iPhone vs Android: Which is Safer?

Xiaobai Software  2022-04-10 13: 40  read 212 views

Androidand iOS are the leading mobile platforms today, and they both have their own selling points.Both Android and Apple are constantly updating their privacy and security features to address the latest threats and vulnerabilities.

But when it comes to security, who is better?Some claim to be iOS, some standAndroidOn the one hand, while others feel they are evenly divided.

Let's discuss this question together next, Apple vs Android: Who is more secure?

1. Contribution of source code

 

When it comes to source code contributions, Android and iOS go their separate ways.How does this affect their safety?

iOS

Apple maintains its iOS system only internally; no one but Apple has access to the source code of iOS.While the source code remains private to the company, there are pros and cons to this approach.

The licensing body, Apple, manages all the algorithms in the iOS source code so that they are not subject to public criticism and good advice.The consequence of doing this is that they could roll out a version with a security hole that an attacker might have exploited before they discovered it.An example is the iMessage zero-click attack found in iOS versions prior to 14.8.Cybercriminals exploited the flaw to install Pegasus spyware on users' devices until Apple fixed the flaw in its iOS 14.8 release.

If it were an open source operating system, someone might have noticed the vulnerability.

Android

With the exception of Google Play Services and a few others, Android is open source for the most part.The latest source code for Android is in the Android Open Source Project (AOSP), so smartphone makers and app developers can grab and modify it to suit their users' needs.

This makes the platform transparent and enables better contributions in terms of security and bug fixes.Nonetheless, this can also be a conduit for threat actors or poorly secured software to introduce malware into your Android smartphone.

From the flexible scope of the Android platform, app developers and manufacturers are responsible for maintaining security and patching vulnerabilities in their software.Such an approach focuses more on application security rather than platform security itself.

2. Are Google Play and App Store safe?

 

Android's Play Store and iOS's App Store also determine how secure these two platforms are.Let's look at the principles for each store.

Android Google Play Store

Since Android is open source, there is no strict scrutiny of apps that Android developers push to the Play Store.Almost any app goes to the Play Store as long as there is a manifest file that contains its metadata.

While Google uses Play Protect to screen apps before users download them, those apps already exist in the Play Store.As a result, users are more likely to ignore security warnings even when malware is present.

Apple's App Store

Apple uses its app review process to scrutinize apps before allowing them into the App Store.This allows them to manually test applications using employee (i.e. human) judgment and use-case simulators to detect memory leaks, security breaches, compliance with standards, and more.

Unlike Android, iOS developers need to customize their apps according to iOS platform security standards.Apple rejects any app that doesn't meet its specifications.

This security review makes the App Store more secure than the Play Store.You're more likely to get malware from the Play Store; on the App Store, the odds of getting malware are extremely low.

3. Web Traffic and Location Tracking

 

Apps that track your web traffic monitor the websites and apps you visit and track your preferences.And location data is another piece of information that third-party apps use to tailor ads.In addition to this, cybercriminals may use this information to introduce malware into your device or hack into your online accounts.

Let's take a look at how the two operating systems handle network and location tracking:

iOS

Features that help users protect user privacy have been around since iOS 12 was released.This feature has been a staple of Apple's products, with further improvements from iOS 14.5 to iOS 15.

With these features, you can control how apps access internet and location data.However, Apple has taken this a step further in iOS 15.2 and later, giving users the ability to monitor app activity and how given permissions are used.

The app doesn't know you're iniPhonecan't see your internet behavior, so you're less likely to encounter unsolicited ad notifications on your iOS device.

Android

While Android has historically hosted web and location-tracking apps, it has been improved to combat the vulnerability.

For example, operating systems like Infinix's XOS have been updated to allow users to choose permission preferences for applications.Samsung also has a privacy dashboard similar to Android 12, where you can set and monitor app permissions.If you use a Samsung, Infinix, or any smartphone running Android 12, you'll notice that you can control app tracking.This somehow catches all ad promotions, social news, etc - if you block them using the feature.This makes up for Android's history of extremely annoying ads and intrusions.

But having said that, despite efforts to create a more secure environment in Android, some apps still sneak through these blockers.Additionally, Android phones share an open-source platform, so desperate app developers can at some point bypass blocking algorithms in the source code.This is much more difficult to implement on iOS.

4. How often are Apple and Android updated?

 

Software updates bring many benefits, including bug fixes and user experience improvements.Let's take a look at the update patterns for iOS and Android.

Android

At the operating system level, Android currently implements an annual update plan, which can be seen from its version release model, starting from Pie (Android 2018) in 9.0 to the latest Android 12, codenamed Snow Cone.This is partly due to fragmentation within the Android community.However, many smartphones support updates, and you can't update them because a new Android version comes after a year.

Still, manufacturers like Oppo, Samsung, Google Pixels, and OnePlus have expanded security update support in flagship devices.This is also the case with many other Android devices that support the Android One program.

iOS

Apple only releases a few devices in a year, so it releases updates more often than Android.

Apple's update lifespan has also been extended to five years, even for most of its early daysiPhoneBoth can easily update and run iOS 15.There is no doubt that iOS update patterns are more frequent than Android.Apple has released five iOS updates from September 2021 to the present.

Most of these updates are minor security and user experience updates, but they maintain the security integrity of iOS in the long run.So, iOS wins this round.

5. Advanced Security Features

 

Both iOS and Android offer an impressive array of security features, such as fingerprint and Face ID protection.Still, Android and iOS seem to have different views on security.

Android security features like Find My Device (similar to Find My in iOS), Google Play Protect, lock mode, and the ability to stop USB debugging make it unique. One notable advanced security feature of iOS is iCloud Keychain, which allows users to manage their credentials in an encrypted vault using Hide My Email.Additionally, Apple prides itself on the fact that users can save passwords and credit card credentials on their iPhones unaffected.

iOS 15 comes with more built-in security features.Nonetheless, each platform has its own security focus in this regard, so they are indistinguishable.

Android or iOS: Which is more secure?

After examining various decisive factors, iOS is ahead of Android when it comes to operating system security.However, each platform serves specific user goals, and no matter what security program they implement, they cannot be completely immune to malware.And, it's up to the individual: if you have to choose between Android and iPhone, what ultimately matters is your core purpose for choosing both platforms.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/3121.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

iPhone与Android:哪个更安全?

小白软件  2022-04-10 13:40  阅读 258 次浏览 次

Android和iOS是当今领先的移动平台,它们都有自己的卖点。安卓和苹果都在不断更新其隐私和安全功能,以应对最新的威胁和漏洞。

但是在安全性方面,谁会更胜一筹呢?有些人声称是iOS,有些人站在Android一边,而还有一些人觉得他们平分秋色。

我们接下来就一起来探讨一下这个问题,Apple 与 Android:谁更安全?

1. 源代码的贡献

 

在源代码贡献方面,Android和iOS各行其是。这对他们的安全有什么影响?

iOS

苹果公司只在内部维护其iOS系统;除了苹果公司之外,没有其他人能够接触到iOS的源代码。虽然源代码对公司来说仍然是私有的,但这种方法有利也有弊。

授权机构,即苹果公司,管理着iOS源代码中的所有算法,使其不会受到公开批评和良好建议。这样做的后果是,他们可能会推出一个有安全漏洞的版本,而攻击者可能已经在发现之前利用了这个漏洞。一个例子是在14.8之前的iOS版本中发现的iMessage零点击攻击。网络犯罪分子利用这个漏洞将Pegasus间谍软件安装到用户的设备上,直到苹果在其iOS 14.8版本中修复了这个漏洞。

如果它是一个开源操作系统,可能有人会注意到这个漏洞。

Android

除了谷歌游戏服务和其他一些,安卓系统在大多数情况下是开源的。安卓的最新源代码在安卓开源项目(AOSP)中,因此智能手机制造商和应用程序开发人员可以抓取和修改它,以满足他们用户的需求。

这使得该平台变得透明,并能够在安全和错误修复方面获得更好的贡献。尽管如此,这也可能成为威胁者或安全性差的软件将恶意软件引入你的安卓智能手机的一个通道。

从安卓平台的灵活范围来看,应用程序开发人员和制造商负责维护安全和修补其软件的漏洞。这样的方法更注重应用安全,而不是平台安全本身。

2. Google Play 和 App Store 安全吗?

 

Android的Play Store和iOS的App Store也决定了这两个平台的安全程度。让我们看一下每个商店的原则。

安卓的Google Play商店

由于Android是开源的,所以对Android开发者推送到Play Store的应用程序没有严格的审查。几乎所有应用程序都会进入Play Store,只要有一个包含其元数据的清单文件。

虽然谷歌使用Play Protect在用户下载应用程序之前对其进行筛选,但这些应用程序已经存在于Play商店中。因此,即使存在恶意软件,用户也更有可能忽略安全警告。

苹果的App Store

苹果在允许应用进入应用商店之前,会使用其应用审查程序对应用进行仔细检查。这让他们可以使用员工(即人类)判断和用例模拟器手动测试应用程序,以检测内存泄漏、安全漏洞、遵守标准等。

与Android不同,iOS开发人员需要根据iOS平台安全标准定制他们的应用程序。苹果拒绝任何不符合其规格的应用程序。

这种安全审查使 App Store 比 Play Store 更安全。 您更有可能从 Play 商店中获取恶意软件; 但在 App Store 中,获取恶意软件的概率极低。

3. 网络流量和位置跟踪

 

追踪你的网络流量的应用程序监测你访问的网站和应用程序,并追踪你的喜好。而位置数据是第三方应用程序用来定制广告的另一项信息。除此之外,网络犯罪分子可能会利用这些信息将恶意软件引入你的设备或入侵你的在线账户。

我们来看看这两种操作系统是如何处理网络和位置跟踪的:

iOS

帮助用户保护用户隐私的功能自iOS 12发布以来就一直存在。这一功能一直是苹果公司的主打产品,从iOS 14.5到iOS 15都有进一步的改进。

通过这些功能,你可以控制应用程序访问互联网和位置数据的方式。然而,苹果在iOS 15.2及更高版本中进一步加强了这一点,让用户能够监控应用程序的活动以及如何使用给定的权限。

应用程序不知道你在iPhone上做什么,也不能看到你的互联网行为,所以你不太可能在iOS设备上遇到未经请求的广告通知。

Android

尽管安卓系统在过去一直是网络和位置追踪应用的宿主,但它已经进行了改进,以打击这一漏洞。

例如,像Infinix的XOS这样的操作系统已经得到了更新,允许用户选择应用程序的权限偏好。三星也有一个类似于安卓12的隐私仪表板,你可以在那里设置和监控应用程序的权限。如果你使用三星、Infinix或任何运行安卓12的智能手机,你会注意到你可以控制应用跟踪。这在某种程度上可以捕捉到所有的广告促销、社会新闻等--如果你使用该功能阻止它们。这弥补了安卓系统极为烦人的广告和入侵的历史。

但话虽如此,尽管努力在安卓系统中创造一个更安全的环境,一些应用程序仍然会偷偷穿过这些拦截器。此外,Android 手机共享一个开源平台,因此绝望的应用程序开发人员可以在某些时候绕过源代码中的阻塞算法。 这在 iOS 上实现起来要困难得多。

4. 苹果和安卓的更新频率如何?

 

软件更新带来了许多好处,包括漏洞修补和用户体验改进。让我们看看iOS和Android的更新模式。

Android

在操作系统层面,安卓目前实行的是年度更新计划,从其版本发布模式可以看出,从2018年的Pie(安卓9.0)开始到最近的安卓12,代号为Snow Cone。这部分是由于Android社区内部的碎片化。但是,许多智能手机都支持更新,并且您无法更新它们,因为一年后会出现新的 Android 版本。

尽管如此,Oppo、三星、Google Pixels 和 OnePlus 等制造商已经在旗舰设备中扩展了安全更新支持。 其他许多支持Android One计划的安卓设备也是这种情况。

iOS

苹果公司一年内只发布几款设备,所以发布更新的频率比安卓系统要高。

苹果的更新寿命也延长到了五年,甚至其早期的大部分iPhone都可以方便地更新和运行iOS 15。毫无疑问,iOS更新模式比Android更频繁。从2021年9月到现在,苹果已经发布了五个iOS更新。

这些更新大多是次要的安全和用户体验更新,但从长远来看,它们可以维护iOS的安全完整性。所以,iOS在这一轮中获胜。

5. 高级安全功能

 

iOS 和 Android 都提供了一系列令人印象深刻的安全功能,例如指纹和面容 ID 保护。 不过,Android 和 iOS 对安全性的看法似乎还是有所不同。

Android的安全功能,比如Find My Device(类似于iOS中的Find My)、Google Play Protect、锁定模式,以及停止USB调试的功能,赋予了它独特性。iOS一个值得注意的高级安全功能是iCloud密钥链,它允许用户使用“隐藏我的电子邮件”在加密的保险库中管理他们的凭据。此外,苹果对用户可以在iPhone上保存密码和信用卡凭证而不受影响的事实感到自豪。

iOS 15 附带了更多内置安全功能。尽管如此,每个平台在这方面都有其安全重点,所以,他们不分上下。

Android 或 iOS:哪个更安全?

在考察了各种决定性因素后,在操作系统安全方面,iOS领先于Android。然而,每个平台都满足特定的用户目标,无论他们实施什么安全计划,都不能使他们对恶意软件完全免疫。并且,这也要看个人:如果你不得不在安卓和iPhone之间做出选择,那么最终最重要的是你选择这两个平台的核心目的。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/3121.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情