How to Configure Location Services in Windows 11

Xiaobai Software  2022-03-13 17: 20  read 425 views

Unlike smartphones, most computers and laptops do not have built-in GPS.However, Microsoft has added a location services feature that uses IP address and Wi-Fi location to predict your location.While it's not as accurate as GPS, it can be a good alternative so you can get a more personalized experience with your Windows device.

With location services, your system can predict your location, giving you more accurate weather reports, more relevant local news, and a better location-based experience from your computer.Next, let's take a look at how location services work on your Windows and how to configure them in your account.

Windows 11How does location services work on ?

Windows 11The Location Services feature on the device allows other Windows features, such as automatically setting the time zone or Find My Device, to function properly.This feature determines your current location by using Global Positioning Services (GPS), nearby wireless access points, cell towers and your IP address.

Therefore, depending on the capabilities of the device, the location of the device can be determined with varying degrees of accuracy, and in some cases, precise positioning.By enabling this feature, your device will send de-identified location information to Microsoft, such as wireless access point information, cellular base station information, and precise GPS location (if available).And, any data identifying the person or device is deleted before your location is sent.

This de-identified copy of location data is also used to improve location services functionality and is sometimes shared with Microsoft's location service provider partners to help improve location services for those partners.

Additionally, enabling this setting also allows apps to use your location and location history to provide as accurate as possible location-aware services and content supported by your device.If you authorize a specific app to access location in settings, your location data will also be sent to the app.

Finally, if you're signed in to your Microsoft account and an app or feature can access your device's location, the last recorded location information will be saved to the cloud.This means it will be available on all devices, other apps and services where you use your Microsoft account and you have given permission to access this data.

How to Enable Location Services on Windows 11

If you want to start using Location Services on your Windows 11 device, you need to enable it first.The operation method is as follows:

1. Press and hold Win + I to open Settings.Or you can press the Start button and tap the Settings app.

2. Next, click Privacy & Security on the left navigation window.

3. In the Privacy & Security window, scroll down until you find Location and click it.

 

4. After entering the location settings page, turn on the location service switch.

How to enable location services for apps

When you enable location services, you can also choose to turn on the Let apps access your location option.This option allows different programs installed on your computer to access your location and provide a more personalized experience.This way, apps like Weather, Maps, Mail, etc. will know where you are currently and use this information to provide you with better functionality and accurate content.

The operation method is as follows:

1. Press and hold the Win + I keys to open Settings.

2. Then go to Privacy & Security > Location.

 

3. Next, turn on the toggle for "Allow apps to access your location."This will allow you to enable different applications to access your area.

 

4. Select the location of the application to open by opening the next application.If you don't see the app options, press the arrow next to the "Let apps access your location" option.

 

This option is great for users who are concerned about their privacy and that some apps might be accessing their location.You can turn this switch off if you don't want certain programs to track or obtain your location.

How to Set Default Location in Windows 11

Another useful feature of location services on Windows 11 is the default location.This option allows you to choose a preferred address if the system cannot pinpoint your location, or if you have location services disabled.The setting method is as follows:

1. Press and hold Win+I to open Settings.Alternatively, you can press the Start button and then click the Settings app.

2. Next, tap Privacy & Security > Location.

 

3. On the Locations window, scroll down to the Default Locations section and click Set Defaults.This will open the Maps application on your computer.

 

4. In the map, click the Set Default Location button in the pop-up window.

 

5. In the text box provided, you can enter any desired address, or press the "Select Location" option to select a location on the map.

 

6. After selecting the default location, close the Maps application.But if you want to change the address, click Change or Clear Location.

 

It is important to note that if location services are enabled again and the computer can be located, the default location will be ignored.The system will only confirm if it cannot find you.

How to Clear Location History in Windows 11

Since Windows 11 is very privacy-conscious, you can clear your location history so no one can access the places you've been before.Moreover, the system does not store these records permanently, after a period of time, they will be deleted on their own.So, you don't need to worry about Microsoft storing these records permanently.

If you want to clear your location history, follow these steps:

1. Press and hold the Win + I keys to open Settings.

2. Then go to Privacy & Security > Location.

 

3. On the Location page, scroll down to view the Location history section.Then, click Clear to delete all visited locations.

 

4. On success, you will see a check mark next to the Clear button.

 

Turning on Location Services on Windows 11 is safe the vast majority of the time.However, like most other apps, Microsoft will provide your information to the apps you give permission to.If you are not used to revealing your privacy, it is better to turn off this function.However, you may not get a more personalized experience when using a Windows device.

 

Address of this article:https://www.kkgcn.com/2181.html
Copyright Notice:The article only represents the author's point of view, the copyright belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, please keep the source for reprinting!

Comment


expression

如何在 Windows 11 中配置定位服务

小白软件  2022-03-13 17:20  阅读 242 次浏览 次

与智能手机不同,大多数电脑和笔记本电脑没有内置GPS。然而,微软已经添加了一个位置服务功能,使用IP地址和Wi-Fi定位来预测您的位置。虽然它不像GPS那样准确,但它可以是一个很好的替代方案,因此您可以用您的Windows设备获得更多的个性化体验。

通过定位服务,您的系统可以预测您的位置,给您提供更准确的天气报告,更相关的本地新闻,以及从您的电脑获得更好的基于位置的体验。接下来,我们一起来看看位置服务如何在您的Windows上工作以及如何在您的账户中配置它们。

Windows 11上的位置服务是如何工作的?

Windows 11设备上的位置服务功能允许其他Windows功能(如自动设置时区或“查找我的设备”)正常运行。该功能通过使用全球定位服务(GPS)、附近的无线接入点、手机发射塔和您的IP地址来确定您当前所在的位置。

因此,根据设备的功能,可以以不同的精度确定设备的位置,在某些情况下,还可以精确定位。通过启用此功能,您的设备将向Microsoft发送取消识别的位置信息,如无线接入点信息、蜂窝基站信息和精确的GPS位置(如果可用)。并且,在发送您的位置之前,识别此人或设备的任何数据都会被删除。

这个取消标识的位置数据副本还用于改进位置服务功能,有时与Microsoft的位置服务提供商合作伙伴共享,以帮助改进这些合作伙伴的位置服务。

此外,启用此设置还允许应用程序使用您的位置和位置历史记录,以尽可能准确地提供设备支持的位置感知服务和内容。如果您授权特定应用访问设置中的位置,您的位置数据也将发送到应用。

最后,如果您已登录到Microsoft帐户,并且某个应用或功能可以访问您设备的位置,则最后记录的位置信息将保存到云中。这意味着它将在您使用Microsoft帐户的所有设备、其他应用程序和服务上可用,并且您已授予访问此数据的权限。

如何在Windows 11上启用位置服务

如果你想在Windows 11设备上开始使用定位服务,您需要先启用它。操作方法如下:

1.  按住Win + I打开设置。或者您可以按开始按钮,点击设置应用程序。

2.  接下来,点击左侧导航窗口上的隐私和安全。

3.  在隐私和安全窗口中,向下滚动,直到找到位置并单击它。

 

4.  进入位置设置页面后,打开位置服务开关。

如何启用应用程序的位置服务

当您启用位置服务后,您也可以选择打开让应用程序访问您的位置选项。该选项允许安装在您的电脑上的不同程序访问您的位置,并提供更个性化的体验。这样一来,天气、地图、邮件等应用程序将知道您当前所处的位置,并利用这些信息为您提供更好的功能和准确的内容。

操作方法如下:

1. 按住Win + I键,打开设置。

2. 然后进入隐私与安全>位置。

 

3. 接下来,打开“允许应用访问您的位置”的开关。这将允许您启用不同的应用程序来访问您的区域。

 

4. 通过打开下一个应用程序来选择要打开的应用程序的位置。如果看不到应用程序选项,请按“让应用程序访问您的位置”选项旁边的箭头。

 

这个选项非常适合那些担心自己隐私、担心某些应用程序可能正在访问自己位置的用户。如果您不想让特定程序跟踪或获取您的位置,可以关闭该开关。

如何在Windows 11中设置默认位置

Windows 11上位置服务的另一个有用功能是默认位置。如果系统无法准确定位您的位置,或者您禁用了定位服务,此选项允许您选择首选地址。设置方法如下:

1. 按住Win+I打开设置。或者,您可以按开始按钮,然后单击设置应用程序。

2. 接下来,点击隐私与安全>位置。

 

3. 在“位置”窗口上,向下滚动到“默认位置”部分,然后单击“设置默认值”。这将打开您计算机上的地图应用程序。

 

4. 在地图中,点击弹出窗口中的设置默认位置按钮。

 

5. 在提供的文本框中,您可以输入任何想要的地址,或按“选择位置”选项在地图上选择位置。

 

6. 选择默认位置后,请关闭“地图”应用程序。但如果您想更改地址,请单击“更改”或“清除位置”。

 

需要注意的是,如果再次启用定位服务,并且可以定位计算机,则默认位置将被忽略。系统只有在找不到您的时候才会确认。

如何在Windows 11中清除位置记录

由于Windows 11非常注重隐私,所以您可以清除位置历史记录,这样就没有人可以访问您以前去过的地方。而且,系统并不会永久存储这些记录,在一段时间后,它们会被自行删除。所以,您无需担心微软会永久储存这些记录。

如果要清除位置历史记录,请执行以下步骤:

1.  按住Win + I键,打开设置。

2.  然后进入隐私与安全>位置。

 

3.  在Location(位置)页面中,向下滚动以查看Location history(位置历史记录)部分。然后,单击“清除”删除所有已访问的位置。

 

4.  成功后,您将在“清除”按钮旁边看到一个复选标记。

 

在Windows 11上打开定位服务在绝大多数时候是安全的。但是,和其它大多数应用一样,微软会将您的信息提供给你授予权限的应用。如果您不习惯透露你的隐私,最好关掉这个功能。但是,在使用Windows设备时,您可能无法获得更个性化的体验。

 

本文地址:https://www.kkgcn.com/2181.html
版权声明:文章仅代表作者观点,版权归原作者所有,欢迎分享本文,转载请保留出处!

发表评论


表情