is the one that came with your phone

 

In a way, this rumor exists only to put money in the pockets of phone makers.While smartphone profit margins are thin, the accessories market accounts for a large portion of the company's revenue.So they have a lot of incentive for you to buy an OEM charger.

The truth is, any charger made to the manufacturer's specifications is safe to use with your phone.

What most consumers don't understand is that there's a difference between a good third-party charger and a cheap knockoff.Premium manufacturers such as Belkin, Amazon, etc. are completely safe to use with your smartphone because they are built to the original specifications of the manufacturer's charger.

On the other hand, knockoffs are known to be quite dangerous.

10. The open-source nature of Android makes it more prone to bugs

 

Open source software, by its very definition, is open.Allowing access to the inner workings of the operating system can lead to vulnerabilities, but you might be surprised how secure Android is as an operating system.

What is not safe is the application.The openness of the app market, and the ability to run apps outside of the centralized Google Play marketplace, makes Android phones more vulnerable to malware than Apple's app store.

Forget these rumors and enjoy your smartphone freely

As you can see above, these rumors and fallacies are baseless.Trust them and act accordingly, and you won't get any good.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3540.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

你需要停止相信的10个常见的关于智能手机的谣言和谬论

小白软件  2022-04-24 14:20  阅读 69 次浏览 次

和科技领域的一切技术一样,手机很容易出现谬论和谣言,而这些谬论和谣言似乎并没有消失。我们将要解决一些最流行的智能手机神话,看看我们是否能尽自己的一份力量来结束围绕今天智能手机的错误信息。

现在,让我们开始了解十个最常见的智能手机谬论和误解:

1.应该关闭后台运行的应用程序,以节省电池电量并避免速度减慢

 

Apple 和 Android 都允许应用程序在后台运行,以便更有效地进行多任务处理。这个神话似乎是合法的,因为任何额外的进程都会使用系统资源,你运行的程序越多,设备的速度就越慢。

然而,两个操作系统都限制了这些应用程序在后台运行时能做多少事。但是电池的耗电量非常小,而且就降低手机速度而言,多任务处理不太可能是罪魁祸首。

这个谣言的一个副作用是,大量的任务杀手应用程序充斥着这两个市场。这些应用基本上是无用的,虽然它们通过关闭后台应用来完成工作,但它们实际上并没有在资源或电池寿命方面节省太多。

Android 会在需要更多内存时自动终止任务,iPhone 也会如此。 如果没有在后台运行任何应用程序,两者都不会显示出明显的差异。

2.自动亮度设置可以节省电池

 

这是完全错误的。这个想法是,使用智能手机的板载光传感器可以自动校准理想的亮度设置以节省电量。

现实情况是,这可能会通过在适当的时候调暗屏幕来节省一点电池电量。尽管如此,讨厌的光传感器通过不断pingCPU来处理它收集的数据并决定是否适合较低(或较高)亮度设置,在一天中会消耗更多的功率。

3. 你应该让你的电池完全耗尽后再充电

 

锂离子电池在保持充电状态时实际上表现得更好,而老式的镍镉和镍氢电池在你让它们完全耗尽后再充电到100%时,可以持续更长时间。

现代电池不会面临同样的问题,因为它们不像老式的镍镉和镍氢充电电池那样有 "电池记忆"。

但是,这个谣言仍然有一定的道理。虽然它不会使你的电池持续更长时间,但一些专家认为您应该每三个月或40个部分周期后进行0-100次循环 - 也就是说,在完全充电之前让它完全耗尽。

这不是为了增加电池的寿命,而是为了帮助校准显示器上显示的读数,使其保持准确。

4.关闭手机/取出SIM卡/将其置于飞行模式可防止您被跟踪

 

首先,让我们来谈谈飞行模式。把你的手机放在飞行模式下,基本上可以关闭Wi-Fi和手机服务,作为你手机的 "请勿打扰 "开关。这不会阻止任何人追踪你,特别是通过卫星。你看,在大多数现代手机中,你仍然可以在飞行模式下使用GPS、蓝牙和Wi-Fi连接。

事实是,手机需要电源来传输信号,所以关闭手机或(更好的是)移除电池确实会让你不被追踪。只是,并不总是如此。

感染了某些类型的恶意软件的手机,比如安卓的老式PowerOffHijack,它欺骗了通常的关机动画,使你的手机看起来好像是关机了。实际上,它并没有,而且它可能在跟踪你。

移除 SIM 卡也不起作用,因为您的手机仍然具有可被 Stingray 设备或 NSA 使用的假手机信号塔检测到的内置标识符。 这些设备都被美国的政府机构、军队和执法部门使用。

避免追踪的唯一万无一失的方法是取出电池。当然,如果你使用的手机不允许你接触到电池,那么唯一真正的选择是放弃手机或投资隐私保护套,这本质上是手机的法拉第笼。没有任何东西能进来,也没有东西能出去。

5.蓝牙/Wi-Fi直连会耗尽电池电量

 

蓝牙和 Wi-Fi Direct 使你能够在设备之间快速传输大文件或其他数据。 虽然我们可以讨论哪个更好,但事实是它们都非常有用且非常相似。 但是它们会快速消耗你的电池吗?

答案是否定的,新一代蓝牙和 Wi-Fi Direct 在不使用时几乎不会消耗电量。 启用另一台设备并开始传输文件后,它们就会开始消耗您的电池。 在此之前,仅启用它们不会导致任何明显的电池消耗。

6.从Google Play或Apple App Store下载的应用程序是完全安全的

我们很多人通常害怕下载安卓的APK安装文件,因为我们不相信来源。然而,当你从Google Play或 Apple App Store下载一个应用程序时,你自然会感到安全。

虽然你这么想是对的,但大多数时候,从官方商店下载应用程序并不能保证安全。许多应用程序连接到互联网并与他们的服务器通信。这意味着恶意软件可以在任何时候被发送到你的手机上。

但是不要害怕。来自受信任的开发商的应用程序通常是安全的。他们有整个声誉需要维护。因此,他们保持他们的应用程序的清洁。不过,你可能要小心来自未知开发者的应用程序。

7. 更高的规格意味着更好的性能

 

从表面上看,这个神话有一定的分量,但事实是,它并不是一个足够可靠的绩效指标。安卓系统每年都会推出数十款设备,其中一些设备的规格令人印象深刻。然而,拥有好的规格并不总是让手机变得很棒。

当涉及到规范战争时,手机摄像头是最严重的违规者。现实情况是,除了图像大小,6400万像素的摄像头在每个重要类别上都可能远不如800万像素的摄像头。多核处理器也是如此。

此外,还有其他因素在起作用。例如,一些安卓手机的规格比iPhone好,但这并不一定意味着该手机比那些规格较低的手机更快或更好。操作系统很重要,用户在使用时的行为也很重要。

8. 给手机充电一整夜会破坏电池

 

这是另一个谬论,在某一时期是真实的,但随着电池和充电技术的改进,它现在是完全错误的。老式电池不够聪明,不能意识到它们什么时候是满的,而且持续过度充电会随着时间的推移减少电池寿命。

今天的充电机制更加智能。一旦你的手机充满电,它就会停止耗电。在你睡觉时给你的智能手机充电是完全可以接受的。

9. 你唯一应该使用的充电器是你的手机所自带的充电器

 

在某种程度上,这个谣言的存在只是为了把钱放进手机制造商的口袋里。虽然智能手机的利润率很低,但配件市场却占了公司收入的很大一部分。因此,他们有很大动力让你购买OEM充电器。

事实是,任何按照制造商的规格制造的充电器都可以安全地与你的手机一起使用。

大多数消费者不了解的是,优质的第三方充电器和廉价的山寨货之间是有区别的。优质制造商,如贝尔金、亚马逊等,与您的智能手机一起使用是完全安全的,因为它们是按照制造商的充电器的原始规格制造的。

另一方面,众所周知,山寨货是相当危险的。

10. Android的开源性质使其更容易出现漏洞

 

开源软件就其本身的定义而言,是开放的。允许访问操作系统的内部工作可能会导致漏洞,但你可能会惊讶地发现,安卓作为一个操作系统是非常安全的。

不安全的是应用程序。应用市场的开放性,以及在集中式Google Play市场之外运行应用的能力,使得安卓手机比苹果的应用商店更容易受到恶意软件的攻击。

忘掉这些谣言,自由地享受你的智能手机

正如你在上面看到的,这些谣言和谬论是毫无根据的。相信它们并据此行事,你不会得到任何好处。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3540.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情