9 Reasons Apple's Products Are So Expensive

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-16 22: 22  read 180 views

Apple's products are often significantly more expensive than those of the competition.While Apple appeared to be leveraging its own brand name at first, it's pricing it far more than one might think.Factors such as Apple's exclusivity ecosystem, privacy policy, marketing costs and high resale value also contribute to the high price of the product.

Next, we'll explain to you several factors that make Apple products so expensive.

1. Apple's Ecosystem

In tech, an ecosystem broadly refers to a group of individual devices that complement each other to form a larger, more useful unit.Take the iPhone and MacBook for example.While both are separate devices, when used together, they increase each other's usability and improve the overall experience.

Apple's ecosystem is different from other companies in that Apple devices usually only connect with other Apple devices and work very well when connected.

The more users enter the ecosystem (by adding more and more Apple products to the ecosystem), the greater the rewards.This, along with the exclusivity of the system, largely contributes to the high prices of Apple products, as users are willing to pay more for an improved experience and get gadgets that are compatible with what they already own.

2. High quality and long life

Apple products often outlast competitors because of their high-quality hardware and software.Hardware is carefully designed, manufactured and assembled using materials such as aluminum.Add-on software (the operating system and other native applications) is optimized to take full advantage of that hardware, since Apple doesn't need to design for any other device.

As a result, the final product not only feels good in the hand and looks good, but it is also durable and performs exceptionally well. Together, Apple's hardware and software provide users with a highly customized, high-quality user experience, forcing them to pay more.

3. Innovation

Apple's technological innovation is another reason for the price hike of its products.The recent appearance of the M1 CPU chip is a good example.

By replacing Intel's CPUs with Apple's own ARM-based chips, Apple not only gets better performance from its Macs and iPads, but it revolutionizes the CPU industry.And Apple has been doing this for a long time; the iPod is a prime example.This behavior has made Apple a thought leader in Silicon Valley.

To continue to lead the tech industry, Apple must invest heavily in the research and development of new technologies.According to Statista, its R&D budget has recently topped $200 billion.

4. Privacy

Apple charges so much because it doesn't sell user data for a profit like many other companies do, and it doesn't have user-tracking software preinstalled.Instead of selling user data, Apple charges users more.As awareness grows about advertisers tracking users, Apple is capitalizing on the fact that privacy is priceless.

 

However, that doesn't mean Apple doesn't track you at all.It makes sense that it does this to improve its own services and products.Without feedback, the company couldn't customize a product so well suited to its users.

5. Free OS, Apps and Updates

Apple's operating system gets one major upgrade every year, and dozens of smaller updates throughout the year.In contrast, versions of Windows come every few years and often require a fee.While Microsoft has claimed that upgrading older versions of Windows to Windows 11 is free, you still have a lot of in-app purchases that cost a lot, like the Office suite.

With a Windows laptop, you have to buy the Office suite to get the workspace tools, and newer versions of them aren't free, you have to buy it too.In macOS, you get Pages, Numbers, and Keynote for free, and you get updates for them for free.

The company had to make significant investments to keep these and more software free.Apple generates this investment by charging customers more.

6. Marketing and Support Fees

 

Product cost is roughly a combination of direct material cost, direct labor cost, and manufacturing overhead.

Here, as you can see, there is no mention of marketing costs and post-purchase service costs, for example, a company has to spend money to sell their product and retain customers.The same goes for Apple: In addition to production costs, the company spends a lot on marketing and support.

For example, all Apple Stores are a way to market Apple products, and they cost a lot.They have iconic infrastructure; they are full of experts; and they provide a great way to interact with the product.Then there's Apple Support, where you can contact a technical service person to troubleshoot issues with your device and ask questions you want to ask.

What's more, Apple is known for delivering some of the most impressive and groundbreaking ads we've ever seen.All of these -- and countless other factors -- are costs in addition to the cost of the product, which explains why Apple charges so much.It would be misleading to simply think that Apple costs $400 to produce an iPhone and that the remaining $600 is profit.

7. Brand building

Apple has become a lifestyle brand by launching products in numerous categories such as watches, phones, computers, headphones, notepads, and more.Add in the intricate detailing, premium feel and perceived value of Apple products.It is a luxury lifestyle brand and owning its products is a symbol of status and luxury lifestyle.

 

Users in this lifestyle want to keep it and are happy to pay the price.Those who weren't wanted that lifestyle and were prepared to pay what Apple asked for.

8. Resale value

三星Galaxy S9和iPhone X都是在2018年发布的,售价分别为700美元和1000美元。今天,一台二手Galaxy S9的价格在50美元至150美元之间(14%的保值率),而一台二手iPhone X的价格仍在150美元至400美元之间(27%的保值率)。

9. Customer Loyalty

Whatever your reasoning, one that will never make Apple reconsider its pricing is its loyal fan base, ready to pay a premium.Apple has seen ridiculous price and revenue growth over the past few years, but so has its product sales and popularity.

 

While all of the above reasons contribute to this cult fan base, perhaps lifestyle brands are the most important.

Are Apple products still worth buying?

These are all reasons why Apple products tend to be more expensive than others.The price may not always be reasonable (like the $1000 Apple Professional Stand), but the important thing is that the product still sells well.

However, that doesn't mean you have to spend too much to get them.For example, when buying an iPhone, you can save money by opting for a refurbished instead of the latest one.While the product won't be brand new, the experience will be complete.

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3344.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

苹果产品如此昂贵的9个原因

小白软件  2022-04-16 22:22  阅读 119 次浏览 次

苹果的产品通常比竞争对手的产品贵得多。虽然一开始苹果似乎是在利用自己的品牌名称,但它的定价远远超出了人们的想象。苹果的独家生态系统、隐私政策、营销成本和高转售价值等因素也导致了产品的高价。

接下来,我们将为你解释苹果产品如此昂贵的几个因素。

1. 苹果的生态系统

在科技领域,生态系统泛指一组单独的设备,它们相互补充,形成一个更大、更有用的单元。以iPhone和MacBook为例。虽然两者都是单独的设备,但如果一起使用,它们会增加彼此的可用性并改善整体体验。

苹果的生态系统与其他公司不同,因为苹果设备通常只与其他苹果设备连接,而且在连接时工作得非常好。

用户进入生态系统的次数越多(通过向生态系统中添加越来越多的苹果产品),回报就越大。这一点,以及系统的排他性在很大程度上促成了苹果产品的高价,因为用户愿意为改进的体验支付更多的费用,并获得与他们已经拥有的产品兼容的小工具。

2. 高品质长寿命

Apple 产品通常因其高质量的硬件和软件而比竞争对手的寿命更长。 硬件经过精心设计、制造和组装,使用铝等材料。 添加软件(操作系统和其他本机应用程序)经过优化以充分利用该硬件,因为 Apple 不需要为任何其他设备进行设计。

因此,最终产品不仅手感好、外观漂亮,而且耐用且性能卓越。 Apple 的硬件和软件共同为用户提供了高度定制的高质量用户体验,迫使他们支付更多费用。

3. 创新

苹果的技术创新是其产品价格上涨的另一个原因。最近出现的M1 CPU芯片就是一个很好的例子。

通过用苹果自有的基于ARM的芯片取代英特尔的CPU,苹果不仅使其Mac和iPad获得了更好的性能,而且还革新了CPU行业。而苹果这样做已经有很长一段时间了;iPod就是一个典型的例子。这种行为使苹果成为硅谷的思想领袖。

为了继续引领科技行业,苹果必须大量投资于新技术的研究和开发。根据Statista的数据,其研发预算最近已高达200亿美元。

4. 隐私

苹果之所以收费如此之高,还因为它不像其他许多公司那样出售用户数据来获利,而且它也没有预装用户跟踪软件。苹果没有出售用户数据,而是向用户收取更多费用。随着人们对广告商追踪用户的意识不断增强,苹果正在利用隐私是无价的这一事实来兑现。

 

然而,这并不意味着苹果根本不跟踪你。它这样做是为了改善自己的服务和产品,这是有意义的。如果没有反馈,该公司无法定制出如此适合其用户的产品。

5. 免费的操作系统、应用程序和更新

苹果的操作系统每年有一次重大升级,全年有几十次较小的更新。与之相比,Windows的版本每隔几年才有一次,而且往往需要付费。虽然微软已经声称旧版Windows升级到Windows 11是免费的,但你仍然有大量的应用内购买,花费很大,比如Office套件。

使用Windows笔记本电脑,你必须购买Office套件才能获得工作区工具,而且它们的新版本也不是免费的,你也必须购买。而在macOS中,你可以免费获得Pages、Numbers和Keynote,而且还可以免费获得它们的更新。

该公司必须进行大量投资,以保持这些软件和更多软件的免费。通过向客户收取更多费用,苹果公司产生了这种投资。

6. 营销和支持费用

 

产品成本大致是直接材料成本、直接劳动力成本和制造间接成本的组合。

在这里,你可以看到,没有提到营销成本和购买后的服务成本,例如,一个公司必须花钱来销售他们的产品和保留客户。苹果公司也是如此:除了生产成本外,该公司还在营销和支持方面花费了大量资金。

例如,所有的苹果商店都是营销苹果产品的一种方式,它们的成本很高。它们有标志性的基础设施;它们充满了专家;它们提供了一种与产品互动的绝佳方式。还有就是苹果支持,你可以联系技术服务人员,解决设备的问题,并提出你想问的问题。

更重要的是,苹果以发布一些我们所见过的最令人印象深刻和最具突破性的广告而闻名。所有这些--还有无数其他因素--都是产品成本以外的成本,这解释了为什么苹果公司收费这么高。如果简单地认为苹果生产一部iPhone的成本是400美元,剩下的600美元是利润,这将是一种误导。

7. 品牌建设

通过推出手表、手机、电脑、耳机、记事本等众多类别的产品,苹果已经成为一个生活方式品牌。再加上苹果产品复杂的细节、优质的感觉和可感知的价值。这是一个奢侈的生活方式品牌,拥有其产品是地位和奢侈生活方式的象征。

 

处于这种生活方式的用户希望保留这种生活方式,并乐意付出代价。那些不在的人想要这种生活方式,也准备支付苹果要求的费用。

8. 转售价值

三星Galaxy S9和iPhone X都是在2018年发布的,售价分别为700美元和1000美元。今天,一台二手Galaxy S9的价格在50美元至150美元之间(14%的保值率),而一台二手iPhone X的价格仍在150美元至400美元之间(27%的保值率)。

9. 客户忠诚度

无论你提出什么理由,一个永远不会让苹果重新考虑其定价的是它的忠实粉丝群,他们随时准备支付溢价。在过去的几年里,苹果的价格和收入出现了荒谬的增长,但其产品销售和受欢迎程度也在增长。

 

尽管上述所有原因都有助于打造这种狂热的粉丝群,但或许生活方式品牌是最重要的。

苹果产品仍然值得购买吗?

这些都是苹果产品往往比其他产品价格高的原因。价格可能并不总是合理的(比如1000美元的苹果专业支架),但重要的是产品仍然卖得很好。

然而,这并不意味着你必须花太多的钱才能获得它们。例如,在购买iPhone时,你可以不买最新款的,而选择翻新的,这样就可以省钱。虽然产品不会是全新的,但体验将是完整的。

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3344.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情